Playtime Twincharged November 14, 2010 Share November 14, 2010 lack of discipline is one thing.... maybe its also because school is now so tough that many students who cannot cope academically just fall off too. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobh 4th Gear November 14, 2010 Share November 14, 2010 You hit right on the nail head Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf5725 1st Gear November 14, 2010 Share November 14, 2010 You hit right on the nail head nowadays, parents dont teach their kid wrong doings already very good liao. dont even need to mention about educate them, and overprotecting them. many time, i saw parents "push" their kids to rush to the life when ppl not yet come out from the life. some even "educate" their kids when the kids tell them "ppl not out yet", "life is not going up but we are going up", blah blah blah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyrios Turbocharged November 14, 2010 Share November 14, 2010 Our current system is focused on IVY league grades..ask any fresh NIE teacher who wants to take those lok c--k class..they will tell you no cos they need the good grade students to give them the pay raise they want..no ones wants to help the poor lots..which is why the dysfunctional students drop out and form gangs. They are the by product of Sgp's drive towards As and more As. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karoon Turbocharged November 14, 2010 Share November 14, 2010 think tch partly to blame, as the education minister who elevate students to 'clients' whom schools must serve like in some corporate structure. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Csnewbie 1st Gear November 14, 2010 Share November 14, 2010 (edited) At the end of school life,no matter what grades,there must always be room for everyone. Which i find lacking in Singapore.Rather we are trying to do away with this group of acadamically not so successful people.Just look at the amount of FT grads we're bringing in. Like we care nothing for our own lagging people.Which is very sad to me. Edited November 14, 2010 by Csnewbie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yellowrx8 Clutched November 14, 2010 Share November 14, 2010 Ask urself, nowadays, how many kids respect their seniors? How many parents are over protective to their kids? From young if u dun train ur kids to be independent, when they get old. They expect u to give them wat they MUST have! Juz like how many kids reach 18, they expect their parents to buy them a car. Pay for their everything! Too much love will spoilt their brains! I always believe physical punishment on kids. If they dun feel it, then one day they go outside create 1 big trouble. Then its too late! Cos its too late to bring in the LOVE way. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wavedancer Neutral Newbie November 14, 2010 Share November 14, 2010 Like letting a one year old kid smoke in his crib. Be careful otherwise the bedding will catch fire or make sure it is fireproof. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobh 4th Gear November 14, 2010 Share November 14, 2010 (edited) Yes every able adults should be able to earn a reasonable salary for a honest day work. Currently blue collars are still working under 3rd world conditions and most of them are living day to day from hand to mouth. That is why we must try to get the minimum wages into action. We must not support import of dirt cheap foreign workers. We must not support imitation and low quality goods. Edited November 14, 2010 by Yeobh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear November 14, 2010 Share November 14, 2010 by the way, did i mention to you back then teachers are really given the authority? i can still remember when my chemistry teacher came forward to me and my friend who were talking at the back of the classroom, without a word she simply threw both of our textbooks outside of the window! i was speechless. i remember throwing of dusters at some of us as well, however even though its been many years i still hold respect for that teacher. all of us diam diam, dun dare to go home and tell our parents.. if i did, i would kenna more from my parents loh... haha.. some forumers might think its a scenario from a neighborhood school but it actually happened in a school with green shorts, white shirt along with metal buttons in bishan. i dont agree with this kind of teachers... lacking in professionalism. however i encourage parents to take their kids in hand. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator November 14, 2010 Share November 14, 2010 I think in dealing with the cohort out nowadays, it takes skills in psychology and the like to handle them. I am lucky to have had Psychology training and thus can handle them pretty ok. there is no 'one size fits all' in dealing with the kids now... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vextan 1st Gear November 14, 2010 Share November 14, 2010 pls dont blame the school, the teachers have too much on hand already and parents are pushing the responsibilities to them. while people complain schools are not strict enough, many parents complain about the slightest harsh punishment metedout to disobedient students, what to do ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator November 14, 2010 Share November 14, 2010 pls dont blame the school, the teachers have too much on hand already and parents are pushing the responsibilities to them. while people complain schools are not strict enough, many parents complain about the slightest harsh punishment metedout to disobedient students, what to do ? Sadly, even the Ps are scared of parents as the parents report direct to MOE.....thus leading to total non discipline Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyrofillica 1st Gear November 14, 2010 Share November 14, 2010 (edited) Hi All, just thinking,is it the fault of our education system that create so called ah bengs? previously in the 80s and 90s,teacher has the right to cane and impose punishment to students. I remember the days when there are public canings in front of the school assembly. Now the schools imposed the so called " LOVE" teaching. No more becoming scolding the students No more public caning No more standing outside the door Thus students becoming more arrogant,disregarding of discipline and law. So sad err, last time youths more violent and youth crime rates were definitely higher. just because recently got cases of gang attacks, then u think youths nowadays more hiong then yesteryears? U GOT TO BE SH1TTING me. Edited November 14, 2010 by Zyrofillica Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic November 14, 2010 Share November 14, 2010 Why so concern about them? They will eventually become outcast, cannot fit into society. It's about the choice or path they choose to take, nothing to do with education. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fastjimmy November 15, 2010 Share November 15, 2010 local educational system & even schoolmate peers won't make one an Ah Beng, it's intrinsic - it usually takes at least 1 generation to successfully change or breed out that rebel hooliganism, e.g., if one's father, uncle, etc. are all ah bengs, a boy growing up would associate all singaporean males are like that or ok to be like that (until get a rude shock when cant get accepted in affluent class even with purchases of good cars and self made wealth through construction companies for example). on the other extreme end, already rich parents spoiling their children will generate brats (rather than bengs) or bitches for the other gender, neither any better than your ah beng...as for foreign talent (PRC), have you interacted with their males?! Pure beng-ism man! crude, brute & chee-koh, always chio-ing people to go ktv & paid services (without wanting to fork out own $) cheapos; so, kudos to our solid educational structure that has produced scholars & successes for decades, but it's the home that seals the difference what you want your kid to become (like you rich snob or rough beng), so nobody `wins' Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear November 15, 2010 Share November 15, 2010 cuz ELT the pple complaint! be it against teachers, police, scdf, saf or gahman. kanna complaint, be it genuine or not; files open up must answer here and there. in the long run, who willing to work? sigh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator November 15, 2010 Share November 15, 2010 local educational system & even schoolmate peers won't make one an Ah Beng, it's intrinsic - it usually takes at least 1 generation to successfully change or breed out that rebel hooliganism, e.g., if one's father, uncle, etc. are all ah bengs, a boy growing up would associate all singaporean males are like that or ok to be like that (until get a rude shock when cant get accepted in affluent class even with purchases of good cars and self made wealth through construction companies for example). on the other extreme end, already rich parents spoiling their children will generate brats (rather than bengs) or bitches for the other gender, neither any better than your ah beng...as for foreign talent (PRC), have you interacted with their males?! Pure beng-ism man! crude, brute & chee-koh, always chio-ing people to go ktv & paid services (without wanting to fork out own $) cheapos; so, kudos to our solid educational structure that has produced scholars & successes for decades, but it's the home that seals the difference what you want your kid to become (like you rich snob or rough beng), so nobody `wins' agree ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...