Drive 1st Gear November 11, 2010 Share November 11, 2010 Hi Am a noob in ppty, only got 1 ppty....HDB. Anyway, thinking of getting one landed at Penang to retire cos wife nag nag about life here and wanted to retire in a lesser pace with her siblings and relatives there. Anyone bot landed in Penang? Went there a few times over past few years and it seems there's some appreciation. But am a noob in ppty so all views welcome. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jasonjst 3rd Gear November 11, 2010 Share November 11, 2010 All I know is penang houses are quite ex liao ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zanter 3rd Gear November 11, 2010 Share November 11, 2010 Hi Am a noob in ppty, only got 1 ppty....HDB. Anyway, thinking of getting one landed at Penang to retire cos wife nag nag about life here and wanted to retire in a lesser pace with her siblings and relatives there. Anyone bot landed in Penang? Went there a few times over past few years and it seems there's some appreciation. But am a noob in ppty so all views welcome. From what I know if you own a HDB now, you cant buy a foreign property unless you sell your HDB within 6 month of your foreign acquisition. Likewise if you are a foreigner you cant buy HDB unless u undertake to sell your foreign property within 6 months. Penang is good but expensive, i think single storey terrace around 500k-700k++. If you plan to take loan end up paying 1 million ringgit+. If you want can consider Kedah, my sister bought a semi-D around 200k. Went up a bit since then. When bored can go Thailand which is nearby or Penang which is 2 hrs away. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic November 11, 2010 Share November 11, 2010 From what I know if you own a HDB now, you cant buy a foreign property unless you sell your HDB within 6 month of your foreign acquisition. Likewise if you are a foreigner you cant buy HDB unless u undertake to sell your foreign property within 6 months. Penang is good but expensive, i think single storey terrace around 500k-700k++. If you plan to take loan end up paying 1 million ringgit+. If you want can consider Kedah, my sister bought a semi-D around 200k. Went up a bit since then. When bored can go Thailand which is nearby or Penang which is 2 hrs away. if i remember correctly can... own HDB liaoz can by foreign property and private but private and foreigner property owner have to sell their property within 6 mths of buying hdb... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged November 11, 2010 Share November 11, 2010 Hi Am a noob in ppty, only got 1 ppty....HDB. Anyway, thinking of getting one landed at Penang to retire cos wife nag nag about life here and wanted to retire in a lesser pace with her siblings and relatives there. Anyone bot landed in Penang? Went there a few times over past few years and it seems there's some appreciation. But am a noob in ppty so all views welcome. why penang? abit far... try somewhere nearer... then at least can come back sg more often... like my in-laws is in pahang... every year drive like siao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zanter 3rd Gear November 11, 2010 Share November 11, 2010 Why own HDB can own private but own private cannot own HDB? http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/S...ory_573665.html Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic November 11, 2010 Share November 11, 2010 Penang properties are quite ex now. Condo abt 1 to 2 mil with lotsa Indonesian buyers. Landed - not advisable unless you are occupying there most of the time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic November 11, 2010 Share November 11, 2010 (edited) Why own HDB can own private but own private cannot own HDB? http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/S...ory_573665.html you ask mah bow tan la [:p] Edited November 11, 2010 by Little_prince Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic November 11, 2010 Share November 11, 2010 Why own HDB can own private but own private cannot own HDB? http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/S...ory_573665.html can "upgrade", but cannot "downgrade". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moredhel 2nd Gear November 11, 2010 Share November 11, 2010 Why penang? Think further: http://realestate.yahoo.com/promo/homes-for-under-100k.html Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic November 11, 2010 Share November 11, 2010 Why own HDB can own private but own private cannot own HDB? http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/S...ory_573665.html Not so direct. HDN owner must meet MOP 1st before can buy private property. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stevewish Neutral Newbie November 11, 2010 Share November 11, 2010 Hi, "Investment return for commercial property is better than residential?" please advice. if so, please recommend a 3 level shophouse within nusajaya? all suggestion & critics are welcome. Thank you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear November 11, 2010 Share November 11, 2010 why penang? abit far... try somewhere nearer... then at least can come back sg more often... like my in-laws is in pahang... every year drive like siao Penang less than 1 day driving distance, should be alright. Don't drive QQ to Pahang (traffic jams behind you) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear November 11, 2010 Share November 11, 2010 Hi, "Investment return for commercial property is better than residential?" please advice. if so, please recommend a 3 level shophouse within nusajaya? all suggestion & critics are welcome. Thank you. The flip-flop policy changes in the past still fresh in mind. Malaysia properties... think again. Retirement not for regretting. Investment not for charity. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rosschang 1st Gear November 11, 2010 Share November 11, 2010 Penang island or Penang Mainland?... price big diff ho... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stuart01 Neutral Newbie April 21, 2011 Share April 21, 2011 You may get in touch with an online real estate agent as he may make you aware of all the investment options available with you regarding the buying and selling of property. A real estate agent will also help you in the dealing and even help you in carrying out the legal proceedings. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear April 21, 2011 Share April 21, 2011 As long as you stay for MOP of 5 yrs in your HDB.. u can buy private here or in other country Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Notsogoodman 4th Gear April 21, 2011 Share April 21, 2011 Before the blind leads the blind any further, allow me to state what is correct. 1. If you own a HDB, you are free to buy private residential as long as you have fulfilled your MOP. (You do not need to sell off your HDB after MOP to buy private) 2. if you own a HDB and yet to fulfill MOP, you cannot buy any private legally. 3. For private home owners, if you buy a HDB; you have 6 months to sell off your private after your HDB purchase. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...