Daytime Running Light

Sparcoray

Now inspection quite strict...

Last week went down VICOM to certify exhaust and saw many cars going for inspection fail because of front headlamps change to white.

Bought a drl light from eBay and went to a ice shop for installation. The guy told me that the drl must be connected to pole light and not possible to have a switch by itself, which I wanted. I wanted to have the drl light switch on at day time and not with the pole light.

Anyone did it before and how the wiring from the bonnet goes to cabin?

Pure nonsense. There are a 101 ways to wire up the DRLs, dedicated switch or switched via relays etc. Lazy to do, just tell you lazy to do, go other shop. Plenty of shops who are able to do what you want. Or feeling adventurous? DIY.

DRL sud b wired to a source which wil b live once u switch on the engine. U can tap electricity from something like the ciggy lighter fuse etc.

But the difficult part is to get it to go off once u switch on the headlight cos DRL sud go off at night cos ty r too bright n glaring.

Oh n FYI aftermarket DRL is not LTA approved hor.

Fog light is not legal unless it is factory fitted, same as DRL

Now fog lights can b fitted aftermarket but must hv recognised marking like EU etc n ty must b placed as per LTA specs for fog lights. Also the bulbs cannot b upgraded to higher wattage.

And yellow fog lights r not allowed here.

Saw this super expensive Philips DRL at Autobacs that day. Got 2 mode some more one.. One brighter for the day and another mode darker for the night..

quite stylo design also.. but priced at 300+!

DRL sud b wired to a source which wil b live once u switch on the engine. U can tap electricity from something like the ciggy lighter fuse etc.

But the difficult part is to get it to go off once u switch on the headlight cos DRL sud go off at night cos ty r too bright n glaring.

Oh n FYI aftermarket DRL is not LTA approved hor.

Now fog lights can b fitted aftermarket but must hv recognised marking like EU etc n ty must b placed as per LTA specs for fog lights. Also the bulbs cannot b upgraded to higher wattage.

And yellow fog lights r not allowed here.

ever DIY drl for my prev ride. Everything according to mfgr instruction so that drl by default is on except when pole or main light on.

Saw this super expensive Philips DRL at Autobacs that day. Got 2 mode some more one.. One brighter for the day and another mode darker for the night..

inflation? Thot that one at 299? Btw, oso can blink wen u signal n chg to signal color.

wow! that's nice! anyone providing such service here in SG?

if lta acknowledges drl is for improved presence n approves of drl, surely it'll b more viable to do such biz. Edited by Fuelsaver

1)ever DIY drl for my prev ride. Everything according to mfgr instruction so that drl by default is on except when pole or main light on.

2)if lta acknowledges drl is for improved presence n approves of drl, surely it'll b more viable to do such biz.

1) How did the wiring run so that DRL wil go off once the pole/main lights come on?

2) just like everything, LTA dun wan to approve too soon cos as it is, many pple wil fix it as aftermarket but some wil not do it properly n become too glaring especially at night.

Some wil even modify to make it glaring so ty can irritate other drivers.

Same thing with fog lights. Some change bulb till very bright n blind others at night.

my Osram DRL also have this day/night function