Observer 4th Gear November 2, 2010 Share November 2, 2010 Red is nice for sport cars but from the rear, the rear lights just dun stand out as much making the whole rear view kindof plain. Yellow is nice. well, heck, most colors are nice on a nice car. Seen the Taxi Blue Lambo? Ive seen that...both on an sv and lp640...nice indeed.. to me, porsche (especially those gt3s gt2s) need LOUD color combinations like lambo... Red? Leave it to Ferrari ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
W210k 1st Gear November 3, 2010 Share November 3, 2010 (edited) He buys cayman because he wants a cayman. Y r u telling him to buy something else he don't want? So what if he can buy a blackplate 370z or 3x toyota sedan or whatever? He wants a cayman. If u can sell him a new blackplate cayman for the same price that he paid for his redplate cayman, I am sure he will take the blackplate. But can you? I want to eat a BK Whopper. I can choose with cheese or without cheese, so i choose the whopper without cheese. Then u ask me why i don't buy Big Mac, comes with cheese, and same price as whopper without cheese. Hello, I want whopper leh. Exactly! Recently, I walked into a watch shop asking to see the Rolex Cellini collection ... specicially, their white gold Cestello range for ladies. That shop had some Cellini collection models, mainly the gent's Prince models. So the sales person showed me that. I reiterated that I was looking for a ladies watch. He immediately ushered me to the Chopard counter. I said hello, I asked to see, specifically, the Rolex Cellini Cestello ladies model range and you are now asking me to look at Chopard. So do you, or do you not have, the specific model that I want? Yes, or no, simple as that. He replied no, very disappointingly (he need not have to be). I said my thank you and walked out of the shop. p.s. I saw a wide range of the Cellini Cestello models at Watch Palace, later on. Back to the TS: So the moral of the story here is, if someone wants to buy a Porshe Cayman, then a Cayman it shall be. Nothing less. Red, or black plate notwithstanding. You go ask him to buy 3 Camry's instead, and he will tell you to GO FLY KITES! Red or black plate, is really up to him, based on his own usage. If he already has a Merc C63 AMG and BMW 750Li black plates for his daily commute, and he plans to drive his Cayman only during the weekends to the marina, country club, or night pubbing, why the hell would he need to pay the additional $17,000 and high road tax for a black plate Cayman? Its a no brainer. Get a red plate Cayman. Save the $17K up front and the annual (high) road tax. Wise move. Enuf said. Edited November 3, 2010 by W210k Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karebu 1st Gear November 3, 2010 Share November 3, 2010 I guess for thread starter the question comes about from the notion that such cars are veblen goods in the first place. The idea of the car is to make you feel as 'atas' as possible. That defeats the purpose when you slap on a red plate. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
W210k 1st Gear November 3, 2010 Share November 3, 2010 yeah I know, what Iam trying to say is that the c class may appear a little uninspiring in terms of the fun factor compared to quite some makes, but to me it is still has a lot of character and fun compared to many other normal b&b sedans, which is why I won't even label the C class as boring.. Indeed not, when you go up the V6 and higher spec levels, with Sport Mode that includes the Enhanced Agility Package (EAP) which not only stretches revs on each gear, but stiffens the suspensions hydraulically (vs Audi's electromagnets), heavy-up the power steering assist and primes the brakes (yes, you can smell it). Wooohoo, its as stiff as can be, rides harsh even and the engine's signature tune changes from Jekyl to Hyde, with baritone sonority that is very palpable indeed. Definitely NOT uninspiring nor even boring, I must say. In fact, I think its handling outshines the 3-er up to 325i. I still have a lot of respect for the N54s and M3 though. That's the true C-Class that MB set out to build. SG is not really considered their 'global' market. Some of my American associates even ridicule the small-capacity Mercs and BMWs that they see on our roads here. What? A puny less-than-2L Merc / BMW? That's ridiculous!!! Never heard of one (to them). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic November 3, 2010 Share November 3, 2010 More like 1/2 leh, I thought? Parking in city is bloody ridiculous, though. Nearly $30 for one night when I was in Melbourne and Perth. Bloody ridiculous. yeah man... i agree Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
XALmoN Neutral Newbie November 3, 2010 Share November 3, 2010 More like 1/2 leh, I thought? Parking in city is bloody ridiculous, though. Nearly $30 for one night when I was in Melbourne and Perth. Bloody ridiculous. Lol, where you park? In melbie city, after 8pm is free one leh... I go lanshop in city, park from 7 to 3am, $1.30 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear November 3, 2010 Share November 3, 2010 Indeed not, when you go up the V6 and higher spec levels, with Sport Mode that includes the Enhanced Agility Package (EAP) which not only stretches revs on each gear, but stiffens the suspensions hydraulically (vs Audi's electromagnets), heavy-up the power steering assist and primes the brakes (yes, you can smell it). Wooohoo, its as stiff as can be, rides harsh even and the engine's signature tune changes from Jekyl to Hyde, with baritone sonority that is very palpable indeed. Definitely NOT uninspiring nor even boring, I must say. In fact, I think its handling outshines the 3-er up to 325i. I still have a lot of respect for the N54s and M3 though. That's the true C-Class that MB set out to build. SG is not really considered their 'global' market. Some of my American associates even ridicule the small-capacity Mercs and BMWs that they see on our roads here. What? A puny less-than-2L Merc / BMW? That's ridiculous!!! Never heard of one (to them). Actually the Advanced Agility Package doesnt come standard even on American C300s. And their C300s are pretty slow actually given that our modded sub <2L engines outgun them and even give the C350 a run for their money. I dont think they do that to the brakes on the W204. Ive never heard of it. However, you will note that even on the base C180 with the standard Agility package, the electronically adaptive suspension changes with the driving style and the steering is also vario steering. Standard sport mode already stretches the gear ratio. The only difference the AAP makes is stiffen the suspension even more. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
XALmoN Neutral Newbie November 3, 2010 Share November 3, 2010 seen this? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XJM8DlbT9dk Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear November 3, 2010 Share November 3, 2010 seen this? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XJM8DlbT9dk nice. what i like on the E-class is the infrared camera for night time pedestrian detection infrared view Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear November 3, 2010 Share November 3, 2010 (edited) Not unless the Cayman's red. Which, should be. I mean, Porsche just goes hand in hand with red. Blood red. Yellow too. don't agree. red is horrible on porsches. but what do i know. i cannot afford one. Edited November 3, 2010 by Viceroymenthol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
W210k 1st Gear November 3, 2010 Share November 3, 2010 Actually the Advanced Agility Package doesnt come standard even on American C300s. And their C300s are pretty slow actually given that our modded sub <2L engines outgun them and even give the C350 a run for their money. I dont think they do that to the brakes on the W204. Ive never heard of it. However, you will note that even on the base C180 with the standard Agility package, the electronically adaptive suspension changes with the driving style and the steering is also vario steering. Standard sport mode already stretches the gear ratio. The only difference the AAP makes is stiffen the suspension even more. Pls compare stock to stock lah - stop bringing in modded sub-2L. You sound like broken record leh. A C300 will outgun any sub-2L, stock. Period. AAP is standard for C300 and above in Singapore. Its not an option. So a C300 will out-perform any sub-2L (without AAP) on handling around bends, obviously. The brakes priming is indeed mentioned in the MB product literature. Checked with the C&C technical folks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RelaxLah Clutched November 4, 2010 Share November 4, 2010 ... the rationality behind having a red plate (OPC) white Porsche Cayman. I saw a white Porshe Cayman with a red plate. And I'm a little puzzled as to... Why? Why can't the owner simply buy a slightly cheaper can and have a regular plate. Than to buy a slightly more expensive Cayman and get some savings back by having a red plate? There are SLKs, 370z, Audi TTs... it'd be the same px as a red plate Cayman, only you have a regular plate? I know there are reasons why, but they don't make sense to me. Am I the only one who feels puzzled and "????!!" when I see a red plate Alfa GT, or Cayman or BMW 335? To save that measly <20k? Why not save more and buy a cheaper car? [crazy] Anyone else with similar sightings and/or opinions? ..Actually it makes sense if the owner has other cars for work and uses d red plate Cayman during off-peak hours.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear November 4, 2010 Share November 4, 2010 (edited) Pls compare stock to stock lah - stop bringing in modded sub-2L. You sound like broken record leh. A C300 will outgun any sub-2L, stock. Period. AAP is standard for C300 and above in Singapore. Its not an option. So a C300 will out-perform any sub-2L (without AAP) on handling around bends, obviously. The brakes priming is indeed mentioned in the MB product literature. Checked with the C&C technical folks. keke no la ya lor broken record liaos repeat too many times set on replay its value vs cost proposition you know how modded 335is can get even outgunning M3s. AAP is not standard for US... yes with AAP definitely will.... but then you can easily change to a KW V3... brake priming during sport mode bro? because i understand brake priming occurs only in wet weather when the pads will brush the rotors to keep it dry Edited November 4, 2010 by Cerano Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic November 4, 2010 Share November 4, 2010 don't agree. red is horrible on porsches. but what do i know. i cannot afford one. Agreed. My fav combi (in my dream of course) is cream white with red interior. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sunnyr76 Neutral Newbie November 4, 2010 Share November 4, 2010 whats wrong? they are SMART! it could jolly well be his/her 3rd, 4th, 5th , 6th..... cars.... the point is not saving SGD17K, Road tax rebate and cheaper insurance. but more important, WHY FEED LTA WITH SO MUCH $$$$? WHEN WE ARE BEING SUCKED DRY VIA EVER RISING ERP?... ... the rationality behind having a red plate (OPC) white Porsche Cayman. I saw a white Porshe Cayman with a red plate. And I'm a little puzzled as to... Why? Why can't the owner simply buy a slightly cheaper can and have a regular plate. Than to buy a slightly more expensive Cayman and get some savings back by having a red plate? There are SLKs, 370z, Audi TTs... it'd be the same px as a red plate Cayman, only you have a regular plate? I know there are reasons why, but they don't make sense to me. Am I the only one who feels puzzled and "????!!" when I see a red plate Alfa GT, or Cayman or BMW 335? To save that measly <20k? Why not save more and buy a cheaper car? [crazy] Anyone else with similar sightings and/or opinions? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Floweradvisor Clutched November 4, 2010 Share November 4, 2010 he got money he can buy whatever he wants. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahhuat 1st Gear November 5, 2010 Share November 5, 2010 When did it become about me? But wait wait, I sense some frayed nerves. I'm not being antagonistic. I'm just looking for an intelligent debate, and maybe to read other people's opinion. I guess, not everyone shares my confusion. :) Oh well. it's about you cos you dont understand why ppl make such choices. my point to you is that you cannot understand unless you are at that point in the first place. U cant afford it anyway and that's why it bewilders you! a more intelligent qn IMHO is why would anyone in singapore buy a car?! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gabriel 1st Gear November 5, 2010 Share November 5, 2010 yeah dun come back... stay put!!! y come back face all the ERPs la, and crap!! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...