Timex1441 1st Gear October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 exactly. I find that increasingly, Singaporeans love to blame the gahment for every little piece of s--t in life. To those who share the sentiments of that young man: Don't know what u r defending anymore? When u see an invading army raping your mother, sister,wife and maybe even brother, u will know instantly what u r defending, what this nation means to you....a place where your family lives and grows,where u grew up with your friends and have all the memories that made up your life, whether for good or bad, better or worse. what memories do most ppl have that they can revisit? my pri n sec sch have both been closed/relocated....wat abt other historical places, like national library, etc? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skunk Clutched October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 That's a rather sweeping statement isn't it? The way I see it, many people are actually contented with just having a comfortable life with their family. yes that's a sweeping statement hehe. I'm not interested in exceptions. everyone has a different contentment level. However, if one is at such a low level, that he has to struggle to compete against FTs, maybe he should just come to the realisation that a "comfortable life" is simply not his to have? Sometimes i really want to laugh. People whining about mere HDB flats and cars and what-not. For goodness sake, it's not even a terrace house, or a luxury car, and above that we still have those in GCB and supercars, yachts and private jets. Whiners really should take a good look at themselves before being quick to blame the environment for their own failures, regardless of whether it's a favourable environment or not. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
questionedfish Clutched October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 (edited) Then comes next in-camp training, he is no longer a officer but a other-rank thats why must salute him many many for his courage Edited October 31, 2010 by Lamzh87 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jasonjst 3rd Gear October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 Not so smart though. He is already complaining about high living expenses and competition. Shouldn't he be worrying about getting a good job with high pay? And now that he spread his 'good name' all over the internet and local news by voicing such thoughts - wouldn't it affect his employment chances somewhat? It's a small country here... Employers - and not just the public sector - don't want employees with such defeatist, 'give-up' attitudes. If he wants to be so 'famous' - at least secure a steady job first lah... Well his thinking is "Selfless" ... he say something like " not to worry about himself , what he is concern are those average Joes " . This are the people that should be in parliament not those "yes" man , right ? If all our MPs and Ministers can only agree and think the same as the PM , might as well we have a one man parliament , can save billions in tax payer $$. If only I am owner a big coporate , I will surely get Mr Lim to be the CEO ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skunk Clutched October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 what memories do most ppl have that they can revisit? my pri n sec sch have both been closed/relocated....wat abt other historical places, like national library, etc? that is something that they have to find within themselves. Too many people love to look for quick answers to life's problems elsewhere, when the answers can be found deep inside them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Timex1441 1st Gear October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 Let's not put our heads in the sand and give the govt a pass on what it did or didn't do. According to a recent newsweek study (august 2010), the best 25 countries in the world are shown below. S'pore always wants to be no. 1 in its port, airport, competitiveness, corruption-free etc. but why doesn't it aspire to be no. 1 country? Another point, S'pore is among the top 10 most expensive cities to live in, but it's only the 20th best country....so u draw ur own conclusion. For me, i feel tat unless u r the elite or super-rich, u r screwed big time. 1. Finland 2. Switzerland 3. Sweden 4. Australia 5. Luxembourg 6. Norway 7. Canada 8. Netherlands 9. Japan 10. Denmark 11. USA 12. Germany 13. New Zealand 14. UK 15. South Korea 16. France 17. Ireland 18. Austria 19. Belgium 20. Singapore 21. Spain 22. Israel 23. Italy 24. Slovenia 25. Czech Republic Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skunk Clutched October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 but according to 2009 PPP/capita, we're 4th highest in the world. Seriously, dollar for dollar, we can buy more things for every dollar earned....with money that goes such a long way, people who have to struggle, really either have bad luck, or have to blame themselves. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Timex1441 1st Gear October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 but according to 2009 PPP/capita, we're 4th highest in the world. Seriously, dollar for dollar, we can buy more things for every dollar earned....with money that goes such a long way, people who have to struggle, really either have bad luck, or have to blame themselves. per capita doesn't translate to equal distribution of the money!!! (just look at our Gini coefficient) sorry to say this, but i just feel tat u r a blind pap supporter. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Observer 4th Gear October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 FT mother and sister not in SG. That's the prob LOL no wonder dang Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skunk Clutched October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 sorry to say this, but i just feel tat u r a blind pap supporter. sure, if it makes u happy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 There is a range of FTs. Not all depress wages, not all bring value and expertise. In the same way, there are those that do bring real expertise to kickstart the major industries for our continued growth. The overall collective effect is what is important. The influx of expertise is one of the reasons why California has one of the most vibrant IT and knowledge industry. Being the education hub is key. Thats' when we have access to attract and retain regional talents. Our neighbours know that, that's why they're always trying to grapple bet Nationalism and pragmatism, swinging bet Eng and native language for their higher edn. We fortunately do not have this delimma. We are also starting to see the 2nd Gen FTs, or new citizens, starting to serve their NS. Over time, they do get integrated. Really?.... I remember about 2 yeras back while back for ICT. In camp, one of the NSF driver/MT line soldier had blond hair and blue eyes... I ask him what nationality he was. His reply. British That's how well 'integrated' things are going :angry: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skunk Clutched October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 Really?.... I remember about 2 yeras back while back for ICT. In camp, one of the NSF driver/MT line soldier had blond hair and blue eyes... I ask him what nationality he was. His reply. British That's how well 'integrated' things are going :angry: some of them are on a sort of "foreign exchange programme" between allied militaries. He might not be a Singaporean. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 Well, one thing that we have to realise is the philosophy is 'Do what is RIGHT, not what is popular' Agree. And the popular decision preferred by the higher 'mortals' who built their $$$ from cheap labour is to continue to advocate that FTs are 'necessary'. The RIGHT decision for that'll benefit the majority of Singaporeans is to realise that cheap foreign labour is not the right way to go. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 (edited) some of them are on a sort of "foreign exchange programme" between allied militaries. He might not be a Singaporean. I don't think so 1. I should think that any foreign exhange should be for more elite troops and not any (few) individual soldier (OCS cadets not withstanding). He was driving us around like a driver of the MT line. 2. Foreign exhange troops should still wear their own uniforms (that's what I remember with troops from Brunei and Australia). He was wearing our new digi-green uniform Edited October 31, 2010 by Scoots Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vextan 1st Gear October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 just another spoilt brat who wishes to have everything easy and has no tenacity in his backbone. pui ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 This prick got no family, no friends, no gf, no relatives in S'pore???? This piece of land you call S'pore and the man you call Papa, the woman you call Mama, the girl you call Sis, the boy you call Brother, the old man you call Grandpa, the old lady you call Grandma... who happen to stay in this piece of land and collectively are called S'porean........... you farking prick.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 Really?.... I remember about 2 yeras back while back for ICT. In camp, one of the NSF driver/MT line soldier had blond hair and blue eyes... I ask him what nationality he was. His reply. British That's how well 'integrated' things are going :angry: I go back ICT, go to draw store from this ang moh NSF CQMS... ask him he from where, he say father mother USA, he born in spore... Bo bian need to serve. Haha. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_tee 2nd Gear October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 (edited) In spore context is ask not what PAP can do for you... ask what you can do for your PAP. I think this should be the appropriate quote for us sporean. i overpaid them unwillingly, they pay me back peanuts (not reffering to 600k peanuts) if i dont recall wrongly, the allowance for MP is 13k on top of wadever u earn in ur day job. take note the median income of sgporean is 2.6k Edited October 31, 2010 by Ah_tee ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...