Minikong 1st Gear November 8, 2010 Share November 8, 2010 is it fine for the coolent reservoir to be at the brim? excess coolent will go out underneath right? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Crazecow Neutral Newbie November 8, 2010 Share November 8, 2010 is it fine for the coolent reservoir to be at the brim? excess coolent will go out underneath right? Yes. the reservoir will have an overflow tube or valve. If you overfill, excess coolant will flow out. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear November 8, 2010 Share November 8, 2010 is it fine for the coolent reservoir to be at the brim? excess coolent will go out underneath right? for wat? wasting coolent... also i do a coolent change and flush myself... simpler than oil change anytime... makes you feel good that your car's coolent is fresh... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Minikong 1st Gear November 8, 2010 Author Share November 8, 2010 my coolent was half tank when i top up yesterday, then driving and drive now become full tank -.- think gas must have went in Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Crazecow Neutral Newbie November 8, 2010 Share November 8, 2010 my coolent was half tank when i top up yesterday, then driving and drive now become full tank -.- think gas must have went in Its normal. When you drive, coolant may escape from the pressure relieve cap and goes into the reservoir, thats why its full. Once you stop the car and wait for it to cool down, the coolant level in the reservoir will drop as its suck back into the radiator. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wolfy3769 2nd Gear November 8, 2010 Share November 8, 2010 care to show us how u DIY the coolent change? would like to do that myself if it is really not that difficult. also what u do with those used coolent? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear November 8, 2010 Share November 8, 2010 care to show us how u DIY the coolent change? would like to do that myself if it is really not that difficult. also what u do with those used coolent? no i would not like to show you or tell you what i do with the used coolant... you can check your car's manual... it will show you where the nut is to drain off your used coolant, no tools required... if you mixing use distilled water (can buy at watsons or any super market)... if not then buy premixed... in SG you do not need anti freeze... the more anti freeze the less effective the coolant... do not that after fill, run engine and top up... you will still need to top up at least for the next few days... good luck. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobh 4th Gear November 8, 2010 Share November 8, 2010 (edited) I hate to point out people's mistake , hope you bear with me.You need to read up more on the functions of anti-freeze It's more than a chemical to prevent cooling water from freezing during very cold weather, it can also improve the water boiling point and also it is a rust inhibitor. Edited November 8, 2010 by Yeobh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic November 8, 2010 Share November 8, 2010 I hate to point out people's mistake , hope you bear with me.You need to read up more on the functions of anti-freeze It's more than a chemical to prevent cooling water from freezing during very cold weather, it can also improve the water boiling point and also it is a rust inhibitor. It must be of proper proportion hor. Redline waterwetter is good (For Nissan Sunny, no need to top up water throughout the lifespan of waterwetter) if the correct proportion is maintain. My mechanic did not follow my instruction & overfill. In the end, i have to top water a number of time until it is stable. By the way i only use distilled water from Guardian or Watson. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Crazecow Neutral Newbie November 8, 2010 Share November 8, 2010 I hate to point out people's mistake , hope you bear with me.You need to read up more on the functions of anti-freeze It's more than a chemical to prevent cooling water from freezing during very cold weather, it can also improve the water boiling point and also it is a rust inhibitor. There are several types of coolant additives in the market. Some are anti-freeze which does prevent water from becoming ice in winter. There are other types that do not have anti-freeze properties as well. Eg. DEI's Radiator Relief additive does not have any anti-freeze properties. AFAIK, Water wetter do not have also. The issue with most anti-freeze capable coolant is that they glycol based and it tends to reduce thermal conductivity of the water (pure water has highest thermal conductivity). Thus if possible avoid these additives as we don't need them in SG. Water Wetter or Radiator Relieft do have rust and corrosion inhibitor properties as well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobh 4th Gear November 8, 2010 Share November 8, 2010 Yes I am aware of the mixture ratio, thanks. It use to be quite difficult to fill up european cars cooling system due to the engine titling position causing air bubbles to be locked at the highest positions ,even opening the system bleed screw hardly can get rid of air bubbles. Now it seems more and more Asian cars are having this type of problems. All this is due to more aerodynamic in front design. Mechanics who wish to fill up the cooling system fast much use a vacuum air look eliminator tool or a simple funnel designed for this purpose. If not chances the car cooling system will develop overheating problem as the air bubbles are bad conductors of heat to the engine block. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear November 9, 2010 Share November 9, 2010 I hate to point out people's mistake , hope you bear with me.You need to read up more on the functions of anti-freeze It's more than a chemical to prevent cooling water from freezing during very cold weather, it can also improve the water boiling point and also it is a rust inhibitor. yes i remember what you said in another coolant thread... i did a bit of research... there are additives (no need anti-freeze) which will raise the boiling point and inhibit rust... anti-freeze will never be needed in a tropical climate... and too high a percentage of anti-freeze will lessen the effects of the coolant as compared to water alone... really lah... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
A5ph Neutral Newbie November 9, 2010 Share November 9, 2010 Thanks for the input guys. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Crazecow Neutral Newbie November 9, 2010 Share November 9, 2010 yes i remember what you said in another coolant thread... i did a bit of research... there are additives (no need anti-freeze) which will raise the boiling point and inhibit rust... anti-freeze will never be needed in a tropical climate... and too high a percentage of anti-freeze will lessen the effects of the coolant as compared to water alone... really lah... Yes, as I have mentioned, Water wetter is not an anti-freeze and it cannot be used for anti-freeze purpose. If you use only WW, your coolant will still freeze in winter (not an issue in SG though). DEI radiator relief also not an anti-freeze. Motul coolant additive also not anti-freeze. Such products cannot be in place of anti-freeze, if not your coolant will be frozen solid in winter and and gone....... Its not an issue in SG though. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged November 9, 2010 Share November 9, 2010 It must be of proper proportion hor. Redline waterwetter is good (For Nissan Sunny, no need to top up water throughout the lifespan of waterwetter) if the correct proportion is maintain. My mechanic did not follow my instruction & overfill. In the end, i have to top water a number of time until it is stable. By the way i only use distilled water from Guardian or Watson. why only frm watson or guardian?? care to share? i usually go NTUC to buy, if i go Mal, i will buy the batt top up water there, 1L bottle only RM1... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weiming 1st Gear November 9, 2010 Share November 9, 2010 In SG, I only run 1 bottle of RL WW and distilled water, no other substance, in my Koyo rad. Water is still the best heat transfer agent and there is no need to run anti-freeze in our climate. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear November 10, 2010 Share November 10, 2010 Yes, as I have mentioned, Water wetter is not an anti-freeze and it cannot be used for anti-freeze purpose. If you use only WW, your coolant will still freeze in winter (not an issue in SG though). DEI radiator relief also not an anti-freeze. Motul coolant additive also not anti-freeze. Such products cannot be in place of anti-freeze, if not your coolant will be frozen solid in winter and and gone....... Its not an issue in SG though. bro you damn funny sia... how many times you wanna say SG not an issue... btw getting diesel in your petrol car is not a good idea... not that the damage will be bad or what, but i just dont like the idea... so if station pump wrongly for me (which will never happen cause i pump myself... and some bros here say the diesel nozzel is different size)... but if it does happen, ajust a new full tank of petrol will not calm me dwn... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear November 10, 2010 Share November 10, 2010 Yes, as I have mentioned, Water wetter is not an anti-freeze and it cannot be used for anti-freeze purpose. If you use only WW, your coolant will still freeze in winter (not an issue in SG though). DEI radiator relief also not an anti-freeze. Motul coolant additive also not anti-freeze. Such products cannot be in place of anti-freeze, if not your coolant will be frozen solid in winter and and gone....... Its not an issue in SG though. bro you damn funny sia... how many times you wanna say SG not an issue... btw getting diesel in your petrol car is not a good idea... not that the damage will be bad or what, but i just dont like the idea... so if station pump wrongly for me (which will never happen cause i pump myself... and some bros here say the diesel nozzel is different size)... but if it does happen, ajust a new full tank of petrol will not calm me dwn... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...