Daytime Running Light

Sparcoray

Actually in Singapore, do our cars need DRL ?

Daytime it is bright enough, and night time the car main headlights also bright enough too. Some DRL, especially aftermarkets ones are irritating to other drivers, sometimes distracting too.... [:(]

1) How did the wiring run so that DRL wil go off once the pole/main lights come on?

2) just like everything, LTA dun wan to approve too soon cos as it is, many pple wil fix it as aftermarket but some wil not do it properly n become too glaring especially at night.

Some wil even modify to make it glaring so ty can irritate other drivers.

Same thing with fog lights. Some change bulb till very bright n blind others at night.

i got the philips led4; they have very comprehensive instructions, incl video in youtube - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cEYaNRyV9ZQ

PHILIPS-LED-DAYLIGHT4.jpg

btw, i secured mine to mesh grille on bumper while adjusting it to suit all dimensions and angles. looked nice & yet enhance ride presence. at night sure off cos of the tapping to pole light. if want always on then don't tap. result of my ex-ride below -

527523_540693339274308_741808978_n.jpg

423179_389089784434665_1071230484_n.jpg

Edited by Fuelsaver

Actually in Singapore, do our cars need DRL ?

Daytime it is bright enough, and night time the car main headlights also bright enough too. Some DRL, especially aftermarkets ones are irritating to other drivers, sometimes distracting too.... [:(]

I feel it is a good thing provided it is not too bright. why are you distracted by DRL??

Now fog lights can b fitted aftermarket but must hv recognised marking like EU etc n ty must b placed as per LTA specs for fog lights. Also the bulbs cannot b upgraded to higher wattage.

And yellow fog lights r not allowed here.

So the approved FL is like the normal headlight colour ?

Are the approved wattage types fog light brighter than the oem headlights ?

I feel it is a good thing provided it is not too bright. why are you distracted by DRL??

Anything bright will attact attention. Some so bright in the day I mistaken the car turn on high beam to me! So for 1-2 seconds gotto take my eyes off to look at who is behing...distracting lah...

In Europe, some places have dark skies like during winter so DRL is necessary. But Singapore so sunny why need it?

Anything bright will attact attention. Some so bright in the day I mistaken the car turn on high beam to me! So for 1-2 seconds gotto take my eyes off to look at who is behing...distracting lah...

In Europe, some places have dark skies like during winter so DRL is necessary. But Singapore so sunny why need it?

that one too bright lo.. but I feel those normal one ok la. when you see mirror can tell much easier.

at least better than fog light.. totally redundant in SG...

that one too bright lo.. but I feel those normal one ok la. when you see mirror can tell much easier.

at least better than fog light.. totally redundant in SG...

May not be leh, now that its established that uber rains does not occur once/ 50yrs. [lipsrsealed]

Come to think of it, SBS & SMRT should start converting their buses to duck tour! no need scare to change "once every 50yrs"!

some more if traffic jam, jump into the river or long kang!

And drivers should stop the practice of using lowering Kits. Suicide. Instead try getting a SUV. Cheapest should be Terios?

Better Get a Terios & install the xtra tall susp kit. Like that knee deep or maybe waist deep also not scared. [sunny]

And drivers should stop the practice of using lowering Kits. Suicide. Instead try getting a SUV. Cheapest should be Terios?

Better Get a Terios & install the xtra tall susp kit. Like that knee deep or maybe waist deep also not scared. [sunny]

terios oso 1 yr near 10k? better get pre-FL tucson at similar depre. crv worst - 13k to 15k p.a.

when i cross the road in clear weather, even drl can catch my attention, like smthg bright at one corner of my eye, compared to other rides w/o it.

too bad it's not legal here. hopefully have chance to get next ride comes w mfg drl.

i got the philips led4; they have very comprehensive instructions, incl video in youtube - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cEYaNRyV9ZQ

btw, i secured mine to mesh grille on bumper while adjusting it to suit all dimensions and angles. looked nice & yet enhance ride presence. at night sure off cos of the tapping to pole light. if want always on then don't tap. result of my ex-ride below -

527523_540693339274308_741808978_n.jpg

423179_389089784434665_1071230484_n.jpg

It looks good..................But the price lagi good. [sweatdrop]

hence been there done that..

tried once, but won't be tryin again. now only looking for 4300k t10 pole light n lighting project ends.

when i cross the road in clear weather, even drl can catch my attention, like smthg bright at one corner of my eye, compared to other rides w/o it.

too bad it's not legal here. hopefully have chance to get next ride comes w mfg drl.

Just like fog lights, one day LTA might just approve DRL if its proven beyond a doubt ty r helpful in making cars more visible during the day.

Just that there wil b motorists who wil abuse them n put super bright (day n night) DRL which wil dazzle other motorists.

Even now there r drivers who modify their fog lights to spot lights with very bright beams. Sigh.

There r drivers who r so desperate to attract attention to their cars, ty wil do all sorts of stupid things to stand out. Unfortunately some of these mods r just plain dangerous to others on the road.

Just like fog lights, one day LTA might just approve DRL if its proven beyond a doubt ty r helpful in making cars more visible during the day.

Just that there wil b motorists who wil abuse them n put super bright (day n night) DRL which wil dazzle other motorists.

Even now there r drivers who modify their fog lights to spot lights with very bright beams. Sigh.

There r drivers who r so desperate to attract attention to their cars, ty wil do all sorts of stupid things to stand out. Unfortunately some of these mods r just plain dangerous to others on the road.

ya, hope so. But maybe before they approved, almost all rides will come w drl lol. Tok about superbright n misaligned headlight, a number of taxis r guilty of that too. When see them in rear view mirror, I'll just flip up rear view mirror.