Blueray Hypersonic July 5, 2017 Share July 5, 2017 Just my guess only. Could it be that US carriers favour Boeing being an American company vs Airbus who is a European company? I doubt so, because US carries use A330s etc ... ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stratovarius Turbocharged July 5, 2017 Share July 5, 2017 I flew 380 coming back from Hong Kong. Very smooth can hardly feel the take off. Just don't sit next to the door in case open during flight and get sucked out. Ya. A380 is indeed more stable in the air. climbing and descending also much smoother. I like seats near the door leh. Got more foot space. That time go US, the cabin crew asked if I'm fit enough to open the door during an emergency. So i asked her how to open it and she was like . 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic July 5, 2017 Share July 5, 2017 Dreamliner > A380 I doubt so, because US carries use A330s etc ... A380 no $$$ no tok. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic July 5, 2017 Share July 5, 2017 Ya. A380 is indeed more stable in the air. climbing and descending also much smoother. I like seats near the door leh. Got more foot space. That time go US, the cabin crew asked if I'm fit enough to open the door during an emergency. So i asked her how to open it and she was like . Yes, have to operate a long hard lever ... A380 no $$$ no tok. Lease lor ... SQ one also lease one. Bypass downpayment rule. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic July 5, 2017 Share July 5, 2017 Wonder why US carriers don't use A380s, they know something we don't ? For me nowadays I avoid A380s if I have a choice. Boarding and debus for 400 people ... If no choice have to take SQ one then I choose upper deck. "Upper deck" means first class ah? I think US carriers prefer city to city model instead of hub and spoke model these days so smaller aircraft suits their strategy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic July 5, 2017 Share July 5, 2017 Did Singapore Airlines Just Kill the Airbus A380 Jumbo Jet? However, Singapore Airlines has been struggling with steep fare declines in many of its markets recently, driven by slow economic growth and overcapacity. Many analysts expect this overcapacity -- and the resulting fare pressure -- to linger. In this environment, Singapore Airlines might be perfectly happy to move away from the enormous A380. http://www.foxbusiness.com/markets/2017/02/15/did-singapore-airlines-just-kill-airbus-a380-jumbo-jet.html @lala81 oh ... SQ will still have 19 A380s ... so still got opportunity to try. "Upper deck" means first class ah? I think US carriers prefer city to city model instead of hub and spoke model these days so smaller aircraft suits their strategy. Nope, for SQ A380 configuration, rear of upper deck got some economy class seats. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic July 5, 2017 Share July 5, 2017 Did Singapore Airlines Just Kill the Airbus A380 Jumbo Jet? http://www.foxbusiness.com/markets/2017/02/15/did-singapore-airlines-just-kill-airbus-a380-jumbo-jet.html @lala81 oh ... SQ will still have 19 A380s ... so still got opportunity to try. Nope, for SQ A380 configuration, rear of upper deck got some economy class seats. Kk. I was recently on Emirates to Dubai. Think top deck was all first class and biz class. First class toilet can shower somemore.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Flying_genie 6th Gear July 5, 2017 Share July 5, 2017 Flew SIA A380 London-Singapore during June hols with family. Quite nice to travel upper deck all business class configuration. 84 business class seats - all in the upper deck, no other classes. Generous space, orderly boarding, wide aisle. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic July 5, 2017 Share July 5, 2017 Flew top deck of A380 from Beijing to Singapore. Sat on the 1st row somemore. Chio stewardess stow away my luggage in cupboard Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic July 5, 2017 Share July 5, 2017 Slow economy, over capacity, bad for any airlines. Think SIA hard to survive: 1. SG is a lousy tourist spot. Got nothing to do 2. SG location is quite poor for stopovers unlike Dubai and Qatar 3. SIA price is always damn high especially for those flying from Singapore Anyway, I have no sympathy for SIA. Always pricing high against Singaporeans who have been indoctrinated to think that SIA is the best and hence deserves this premium. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wind30 Turbocharged July 5, 2017 Share July 5, 2017 Think SIA hard to survive: 1. SG is a lousy tourist spot. Got nothing to do 2. SG location is quite poor for stopovers unlike Dubai and Qatar 3. SIA price is always damn high especially for those flying from Singapore Anyway, I have no sympathy for SIA. Always pricing high against Singaporeans who have been indoctrinated to think that SIA is the best and hence deserves this premium. I think the pricing for SQ fares is pretty competitive if you book early. 13xx to SFO, 11xx to europe, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karoon Turbocharged July 5, 2017 Share July 5, 2017 Think SIA hard to survive: 1. SG is a lousy tourist spot. Got nothing to do 2. SG location is quite poor for stopovers unlike Dubai and Qatar 3. SIA price is always damn high especially for those flying from Singapore Anyway, I have no sympathy for SIA. Always pricing high against Singaporeans who have been indoctrinated to think that SIA is the best and hence deserves this premium. they should be making money hand over fist at today's oil price just like their competitors. even tony fernandez said in ST interview last week he knew what they must do. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic July 5, 2017 Share July 5, 2017 (edited) I think the pricing for SQ fares is pretty competitive if you book early. 13xx to SFO, 11xx to europe,I can't really comment on those two lines as I've never been to Europe or USA before. But when ever I use Expedia or any other travel site to check the prices to places I do want to go to, SIA is always at least 10% more even if I look at the dates which are a few months out. Apple to Apple wise, airlines like air Korea, Cathay and China air or air China are cheaper. In recent years, I've never travelled Sia except when going to Jakarta and that's only because my bosses think garauda is somehow unsafe. If I were going on my own dime, I would choose Garuda in a heartbeat. Edited July 5, 2017 by Kusje 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achee 4th Gear July 5, 2017 Share July 5, 2017 I can't really comment on those two lines as I've never been to Europe or USA before. But when ever I use Expedia or any other travel site to check the prices to places I do want to go to, SIA is always at least 10% more even if I look at the dates which are a few months out. Apple to Apple wise, airlines like air Korea, Cathay and China air or air China are cheaper. In recent years, I've never travelled Sia except when going to Jakarta and that's only because my bosses think garauda is somehow unsafe. If I were going on my own dime, I would choose Garuda in a heartbeat. I would avoid Garuda and MAS, to me safety is priceless Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Still2016 Twincharged July 5, 2017 Share July 5, 2017 I can't really comment on those two lines as I've never been to Europe or USA before. But when ever I use Expedia or any other travel site to check the prices to places I do want to go to, SIA is always at least 10% more even if I look at the dates which are a few months out. Apple to Apple wise, airlines like air Korea, Cathay and China air or air China are cheaper. In recent years, I've never travelled Sia except when going to Jakarta and that's only because my bosses think garauda is somehow unsafe. If I were going on my own dime, I would choose Garuda in a heartbeat. Whenever you search you must clear your cache, otherwise you will not get the best deal. The cookie travel search engine will upload what they want to show you and not the cheapest. As for Garuda, my humble advice is to avoid because they got maintenance issue despite their routes to the West had already reinstated. 11 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic July 5, 2017 Share July 5, 2017 (edited) Think SIA hard to survive: 1. SG is a lousy tourist spot. Got nothing to do 2. SG location is quite poor for stopovers unlike Dubai and Qatar 3. SIA price is always damn high especially for those flying from Singapore Anyway, I have no sympathy for SIA. Always pricing high against Singaporeans who have been indoctrinated to think that SIA is the best and hence deserves this premium. The problem could be you My wife came to Beijing in SQ in May. The fare only 500+ which is similar to Air China. Sometime, it could be cheaper at Airline website. Edited July 5, 2017 by Davidtch Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neutrino Supercharged July 5, 2017 Share July 5, 2017 Wonder why US carriers don't use A380s, they know something we don't ? For me nowadays I avoid A380s if I have a choice. Boarding and debus for 400 people ... If no choice have to take SQ one then I choose upper deck. Fly Business or First Class then. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neutrino Supercharged July 5, 2017 Share July 5, 2017 Kk. I was recently on Emirates to Dubai. Think top deck was all first class and biz class. First class toilet can shower somemore.... There is a time limit on how long you can stay in the shower. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...