Chengwh492 Clutched April 10, 2011 Share April 10, 2011 so how high end you are at? hope u dont go around begging for food when your master disown you. So many whiners on this thread. If what they say is true, only the top percentile in the society benefits greatly from many of the PAP's policies while the rest tend to lose out. Its time to think whether all those whiners actually reside in the lower end of society. Something for you pple to think about. Gd luck. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alim 1st Gear April 10, 2011 Share April 10, 2011 I want to join you bro. Can? Even though LKY has done a lot.....I really mean a lot, but his reluctance to let go has cost this country a lot also. Letting a son take over is not letting go. We have lost the opportunity to renew and look for new charismatic, visionary leaders to lead us into another growth phase. Ultimately he is responsible for the mess were in. It does not take much talent to grow a country by letting in more people and building a casino. We eventually have to go through a painful phase to correct all these issues before we can grow strong again. LKY once said,"Casinos would be allowed in Singapore only Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged April 10, 2011 Share April 10, 2011 i clock 12 hours a day because that is what my job demands ... i am in logistics and because of my customers - they demand the extended hours. I dun feel threatened unless i dun have any workers under me - local or foreign. You are being irresponsible by saying only ppl without families have no commitment. I have a local staff who clocks 14 hours a day just to maintain his 5 room flat and put his 2 kids through school. He has been with me for the past 14 years and because of his education level he is only getting max basic of $1800 and the rest is OT. This IS the type of person who is really COMMITTED to his family. He knows what it take to put food on the table and his kids thru school. If you just sit around all day and talk to your family and hope for this and that or demand the govt provide for you, that is committed ? Know your priorities. how much we are paying ? that is why i say being a singaporean is not golden ticket if you are not going to work for it. how much do you think you are worth ? if my staff can stay with me for 14 years, what makes anyone better than him except he has lesser papers/certs ? construction site supervisors are paid more than $3k ... what else you want to compare ? worth is in the eyes of the paymaster. there is no shame in staying with your parents, i am quite sure most of the older flats have been paid for already. if your head is not so big, then dun buy a bigger hat. You pay, PRs also pay, more in fact. PRs sell, you can sell too .... nobody is holding you back. It just that they work hard now and enjoy the fruits later. You can too, if you can learn to be contented with life and not being egoistic. lastly, I do not have to document down what my foreign staffs do with their money, its basic common sense. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged April 10, 2011 Share April 10, 2011 LKY once said,"Casinos would be allowed in Singapore only Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged April 10, 2011 Share April 10, 2011 local workers will not want to work 12 hours if they are paid $1200/month. FT $1200 can get a degree holder liao. if the work is valued at $1200 only, how can one expect to be paid more ? i really dun care who does the job ... local, foreign or even ET .... at the end of the day, its just business, the company must make money. That's where the bonus is coming from. the way i see it, locals are playing themselves in. locals demand more pay for job A. they appeal to govt to make it hard for hirers to get FTs who can do the job for a lower pay. In the end, if the hirer does not make money, he fold up - along with the rest of the locals working in that company. That is where the unemployment cries start. just look at the newspapers, everyday, got so many ads but are there ready takers ? and the other reason why so many ads is turn-over - not by the hirer but the staff. there are only so many good and highly-desired jobs out there. Good luck to those(and their families) who hope to find it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Csnewbie 1st Gear April 10, 2011 Share April 10, 2011 What will Singapore Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear April 10, 2011 Share April 10, 2011 (edited) ysc3 is so supportive of FTs i really wondering if he is really SG or SG who serves NS. maybe new citizen ? to me, foreigners supress salary here. cos they can ask cheaper but do the same job...but why sld we get less just to compete with them? this is our country man.... Edited April 10, 2011 by Babyt Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gendut 2nd Gear April 10, 2011 Share April 10, 2011 Old Lee is not all faultless though with all the goodness he has done for Singapore. Of recent and most arguably flawed were the high salaries that they pay to all ministers and president alike. This payment by monetary dues may actually attract the wrong candidates into parliament. Where then is the part about serving society? Ministers pay may go on a case-by-case basis whereby if a private candidate is already drawing a million, then his package must be paid in equivalent and like if a dangerous convict escape under his charge he should also be accountable for his error His single biggest failure is his belief that he could do no wrong . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged April 10, 2011 Share April 10, 2011 ysc3 is so supportive of FTs i really wondering if he is really SG or SG who serves NS. maybe new citizen ? to me, foreigners supress salary here. cos they can ask cheaper but do the same job...but why sld we get less just to compete with them? this is our country man.... born and bred right here .... actually, i dun care whether its locals or foreigners or even ET (like i mentioned above). I only respect and acknowledge what a person can do or what results he can generate. if he/she can generate the desired results with the resources given to him/her, he/she deserve to be Top Brass. but if one continues to wallow and whine about how life is unkind to them, then too bad ... anyway, with regards to you saying why we shud not ask for less just to compete with them for the same job; i sort-of agree .... we can do more and then ask for more. By our education system, we are already more educated than most of the FTs here ... why can't we make use of this and round it of with some hardwork and then we can really demand. I will not give in to demands to someone who is not worth it ... its just a matter of time b4 i get rid of them. in contrast we and most employers out there will always try to retain good people. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
VellfireS 4th Gear April 10, 2011 Share April 10, 2011 I want to join you bro. Can? Even though LKY has done a lot.....I really mean a lot, but his reluctance to let go has cost this country a lot also. Letting a son take over is not letting go. We have lost the opportunity to renew and look for new charismatic, visionary leaders to lead us into another growth phase. Ultimately he is responsible for the mess were in. It does not take much talent to grow a country by letting in more people and building a casino. We eventually have to go through a painful phase to correct all these issues before we can grow strong again. I still can remember he said once " Even when I am dead, if I see something wrong happening in SG , I will rise up from my grave" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gendut 2nd Gear April 10, 2011 Share April 10, 2011 (edited) in contrast we and most employers out there will always try to retain good people. I'll rephrase it correctly the honest thinking for you: "in contrast we and most employers out there will always try to retain cheap people. Edited April 10, 2011 by Gendut Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged April 10, 2011 Share April 10, 2011 I'll rephrase it correctly the honest thinking for you: "in contrast we and most employers out there will always try to retain cheap people. well, if you put it that way; "cheap and good people." Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porche 5th Gear April 10, 2011 Share April 10, 2011 well, if you put it that way; "cheap and good people." what industry r u in? Your position? If they can replace local with FT, what makes you think they won't replace you with a FT... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged April 10, 2011 Share April 10, 2011 what industry r u in? Your position? If they can replace local with FT, what makes you think they won't replace you with a FT... i already mentioned in earlier posting ... logistics/warehousing ... its not about replacement where i am concerned, its more like we are understaffed. so much so that we had to rely on FTs instead ... but, we are still under-staffed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jkcs Neutral Newbie April 10, 2011 Share April 10, 2011 i clock 12 hours a day because that is what my job demands ... i am in logistics and because of my customers - they demand the extended hours. I dun feel threatened unless i dun have any workers under me - local or foreign. You are being irresponsible by saying only ppl without families have no commitment. I have a local staff who clocks 14 hours a day just to maintain his 5 room flat and put his 2 kids through school. He has been with me for the past 14 years and because of his education level he is only getting max basic of $1800 and the rest is OT. This IS the type of person who is really COMMITTED to his family. He knows what it take to put food on the table and his kids thru school. If you just sit around all day and talk to your family and hope for this and that or demand the govt provide for you, that is committed ? Know your priorities. silly, did i ask the govt to feed me? pls don't side track. if u are a good boss, u should encourage your worker to go home if there is nothing impt. one day = 24hrs working hrs = 14 time to and fro home/office (estimated) = 1.5hrs zzz = 7hrs how much time does your worker have for his family? how much we are paying ? that is why i say being a singaporean is not golden ticket if you are not going to work for it. how much do you think you are worth ? if my staff can stay with me for 14 years, what makes anyone better than him except he has lesser papers/certs ? construction site supervisors are paid more than $3k ... what else you want to compare ? worth is in the eyes of the paymaster. i am not talking abt supervisor post.. i am talking about those general construction sites workers there is no shame in staying with your parents, i am quite sure most of the older flats have been paid for already. if your head is not so big, then dun buy a bigger hat dun act smart by assuming too much. i am living in a 4th room flat only, i bought a 4rm flat because I am not eligible to buy a 3 room flat because of HDB policies. tell u in advance cos u will blown out of proportion again, i didn't tell u . You pay, PRs also pay, more in fact. PRs sell, you can sell too .... PR sell, they get cold hard cash, i sell off my HDB, where do i stay? even if I can live at parent's house, my $$ still flow back to CPFnobody is holding you back. It just that they work hard now and enjoy the fruits later. You can too, if you can learn to be contented with life and not being egoistic. saying something I did not brag of from the beginning, what did i do to be "egoistic" lastly, I do not have to document down what my foreign staffs do with their money, its basic common sense. then how u know they remit $ and the total amount back home every month.... ah i know... u assumed again Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged April 10, 2011 Share April 10, 2011 i may not be a good manager ... but my job is to help the company and not the workers. If there is nothing on, why wud i want to waste OT pay on my staff ? I wud prefer to save the money for my year end bonus. you still dun get it ? my worker know his priorities are to provide for his family. So do I. one might like to say that money is not important over family time ? wait till the day when one's family need money urgently, then scurry around like ants on a hotplate. Like it or not, money can do alot of things. When one can, its advisable to save more earlier for rainy day. there are many choices that people make over their lifetime, some good, some bad. Some choices are made under circumstances. I cannot tell you what to do or "where" to stay. and lastly i am very sorry that i assumed that people(locals,FTS,ETs) work for money for themselves only. It appears that only me and my staff work to provide for our families. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jkcs Neutral Newbie April 10, 2011 Share April 10, 2011 i may not be a good manager ... but my job is to help the company and not the workers good luck if u continue to have this mindset, if u have got no workers, u need to do all the work by yourself. In any organisation, all workers of all levels are impt, they cannot function w/o one another (but not the inverted pyramid). U helped the coy, good for u. but may l know what's your salary and how many month of yr end bonus you received? tell the truth since i dunno who u are and what coy u are working for If there is nothing on, why wud i want to waste OT pay on my staff ? I wud prefer to save the money for my year end bonus. so u own this coy? if not how can an employee decide how much bonuses he get? hhaha you still dun get it ? my worker know his priorities are to provide for his family. So do I. U still don't get it.. he is working 14hrs a day because he is afraid he might lose the job to some FTs and also because of having a boss like u one might like to say that money is not important over family time ? wait till the day when one's family need money urgently, then scurry around like ants on a hotplate. Like it or not, money can do alot of things. When one can, its advisable to save more earlier for rainy day. How to save much when inflation goes up but not monthly paycheck? the pay of today is still of 20 years ago there are many choices that people make over their lifetime, some good, some bad. Some choices are made under circumstances. I cannot tell you what to do or "where" to stay. I nvr ask for your advice , because u assumed too much so i tell u how big is my flat and lastly i am very sorry that i assumed that people(locals,FTS,ETs) work for money for themselves only. It appears that only me and my staff work to provide for our families. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
John112 Neutral Newbie April 10, 2011 Share April 10, 2011 one day = 24hrs working hrs = 14 time to and fro home/office (estimated) = 1.5hrs zzz = 7hrs can we have 4day/week but 12hr/day work? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...