Pisces69 6th Gear November 5, 2010 Share November 5, 2010 On 11/4/2010 at 2:55 AM, Kangadrool said: My encounter is most direct sellers will offer you to test it out whilst for dealers, they gave too many excuses not for you to test drive. I always wait for sellers to offer me the test drive. I went to see a car at Turf City last time but dealer was a joke. Do not allow me to test. Just sit in car n on engine n ac. Hahaha. I sit awhile n tok tok a bit then walk off. I wonder how someone wil buy a car without a test-drive? Next car fm Car Times. Dealer send to my place n i test shiok shiok. Then cfm price, arrange loan, pay deposit n in 2 days, e car was mine. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Forte3737 5th Gear November 5, 2010 Share November 5, 2010 On 11/5/2010 at 12:07 AM, Pisces69 said: I went to see a car at Turf City last time but dealer was a joke. Do not allow me to test. Just sit in car n on engine n ac. Hahaha. I sit awhile n tok tok a bit then walk off. I wonder how someone wil buy a car without a test-drive? Next car fm Car Times. Dealer send to my place n i test shiok shiok. Then cfm price, arrange loan, pay deposit n in 2 days, e car was mine. they see your face, then know you are not a geniune buyer. these people are experienced enough to tell. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redplanet Clutched November 5, 2010 Share November 5, 2010 On 11/4/2010 at 2:33 AM, Mockngbrd said: dun let them test drive, u can drive them ard. until they really really serious. even when i go view cars i don't request for test drive, i ask the owners to drive the cars cos its too much of a responsibility if s--t happens. I'll only take the wheel if offered, and i'll drive like an old aunty. yup agreed. I also never test drive when buying mine, but the previous owner did drive around for me to experience the ride... better this way. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redplanet Clutched November 5, 2010 Share November 5, 2010 For my previous 2 rides, i had to agree the buying price with the dealer before going for a test drive. The understanding was that unless the test drive revealed some major problem, otherwise the deal was confirmed... sort of agreed with the dealer that they do not want to sell "test-driven-god-knows-how-many-times" cars..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear November 5, 2010 Share November 5, 2010 (edited) On 11/5/2010 at 12:54 AM, Forte3737 said: they see your face, then know you are not a geniune buyer. these people are experienced enough to tell. That proves that ty r idiots.....cos I was a guniune buyer. Maybe ty only used to selling to kuku buyers. Like that ty do biz can say ty wil loose quite a lot of serious sales. Edited November 5, 2010 by Pisces69 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear November 5, 2010 Share November 5, 2010 On 11/5/2010 at 1:03 PM, Redplanet said: For my previous 2 rides, i had to agree the buying price with the dealer before going for a test drive. The understanding was that unless the test drive revealed some major problem, otherwise the deal was confirmed... sort of agreed with the dealer that they do not want to sell "test-driven-god-knows-how-many-times" cars..... Maybe in e past ty got played out by many ''buyers'' who just want to play play n drive car fr fun but these sud b mainly younger pple. I not young leh n i went there in an Evo 9 summore. Do u think i look like i got nothing better to do than to go ''joy ride'' in some normal bread n butter car? Well i wil never even consider buying a car, especially a 2nd hand one, without a proper test drive. Every car i bought was only after a through test drive. If ty dont let me drive, i wud b vert suspicious abt e condition of e car. Plus i also want to feel if i am comfortable driving that car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shanhz 3rd Gear November 5, 2010 Share November 5, 2010 On 11/5/2010 at 1:03 PM, Redplanet said: For my previous 2 rides, i had to agree the buying price with the dealer before going for a test drive. The understanding was that unless the test drive revealed some major problem, otherwise the deal was confirmed... sort of agreed with the dealer that they do not want to sell "test-driven-god-knows-how-many-times" cars..... yes, for dealers, the price is ageed b4 you go test drv. this is normal. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear November 5, 2010 Share November 5, 2010 On 11/4/2010 at 1:49 AM, Yeshe said: Hi guys, if you trying to direct sell your car to buyer and during buyer test drive, he got your car into accident, how to claim from him? is it a practice to let him sign some undertaking form before test drive? Practice what used car dealers do: ask them to sign a form for their liablility Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear November 6, 2010 Share November 6, 2010 On 11/5/2010 at 5:31 PM, Shanhz said: yes, for dealers, the price is ageed b4 you go test drv. this is normal. I dont think all dealers practice this. I test drove my present car b4 agreeing on price. The dealer even brought my car to my workplace fr me to test b4 i decided to buy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Forte3737 5th Gear November 6, 2010 Share November 6, 2010 there are just too many not geniune buyers asking for test drive. used car dealers rather lose a sale than entertain these type of buyers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thamya Neutral Newbie November 14, 2010 Share November 14, 2010 On 11/5/2010 at 1:03 PM, Redplanet said: For my previous 2 rides, i had to agree the buying price with the dealer before going for a test drive. The understanding was that unless the test drive revealed some major problem, otherwise the deal was confirmed... sort of agreed with the dealer that they do not want to sell "test-driven-god-knows-how-many-times" cars..... I can accept to "agree the buying price before test drive", but not to "confirm the deal unless the test drive reveal major problem". What if after test drive I feel not comfortable with the car, but it is not a major problem, I still have to confirm the deal? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nightmare77 Neutral Newbie November 14, 2010 Share November 14, 2010 On 11/14/2010 at 10:55 AM, Thamya said: I can accept to "agree the buying price before test drive", but not to "confirm the deal unless the test drive reveal major problem". What if after test drive I feel not comfortable with the car, but it is not a major problem, I still have to confirm the deal? add in the not comfortable with the car condition. some 2nd hand car dealers will accept this. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nf0rc3r 1st Gear November 14, 2010 Share November 14, 2010 I always ask owner to drive, can see their driving pattern. If they anyhow wack one can forget about buying. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged November 14, 2010 Share November 14, 2010 I am the buyer. My rules or I walk. Simple. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Teriyaki Neutral Newbie November 15, 2010 Share November 15, 2010 On 11/5/2010 at 1:28 PM, Pisces69 said: Maybe in e past ty got played out by many ''buyers'' who just want to play play n drive car fr fun but these sud b mainly younger pple. I not young leh n i went there in an Evo 9 summore. Do u think i look like i got nothing better to do than to go ''joy ride'' in some normal bread n butter car? Well i wil never even consider buying a car, especially a 2nd hand one, without a proper test drive. Every car i bought was only after a through test drive. If ty dont let me drive, i wud b vert suspicious abt e condition of e car. Plus i also want to feel if i am comfortable driving that car. i went to see car.. but car dealer say i cannot test drive, unless i have the intention to buy. hmm....... sounds so contradicting. if i dont have the intention to buy, why should i go see car? and if i cant test drive, how can i buy the car? well.. in the end, i still went ahead to buy..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear November 16, 2010 Share November 16, 2010 On 11/15/2010 at 8:23 PM, Teriyaki said: i went to see car.. but car dealer say i cannot test drive, unless i have the intention to buy. hmm....... sounds so contradicting. if i dont have the intention to buy, why should i go see car? and if i cant test drive, how can i buy the car? well.. in the end, i still went ahead to buy..... Turf City dealer say e same. Cannot test. Just sit inside n on engine n ac. What a joke. I never ever been so insulted b4. I just sit awhile then walk away. I WIL NEVER EVER CONSIDER BUYING A CAR WITHOUT TESTING IF ITS SUITED TO ME N IF ITS ALSO IN GOOD CONDITION. Next car i see in classifieds. Call Car Times n salesgirl bring e car down to me fr viewing. I test [e car not e ger hor] n nego price n close deal wh a deposit. A couple of days later e car was mine after she do ALL e paperwork n who knows what. She even inform HDB of my changeof car n number. What good service. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear November 16, 2010 Share November 16, 2010 On 11/14/2010 at 3:02 PM, Bavarian said: I am the buyer. My rules or I walk. Simple. Exactly how i feel. My previous car i test, my wife free so i bring her along n she sit wh me during test, just to see if she is comfortable wh e car. After a long test n nego price, i signed on e dotted line. That is e correct way to buy a car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moimoi Neutral Newbie November 17, 2010 Share November 17, 2010 I did not test drive mine either as I am scare of damaging the car. In the end got mine friend to test drive for me. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...