Rastaman01 2nd Gear October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 Anyone knows what can I do. Recently sold my car n was 140k on odo. Recently saw on sale n it was halved. Thought wanna be vigilant n tell but how. Any implications? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Khrz Neutral Newbie October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 stomp.. newspaper.. post here.. lta.. alot of ways... i don't see any implication if you can provide proof of mileage and the current mileage they selling.. by the way.. got link to see the car? lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xspace 1st Gear October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 I don't know... Maybe they got approval and changed to a used engine? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kungming 1st Gear October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 I sold my 5yr old vios to a used car dealer with the milege at 120+k. The next thing I saw, the ad in carmart said the milege was 60k... I ended up buying my current ride direct from owner rather than through a dealer. Nothing new! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friedchicken Neutral Newbie October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 any documentation to show the mileage when you hand over the car to them? tampering the odometer is so common. how come gahmen never take any action? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porche 5th Gear October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 buyer can always check with the brand distributor if they service their car with them to verify the mileage Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Luoxy Neutral Newbie October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 reveal dealer's name!!!!!!!!!!!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Indigo Neutral Newbie December 20, 2010 Share December 20, 2010 Just wanted to share my experience: Recently i booked a Nissan Latio (First registered in DEC 2006, 1 owner) from H*** C*** Y* Motor Trading & the odometer was showing 63K km total mileage. When i asked the sales (Andy) for the servicing record, he mentioned that it wasn't last serviced by the authorized agent. However, he will be able to provide the previous owner's contact for me to check on the servicing record. WIthout much doubt, i booked the car on the spot. The next day, i asked for the previous owner's contact but he refused to provide stating that it is not the usual practice. I then asked for the last servicing workshop in order to check the record but he also refuse to co-operate. I called up Tan Chong & confirmed that this car was last serviced in FEB 2008 & the mileage was 32K km. 14mths from DEC06 to FEB08 - 32K km traveled 32mths from MAR08 to NOV10 - 31K km traveled??? With only 1 previous owner, this is a very unusual driving mileage. Therefore i suspect that this car dealer had tempered the odometer. I tried seeking clarification with the sales but he denied everything & was not able to offer any reasonable clarification on this matter. He also refused to allow me to gain access to the owner of the company for further clarification. When I told him what i've found out & intend to bring this matter to the CASE, he eventually, offered to refund the deposit & try to close the case. I decided to take the refund back & share this in the forum. I consider myself lucky to be able to ask more questions & found out about this before taking possession of the car. So, please be aware!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged December 20, 2010 Share December 20, 2010 On 10/31/2010 at 1:04 PM, Rastaman01 said: Anyone knows what can I do. Recently sold my car n was 140k on odo. Recently saw on sale n it was halved. Thought wanna be vigilant n tell but how. Any implications? make a report to TNP... a similar article was published recently Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic6228 6th Gear December 20, 2010 Share December 20, 2010 Pretty common practice among the used cars dealers lah. If buying any re-sale car, best practice will be to call the AD for verifications of the mileage. I was told that even those with digital Odometer can be adjusted as well. One of my friend saw a Honda Civic in the same week with two different dealers and the milage was reduced when he saw the car the second time with the second dealer. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear December 20, 2010 Share December 20, 2010 There is no proof lah. You think the dealer is so stupid meh? You can call up AD to check the last servi e..... The dealer can also call up the AD to check on when the car was last serviced, and tweak the odometers accordingly. If there is no record from AD computer, then the dealer can tweak it to an even lower value. True cheap skate Singaporeans.....most do not go back to AD servicing after the warranty is over. So most time,there is no records!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged December 20, 2010 Share December 20, 2010 On 12/20/2010 at 9:54 AM, SimonTan said: True cheap skate Singaporeans.....most do not go back to AD servicing after the warranty is over. So most time,there is no records!! Cannot say Cheap Skate la. AD do the normal services as per WS but charge a bomb & no personnel touch. WS understand your car like a GP understand his neighbour patients. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dragonl 1st Gear December 20, 2010 Share December 20, 2010 (edited) Too bad in Singapore obd2 diagnosis device not selling here. It is usually found in workshop. With the device, u can read the milage and any fault found in the car. Edited December 20, 2010 by Dragonl Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged December 20, 2010 Share December 20, 2010 On 12/20/2010 at 9:54 AM, SimonTan said: True cheap skate Singaporeans.....most do not go back to AD servicing after the warranty is over. So most time,there is no records!! if thats the case, im one of the cheapskate fellow that u r refering to... after the 1st 2 servicing at BM, i never went back to BM for servicing and i doubt there is any workshop that have the record of my Odo record cos i DIY most of the time. With all the tools needed (even OBD scanner), i dont think AD is doing a better job than myself cos i never rush for my servicing and i always do it with patient n care..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged December 20, 2010 Share December 20, 2010 On 12/20/2010 at 11:06 AM, Dragonl said: Too bad in Singapore obd2 diagnosis device not selling here. It is usually found in workshop. With the device, u can read the milage and any fault found in the car. if im not wrong, he obd scanner is reading the millage from the Odo as well... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Filtered 1st Gear December 20, 2010 Share December 20, 2010 On 12/20/2010 at 12:30 PM, Tigershark1976 said: if im not wrong, he obd scanner is reading the millage from the Odo as well... Nope..it reads the mileage from the ECU. This one quite foolproof, unless you replace the ECU altogether. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged December 20, 2010 Share December 20, 2010 On 12/20/2010 at 5:31 PM, Filtered said: Nope..it reads the mileage from the ECU. This one quite foolproof, unless you replace the ECU altogether. but does ECU record mileage? sorry, im not challenging u, just that im not sure n i dont c any reason y ECU need to record such data.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jonpaul0104 2nd Gear December 21, 2010 Share December 21, 2010 1yr travel 30K km is quite usual......when I work in Tuas & stay in Punggol + detour to AMk, 1 day trip will be about 100km... unless I misread ur post..... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...