Sunday Neutral Newbie June 21, 2011 Share June 21, 2011 Just remapped my ecu over the weekend. Was told of 25bhp and 30Nm torque increase. Felt some changes after about 80km of driving. But not too sure if just my imagination to make myself feel good after spending the money. Next day friend sat in my ride and ask how come my ride now is so torquey, like very lively Never told him about the remapped ecu though... Will like my friends to judge before and after feel. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear July 5, 2011 Share July 5, 2011 Just remapped my ecu over the weekend. Was told of 25bhp and 30Nm torque increase. Felt some changes after about 80km of driving. But not too sure if just my imagination to make myself feel good after spending the money. Next day friend sat in my ride and ask how come my ride now is so torquey, like very lively Never told him about the remapped ecu though... Will like my friends to judge before and after feel. if you have dyno your ride before and after remap, you'll be able to see actual figure. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fennmax Clutched July 11, 2011 Share July 11, 2011 open source tuning 400, decat downpipe 150, hks muffler 500, hurricane foc. boost fm 0.9 to 1.2. fm 250 to 310bhp. 333nm to 420nm. wow! heaven! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fuelsaver Supercharged July 11, 2011 Share July 11, 2011 open source tuning 400, decat downpipe 150, hks muffler 500, hurricane foc. boost fm 0.9 to 1.2. fm 250 to 310bhp. 333nm to 420nm. wow! heaven! wat's open source tuning? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Urbanfade Clutched July 12, 2011 Share July 12, 2011 Hi eveyone, i'm also thinkin of this. Anyone can recommend a gd tuner? Drivin juz a modest honda jazz. Think the tuning abit off & also hopin to increase bhp. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nunchakubruce Neutral Newbie July 12, 2011 Share July 12, 2011 After remapping will insurance be voided due to modification and not declared? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear July 12, 2011 Share July 12, 2011 After remapping will insurance be voided due to modification and not declared? yes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear July 12, 2011 Share July 12, 2011 After remapping will insurance be voided due to modification and not declared? True in the actual sense but insurance company normally won't check if you have remap your Stock ECU. Unless you install piggy back ECU as it can be seen physically. Stock ECU tuning normally can't detect unless you have the ODB II cables and hacking software. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rb26dett Clutched July 13, 2011 Share July 13, 2011 ECU tuning wont be caught as modifications and being void by insurance.even if you run stand alone also how to catch ? as for open source/ecutek lagi more ridiculous.you think insurance companies will engage a tuner to pull the rom out from your ecu ?LOL Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Melvyn Neutral Newbie July 13, 2011 Share July 13, 2011 In the event of an accident which insurance coy will get tuning houses to retrieve the mapping? I have yet to see/hear any one that does. Juz remapping will not void your coverage unless you stupidly go and declare that. But not many ppl will go tune the ECU unless there's attendant parts (I-H-E, bigger snails, larger intercoolers and pipings etc) to maximise the usage and that's where insurance coys will try to void their coverage. Heck, I've even encountered one appraiser from a certain insurance coy telling me that they might not pay me because of larger rotors. And it's not even my fault in the accident. Was rear ended by a Kelisa at Bedok. Oh my goodness, even after 4 years think of it still find it ridiculous... Him: Hi sir, pls be informed that we reserve the rights to void the coverage due to your aftermarket parts. Me: What parts? (My setup was designed to be low profile and unles he is from Kryton and has surname Kent there's no way juz looking at the car's exterior he can tell internals and stuff were strengthened) Him: There. Those. *pointing to the brakes* Me: Huh? Those are performance brakes leh. I dun ask you guys reduce the amt I pay beacuse of me swapping out for better brakes now you can turn ard say it's my fault for using better brakes. Him: I know, but it's coy policy to reserve the rights to void cover if parts are changed. It might be because your brakes are bigger so the rear car cannot brake as fast therefore hit you. Me: Pls lah. Be sensible. Where's your car? Later I follow you out I hit you I claim that your brakes too good I also claim you then. Tell you what. Do what you need to do but I want what you said juz now in writing we both sign on it. I will also reserve the rights to take it up further if you do not resolve the matter to my satisfaction. Him: Okay. I'll need to call my supervisor first. KNN.. While I not looking he run off but good thing is that they did fix the bumper and claim against the other lady. Sorry... OOT so much but now think liao dulan man... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nunchakubruce Neutral Newbie July 15, 2011 Share July 15, 2011 yes. Thanks for your reply. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nunchakubruce Neutral Newbie July 15, 2011 Share July 15, 2011 True in the actual sense but insurance company normally won't check if you have remap your Stock ECU. Unless you install piggy back ECU as it can be seen physically. Stock ECU tuning normally can't detect unless you have the ODB II cables and hacking software. Thanks for your reply. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Indieladylove Neutral Newbie July 15, 2011 Share July 15, 2011 hi peeps, i am posting these to vent my frustrations on my 1st ecu reflash tuning on 13july11 r*m tuning for my jdm my07 autorex. was actually deciding between 2 tuners until friends strongly recommend going to r*mm** and hence i made my choice. called up for an appointment 1week earlier and scheduled the reflash on 13july11. did all the necessary supporting mods as advised 1day before. on the day of tuning, timing was delayed from 11am-1pm but was informed before hand. so at 1pm showed up proceeded with the tune about 1hour plus later. suddenly just halfway thru the 2nd run, r*mm** lappie crashed with my ecu which was sync together, hanged. car cannot start or give any response. totally sian. so begin an agonising 8hrs of rectifying. nothing worked so finally a replacement jdm ecu from an sti was used to enable me to drive my car till friday 220711 when r*mm*L back in s'pore. was told by him that my ecu will be send to ecutek in the states to reformat my ecu. so with replacement ecu now, drive is expected to be bad as the car goes into safety mode (imagine driving a wrx with just the power of honda fit) WTF!! initially was still glad that at least car still can be driven but as days pass, the response from my car just add to my anger n frustrations gradually. how can a simple reflash gone so horribly wrong! was even told by r*mm** he send his lappie for repairs the day before and was told everything ok by the tech guys on his lappie. if u know your lappie condition is almost up the lorry, then y take the chance to use it. haiz... i was really disappointed on my overall experience. hope he can solve his screw up when he is back and was it really worth paying after all this stupid screw up? i dont think so.... guys going for tune, good luck. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Newkid 2nd Gear July 15, 2011 Share July 15, 2011 wa, so serious. was thinking of going to R*mm to remap. Thanks for sharing~~~ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fennmax Clutched July 15, 2011 Share July 15, 2011 Try Hmanxx, reliable but low profile. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Newkid 2nd Gear July 16, 2011 Share July 16, 2011 Anyone tried TMC tuning before? How is the effects like? Seems like piggy back have the advantage of being easily reversible. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rb26dett Clutched July 16, 2011 Share July 16, 2011 Try Hmanxx, reliable but low profile. i did try his tuning couple years back.if it's the same person , think he is a freelance tuner rite? stays woodlands area . by the name of k@iLe@ng .back then he does only road tune at some weird industrial area in woodlands at late hours. my take on his tuning , keeps complaining about one's setup especially with openpod. quite an impatient guy . after tuning still got lots of flat spots and blames it on my setup instead. which after 1mth tuned by this guy , i went to RH@mmel .solved my issues. as for the case regarding the Atrex tuning by Rh@m and the laptop crashed , sometimes Sh1t happens.so long he is ready to be responsible and try his very best to rectify the issues. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fuelsaver Supercharged July 16, 2011 Share July 16, 2011 (edited) hi peeps, i am posting these to vent my frustrations on my 1st ecu reflash tuning on 13july11 r*m tuning for my jdm my07 autorex. was actually deciding between 2 tuners until friends strongly recommend going to r*mm** and hence i made my choice. called up for an appointment 1week earlier and scheduled the reflash on 13july11. did all the necessary supporting mods as advised 1day before. on the day of tuning, timing was delayed from 11am-1pm but was informed before hand. so at 1pm showed up proceeded with the tune about 1hour plus later. suddenly just halfway thru the 2nd run, r*mm** lappie crashed with my ecu which was sync together, hanged. car cannot start or give any response. totally sian. so begin an agonising 8hrs of rectifying. nothing worked so finally a replacement jdm ecu from an sti was used to enable me to drive my car till friday 220711 when r*mm*L back in s'pore. was told by him that my ecu will be send to ecutek in the states to reformat my ecu. so with replacement ecu now, drive is expected to be bad as the car goes into safety mode (imagine driving a wrx with just the power of honda fit) WTF!! initially was still glad that at least car still can be driven but as days pass, the response from my car just add to my anger n frustrations gradually. how can a simple reflash gone so horribly wrong! was even told by r*mm** he send his lappie for repairs the day before and was told everything ok by the tech guys on his lappie. if u know your lappie condition is almost up the lorry, then y take the chance to use it. haiz... i was really disappointed on my overall experience. hope he can solve his screw up when he is back and was it really worth paying after all this stupid screw up? i dont think so.... guys going for tune, good luck. hi there, fyi only, i tried ecu reflash O-B-D by Dave Nxxxx on my CPT - result was noticeable as in slightly linear performance compared to stock falt peak torque fr 2500rpm. In tiptronic 6-spd mode, pulls slightly better than stock also. only didnt dyno to show proof. so far so gd, no issues during tune & after. in fact, reflash to stock setting few mths back due to fc issue after usin v-pwr, then reflashed again after one mth - oso no issue. if u decide to try in any case (however, still sincerely hope u able to resolve ur issue w/o changing tuner), pls do me a favor - say u r referred by Ivan drivin purplish blue CPT. let me know if u've done that. Edited July 16, 2011 by Fuelsaver ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...