Got camera can withstand Winter condition?

Vroomtattat

Yo bro! Any recommendation for the above?

Preferably a compact camera and not those SLR type. Couple of colleagues had encountered shutters which got stuck

due to very cold weather and ended up with few pictures of their holidays abroad. They had wrapped up their cams in

some thick clothings as recommended but still cannot tahan the cold and the shutter mechanism froze up.

Thanks dude!

canon ixus 90. so far so good for me.

i dont have any problem using it in japan/korea even though the temp is below -10.

dont need extra packing for the camera, just the usual camera pouch. after taking photo, just put inside your jacket.

Brudder, lens will grow fungus <_<[laugh]

You laugh. There's no camera out there that can function well in cold conditions. I keep it under my armpit from freezing. Other ppl ask me why and how come my camera can work while theirs refuse to startup. They followed my way after I told them and gave me the thumbs up.

canon ixus 90. so far so good for me.

i dont have any problem using it in japan/korea even though the temp is below -10.

dont need extra packing for the camera, just the usual camera pouch. after taking photo, just put inside your jacket.

Canon ixus 90? hmmm . . . I'll take a look.

Thanks brudder!

You laugh. There's no camera out there that can function well in cold conditions. I keep it under my armpit from freezing. Other ppl ask me why and how come my camera can work while theirs refuse to startup. They followed my way after I told them and gave me the thumbs up.

Wah, so it is a common problem this frozen shutter thingy? Thanks for the advice lah brudder. . . . [laugh]

My Ricoh Caplio lens got stuck in sunny Singapore. [laugh] [laugh] [laugh] How to unfreeze it? :D :D :D

This cam seems to have "characters".

Put under your armpit lor . .

If you look at the specs given by the camera manufacturer they will state the operating temp. between the lowest & highest. Most could not take cold temp.

actually digital cams no issue w winter...5 yrs back, my previous canon ixus was alr taking good shots in negative temp but the only thing i learnt is the battery will drain much faster than normal..tat could be the bigger reason for not taking more shots haha ^_^

what kind of cold u referring to ?? I have used my cheap Pentax Optio M20 that cost me SGD199 from a IT show many years back in -24.5 C temperature before without any problem...and I think any camera would work under such temperate...unless you are talking about -50 C then I have no idea if they would still function.... :D

shutter frozen maybe is due to water vapour present..

without water... cold metal part will not "stick" together..

so beside warm.. also got to consider the humidity too..

another concern that u nvr consider is the battery... battery dont work well in low temperature...

Yo bro! Any recommendation for the above?

Preferably a compact camera and not those SLR type. Couple of colleagues had encountered shutters which got stuck

due to very cold weather and ended up with few pictures of their holidays abroad. They had wrapped up their cams in

some thick clothings as recommended but still cannot tahan the cold and the shutter mechanism froze up.

Thanks dude!

Yes, be careful. My camera mati after a winter trip overseas..

Wah, so it is a common problem this frozen shutter thingy? Thanks for the advice lah brudder. . . . [laugh]

Cold temperature not a major issue. Used an ordinary Ixus in Hokkaido at -20deg and everything was fine. Maybe the batteries drain faster.

Its the internal condensation you have to worry about when you move from warm areas (i.e heated hotel, restaurant into the open). That will damage the camera. Avoid rapid change of temperature. A good insulating cover might do the trick. ^_^

p.s I still hate you for beating me <_<