Passion 5th Gear November 3, 2010 Share November 3, 2010 Actually, if every single building Rooftop has Greenery, SG can reduce the temp of environment by 2 degrees C. If all equip with Solar Panels, can reduce household energy costs quite dramatically. Energy consumption in SG is a disease. Same as the Tax they collect from Ciggarettes. The maintenance for solar panels is very high.that's why it wasn't implemented.The cost doesn't justify the spending. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turtlekar 2nd Gear November 3, 2010 Share November 3, 2010 Big project, big money, and more money to go missing....sigh....another creative act!!! bravo bravo....now i know where my tax money go liao....sad case..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged November 3, 2010 Share November 3, 2010 The maintenance for solar panels is very high.that's why it wasn't implemented.The cost doesn't justify the spending. The long term cost of Solar Panels or the short term ?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pokyman 1st Gear November 3, 2010 Share November 3, 2010 Bet u will see the carbon tax lai liao loh!!! Justification to fund this nuclear energy drive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear November 3, 2010 Author Share November 3, 2010 Actually alot of people dont know this but energy efficiency can be thought as a source of energy. Alot of energy are wasted thermally because of energy efficiency ceiling limits that are inherent to current processes and theory. If we can ratchet up energy efficiency by just 5%, the energy saved can be a lot really. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear November 3, 2010 Share November 3, 2010 with safer plants nowdays, looking at the 4th gen ones, why not? but only if employees of the plant are singaporeans. I don't think so... You think so? Probably whole lot of imports running it... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear November 3, 2010 Share November 3, 2010 Singapore roadmap is not to build a Nuclear plant at our doorsteps lah. They will buy from Indonesia, once they build, for the next 20 yrs. But we have to have all the nuclear technical expertise in our backyard to have the necessary IP used as supportive role to Indo. Watch for it, NTU or Poly will have Nuclear Physics studies soon... I will ask my son choose this career path... Buy from Indonesia? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic November 3, 2010 Share November 3, 2010 (edited) Buy / lease islands from Indonesia (they have lots of them) to build nuclear plants lor. Singapore happy, Indonesia also happy. Am sure deep inside they don't mind (with the extra source of $$$ going into their pockets), but politically it's a big headache. Edited November 3, 2010 by Kangadrool Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyrofillica 1st Gear November 3, 2010 Share November 3, 2010 First thing that comes to my mind is where is it going to reside? How to dispose radioactive waste? To me building it is to living backwards.... All the years of talking green and saving gaia is just b-------t. if u do a little more research on nuclear power, you would know that going nuclear is one of the most feasible ways of saving Gaia. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rainman 1st Gear November 3, 2010 Share November 3, 2010 if u do a little more research on nuclear power, you would know that going nuclear is one of the most feasible ways of saving Gaia. In short term yes, in long run maybe not, the radioactive waste will take thousands of years to decompose..... so if the waste is not decomposed fully, in what way does it help to save the gaia? I think the obvious reason for building nuclear plant is more for economical reason, dollar to watt. Adding to the fact, we are so small, where are they going to build? I'm just fearful to hear for another honest human mistake. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyrofillica 1st Gear November 3, 2010 Share November 3, 2010 In short term yes, in long run maybe not, the radioactive waste will take thousands of years to decompose..... so if the waste is not decomposed fully, in what way does it help to save the gaia? I think the obvious reason for building nuclear plant is more for economical reason, dollar to watt. Adding to the fact, we are so small, where are they going to build? I'm just fearful to hear for another honest human mistake. easy to solve human mistake. site the new parliament house and have all our million dollar ministar stay right next to the new nuclear plant. i confirm with u 100% chop eliminate any chance of honest mistakes Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic November 3, 2010 Share November 3, 2010 totally against it.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear November 3, 2010 Share November 3, 2010 Oil will run out one day. LNG will also run out. How long more? My primary school textbooks said 50years. Why happens when oil/coal/LNG really ran out? Nuclear power might be the solution. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Estrangable 5th Gear November 3, 2010 Share November 3, 2010 Saw from today's headlines that our LEEder is already readying the necessary prerequisites for building a nuclear power plant in lieu of a decision. Given that a nuclear power station is something that has huge huge ramifications, e.g. socio-political and environmental impact, do you think that the general public should be consulted or even be involved in the decision making process. I personally think that having a nuclear power station in our own backyard is does not pale in comparison in terms of implications as did the decision taken by old man to join Malaysia back in 1963. Do you think we should have a referendum for this? Best solution - referendum. Let the people decide. I am personally for nuclear option as long as it guarantee a lower electricity bill Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic November 3, 2010 Share November 3, 2010 (edited) Best solution - referendum. Let the people decide. I am personally for nuclear option as long as it guarantee a lower electricity bill in SG? lower bills? hahahahahaha..they will charge u some nuclear tax Edited November 3, 2010 by Mockngbrd Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SupperTime Clutched November 3, 2010 Share November 3, 2010 (edited) In the event that this plant is completed, I honestly hope the utmost security is taken in protecting it. We are surrounded by countries with some sediments who might try to make a boom boom. Anyway guess we can call it 3 mile tekong (if the plant is in tekong) or 3 mile zoorong (if in zoorong).... Edited November 3, 2010 by AceofproZ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darthrevan Supercharged November 3, 2010 Share November 3, 2010 Agree that we should "harvest" energy from Sun and improved current solar technology rather than looking at Nuclear. Solar power and wind power needs substantial land space to be effective..SG is just a tiny dot and land is limited..moreover the costs are very high compared to nuclear energy..and nuclear is considered "green" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged November 3, 2010 Share November 3, 2010 err.... isn't nuclear energy a green solution ? anything involve human activity is never green... nuclear energy is green??? think of the radioactive waste generated... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...