My power steering leaking?

Ken4555

[:(] ....................

Did an oil change today n noticed oil stains below on my car after the oil pan area... (Not on the ground) Asked the Mech n he says its my power steering fluid... I check all my car's fluids whenever I open my bonnet... Which is every other time I wash my car... Which is pretty often.... And have not had any fluids been below the max mark....

So now should i.....

1) just drive as per normal.... Until my steering gets too heavy or noisy....

2) get it fixed... Which i guess i hv no idea why to change or just a seal? I had a friend who had no problems with his power steering, he so called flushed it with new fluid... And problems n sounds came... The fluid change might not hv been the cause of his problems but is the steering just like the aircon? Not spoilt don't backside itchy renew oil n top up gas when its fine?

Your expert views will be much appreciated.

If you do maintain your own car, check your hoses and joints to see if the clips are loose or needs to be tighten. If you are using spring clips (which I gate), they lose tension over time and this intend to cause leaks. So you can check these areas first.

Then also check PS pump if its leaking. Sometimes, PS pump seals leak and may need to be replaced. IF so, then need WS. If hoses, you DIY easily.

If you want to to be a 'MAN', then just remove power steering altogether lor. Then can train your upper body strength.

Common la, last time my steering became no power-steering while driving half-way, mech say normal wear & tear, rubber hose harden.

Please dun wait until steering became harden, it will damage the powersteering system

of course get it fixed lah bro. Since you know where the oil stains are then it shouldn't be difficult for a mechanic to trace the source of the leak?

What car u driving?

What is the colour of the fluid stain that have leak?

Sometimes could be due to engine cover gasket harden n seep down the engine block.

If you do maintain your own car, check your hoses and joints to see if the clips are loose or needs to be tighten. If you are using spring clips (which I gate), they lose tension over time and this intend to cause leaks. So you can check these areas first.

Then also check PS pump if its leaking. Sometimes, PS pump seals leak and may need to be replaced. IF so, then need WS. If hoses, you DIY easily.

If you want to to be a 'MAN', then just remove power steering altogether lor. Then can train your upper body strength.

my 1st car was a CRX... no power steering... drove my frds GTI last time... no power steering...

but ah pek sunny wau lau... if parallel parking or tight 3 point turn shiong.... normal driving i am find without power steering... high speeds even better...

the leak is very minor... just see the dust stains type... hope its just hoses... i didnt look carefully...

is this leaking causing oil stains in your engine bay ? the leak will go on to the belt and splash dirty your engine bay

the leak is so minor i can only see dust stains... no drop in fluid level that i can... but even if dripping there is no way it will kanna my belts at the other side of the engine bay...

and if dripping i'm sure the steering will die within a day...

What car u driving?

What is the colour of the fluid stain that have leak?

Sometimes could be due to engine cover gasket harden n seep down the engine block.

thanks... i am very sure what leak it is...

Common la, last time my steering became no power-steering while driving half-way, mech say normal wear & tear, rubber hose harden.

Please dun wait until steering became harden, it will damage the powersteering system

if driving half way no steering, either your belt snapped or hose burst... normal wear and tear wont immediately no power steering one...

but we all have different standards to a proper working power steering rack...

will probably change my hoses first and see how i guess...

Hey Ken bro, sorry to hijack your thread, I had thought of creating a new one but I have similar problems.

My mechanic say the seals in my power steering is worn and is leaking. Now I am monitoring the power steering fluid box levels, and it goes to Min in about 1 week.

I was quoted around $500 plus and 1 day to replace all the seals, o-rings, basically to recondition the rack from Elite (they don't have recon ones) with 3 months warranty. Is this the market price and got any where else I can ask for second quote?

Haven't ask my stockist yet if he got spare ZF racks lying round... but i think it goes for 800 - 900?

Edited by Lionflyer

Hey Ken bro, sorry to hijack your thread, I had thought of creating a new one but I have similar problems.

My mechanic say the seals in my power steering is worn and is leaking. Now I am monitoring the power steering fluid box levels, and it goes to Min in about 1 week.

I was quoted around $500 plus and 1 day to replace all the seals, o-rings, basically to recondition the rack from Elite (they don't have recon ones) with 3 months warranty. Is this the market price and got any where else I can ask for second quote?

Haven't ask my stockist yet if he got spare ZF racks lying round... but i think it goes for 800 - 900?

If yrs is a Jap car >3yrs old, check e scrap-yards. Sud b a much cheaper option.

Sometimes WS wil tell u ty overhaul but ty actually get a 2nd hand part fm scrap-yard fr very chesp n just switch.

[:(] ....................

Did an oil change today n noticed oil stains below on my car after the oil pan area... (Not on the ground) Asked the Mech n he says its my power steering fluid... I check all my car's fluids whenever I open my bonnet... Which is every other time I wash my car... Which is pretty often.... And have not had any fluids been below the max mark....

So now should i.....

1) just drive as per normal.... Until my steering gets too heavy or noisy....

2) get it fixed... Which i guess i hv no idea why to change or just a seal? I had a friend who had no problems with his power steering, he so called flushed it with new fluid... And problems n sounds came... The fluid change might not hv been the cause of his problems but is the steering just like the aircon? Not spoilt don't backside itchy renew oil n top up gas when its fine?

Your expert views will be much appreciated.

My previous Accent had a leak where the stock hose clip failed to hold the rubber hose tight enough after only eight years usage. A new hose and clip is needed to repair such leak. The hose and clip has to be the right size for the job, Do not try to make do with almost same/equivalent

what car brand?

mine happened quite sudden leh... all within the span from cineleisure to plaza sing.

At cineleisure start to hear wooon wooon sound and steering became heavy, by the time reach PS, almost impossible to park need to use both hands and body weight.

found some oil leak (brownish red) and called for a tow truck.

changed to a recon steering rack cost about $800+ for a wrx

Edited by Gwensilvz

If yrs is a Jap car >3yrs old, check e scrap-yards. Sud b a much cheaper option.

Sometimes WS wil tell u ty overhaul but ty actually get a 2nd hand part fm scrap-yard fr very chesp n just switch.

guess depends on how much the car means to the owner... for me drive shaft i feel like getting both new ones...but after some thinking i guess recon ones enuf... 6months warranty and new dust covers...

as for my power steering, i have checked the leak is from a bolt... very slight leak so much so that my power steering fluid is still almost max... i hear no sound and no loss in power for the steering rack... so i will just top up the fluid and monitor next oil change if the leak has gotten worse... another way is to put news paper under my car at night... next morning can check how serious the leak.... but my leak is not serious enuf to 'drip' yet...