1fast1 Supersonic November 2, 2010 Share November 2, 2010 Should sinkies get places in university first ? Of course! The damn place was built (and is being run) with our tax dollars. Not the foreigners' - especially when "hard sell" apparently involves giving them free tuition (again, at *our* expense). ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear November 2, 2010 Share November 2, 2010 Not sure, neither can I verify this is happening. Nevertheless, there is no such thing as "good enough" - the level of what is acceptable, or not, changes with the cohort. If the cohort is very, very good - then it sets the bar very high. Maybe the influx of foreigners have pushed the bar higher - this is why there are so many complaints. But I think we always have to be careful about 'reserving' places for locals. Just look at the universities across the causeway for a good example of what happens when places are 'reserved'. It's a short-term, popular strategy but really a 'slippery slope' that is hard to climb out of once you go down this path. If you happen to be able to enter a university on a 'reserved' place - not sure about how you would feel - but I think it's embarrassing if people were to compare the different standards. What I do support, though, are higher fees and longer bond periods for foreigners - maybe this will limit the numbers naturally. But by all means, let them come and raise the standard of competition. I don't think we're unable to compete, from my personal experience. sorry to correct u my friend.... they don't reserve places for all locals across the causeway, they reserve places only for locals of a certain skin colour and religion... regardless of merit... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unfair 3rd Gear November 2, 2010 Share November 2, 2010 Not sure, neither can I verify this is happening. Nevertheless, there is no such thing as "good enough" - the level of what is acceptable, or not, changes with the cohort. If the cohort is very, very good - then it sets the bar very high. Maybe the influx of foreigners have pushed the bar higher - this is why there are so many complaints. But I think we always have to be careful about 'reserving' places for locals. Just look at the universities across the causeway for a good example of what happens when places are 'reserved'. It's a short-term, popular strategy but really a 'slippery slope' that is hard to climb out of once you go down this path. If you happen to be able to enter a university on a 'reserved' place - not sure about how you would feel - but I think it's embarrassing if people were to compare the different standards. What I do support, though, are higher fees and longer bond periods for foreigners - maybe this will limit the numbers naturally. But by all means, let them come and raise the standard of competition. I don't think we're unable to compete, from my personal experience. Dun reserve for those with half fark results. But those with ok results should not be forced to go overseas or take private uni Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ladykillerz 4th Gear November 2, 2010 Share November 2, 2010 This guy who says "I don't know what I'm defending anymore" ought to be shot. You think the world owns you a living, young man? It does not matter if you live in Singapore, Shanghai, India, Vietnam or Africa. The theory is very simple, To Each his Own. To say such words only means one thing to me, YOU ARE NOT COMPETITIVE ENOUGH TO BE LIVING HERE. GO SOMEWHERE LESS COMPETITIVE, YOU CANNOT SURVIVE HERE, MOMMY'S BOY. Just like the thousands of FT, who mostly are Not Competitive enough in their own countries thats why they escape here, only to find that it is equally competitive here. You don't know what you are defending for? Let me tell you, you do not need to defend the FTs, you do not need to defend anyone other than yourself and your immediate family. They are who you are defending for. I totally agreed with SM Goh's respond towards this loser's words. It is really dangerous to have this kind of people. They seriously think the world or the government really owns them a living. Young man, when you were born, NOBODY promised you life will be fair and you will be sleeping in a rose garden. You go and fight for it yourself. bro Hokk7777, i think i will defend that guy if you wanna shoot him. i believe the young man will not think that the world owns him a living and i don't give a sh*t if one lives in Shanghai, India, Vietnam or Africa. That young man is commenting to his govt about his country, nothing more than that. whether or not, one country is competitive, it is not related to his topic. whether thousands of FT escaped from their own countries to SG, its also not to his concern and mine too. as a SAF officer, this young man is right. he is not just defending for himself, neither only defend to his immediate family. we, as SAF officers, are trained to defend our country, our people and most importantly, our men whom fight all the way! nonetheless, i truly respect the young SAF officer who got the courage to stand up for himself and for his people. his people, not just himself, not just his immediate family, not just his brother. i reckon that he is just pointing an example about his brother's real life situation. we do not need to have Albert Einstein's brain to understand where he is coming from. at times, we need to learn how to make a sentence to make things happen, we HOPE. so.. get this right, dude. and... welcome to SG. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged November 2, 2010 Share November 2, 2010 (edited) Just an observation... If one happens to be in one of the universities here, it is easy to see cases where PRC postgraduates and scholars write/speak (in English) as if they had not passed their primary six PSLE English examination. Sometimes really wondered how they get into the university in the first place. Talking so much about meritocracy. *sigh* Edited November 2, 2010 by Albeniz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Songsong 1st Gear November 2, 2010 Share November 2, 2010 bro Hokk7777, i think i will defend that guy if you wanna shoot him. i believe the young man will not think that the world owns him a living and i don't give a sh*t if one lives in Shanghai, India, Vietnam or Africa. That young man is commenting to his govt about his country, nothing more than that. whether or not, one country is competitive, it is not related to his topic. whether thousands of FT escaped from their own countries to SG, its also not to his concern and mine too. as a SAF officer, this young man is right. he is not just defending for himself, neither only defend to his immediate family. we, as SAF officers, are trained to defend our country, our people and most importantly, our men whom fight all the way! nonetheless, i truly respect the young SAF officer who got the courage to stand up for himself and for his people. his people, not just himself, not just his immediate family, not just his brother. i reckon that he is just pointing an example about his brother's real life situation. we do not need to have Albert Einstein's brain to understand where he is coming from. at times, we need to learn how to make a sentence to make things happen, we HOPE. so.. get this right, dude. and... welcome to SG. I support this guy and you too. Althought i am 34 this year i feel for him and his peers Dun for get his a time of great uncertainty, uneven income and housing cost. Inflation, and really this country is full of foreigners now. We get plp playing pingpong for us that doesn't really do good for SG or the world. If they get someone who find a cure for aids or cancer i would love the FT till death. How many FTs really perform beyond our expectations. And for wat we get plp playing pingpong or soccer for us? why? if we sucks at pingpong or soccer so be it. They are letting everybody come here on this very land where my grandparents and my parents had sweat and bleed. Working so hard to build this place as it is. Then we have to go for NS then 10 years of inconvenient reservist. This guy, a son of Singapore got every freaking right to feel this way and make his statement. I dont see him as a loser. He got the balls to VOICE his thoughs, this is how americans can be a superpower. Giving freedom, letting young minds flow, get them to question about everything. That is why every great thing comes from the west since decades ago. MTV Windows (if you haTE THAT YOU GOT Apple) You hate apple you got andriod facebook plane you fly on from boeing or airbus youtube...........on and on...............................on and on and on............. ... every freaking thing you use in your home comes from the west Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Songsong 1st Gear November 2, 2010 Share November 2, 2010 Share some thing with you all. My HDB flats is rented out to an Indian FT. Who is here with his wife. He claim he got his PR, come this dec end his tenancy ends. So he called me last friday to discuss on tenancy agreement. I asked him when he getting flat on his own. He said he cant afford now but will get one hdb later. He then asked me if he get a flat can he rent it out like me. I asked him he got place in india he replied under parents name. I told him now got HDB rule that can not own property oversea if buying HDB. He said nevermind it is in his parents name and will be under sis name. Then i saw my house got many clothes on sofa and very messy. i asked him if he when for holiday. This is his reply:"WE WENT HOME". I then tell him politely to vacant my housing by 31 dec, i told him i am coming home to stay. Got once he asked me if i got a job for his wife. I just kept quiet but was thinking about those plp whos job was taken by them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coder Clutched November 2, 2010 Share November 2, 2010 Its not about "reserving" places for unqualified locals, its AGAINST reserving places for foreigners at the expense of qualified locals. What Malaysia does is totally different and out of context. Its a fact that countless perfectly good locals are forced to give up or go overseas for their studies... at great expense. While we see foreigners given free slots in our Unis at our taxpayers expense. By all means give some places to foreigners, is it necessary to give sooo many? Surely it makes more sense to develope more of our deserving own rather than give free training to people we all know wont stay, its a failed policy. you mis-mentioned something. there are something worst then reserving, FT are paying a lot lesser then us in NUS. MOE went China hard sell and FT are paid by MOE (but we paid MOE!). how many of us enjoy these kind of welfare? we spent 2.5 year of national service get $200++/month. FT work 3 years getting $2k++. why we citizen live here like 2nd class? FT live like 1st class? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear November 2, 2010 Share November 2, 2010 how do u even feel to know now they reject ur application but went to china and HARD SELL this post to them, all expenses paid for.... When something is good, there is not a need to hard sell. This show how "good" we were. N ironically many sporean r not entitle to study in such a "good" uni, instead need to lure and hard sell these post to foreign students. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yattokame 4th Gear November 2, 2010 Share November 2, 2010 (edited) Thats the main reason the strawberry soft generation is lamenting. They wanna be wealthy but they feel the road is too hard and many prizes like housng are getting out of reach. well said; same as what i observe. some even tell me they shouldnt be blamed ; for they are brought up in good times and thus find no drive to achieve via the tough road. Edited November 2, 2010 by Yattokame Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiario 5th Gear November 3, 2010 Share November 3, 2010 This is his reply:"WE WENT HOME". not surprising, my china converted to singaporean citizen neighbour cheer for china loudly during the china vs singapore olympic gold medal match. but i can totally understand their feelings as china is the place they grow up in, so the emotional attachment will always be there, just like i will always support singapore soccer no matter how sucks they are. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kkttt 1st Gear November 3, 2010 Share November 3, 2010 To those accusing the young lad for being a strawberry and thinking that the whole world owns owes him a living, think again. I'm in my 30s, and I'm also worrying about my future. With the influx of cheaper FTs, our wages are driven down and as you approach your 40s, you're a shining target board for firing. With kids in tow and escalating costs of living, I'm still cracking my head on how to keep afloat, and I know I'm not the only one having this worry. And someone is asking why we don't reproduce enough. Of course, let's cut the crap about construction workers, you were talking to a bunch of uni students. You might be free from these worries if you're doing really well and have high hopes for the future here, but I'm already picturing myself 10 yrs down the road fighting for a table cleaner job with some pei du ma ma. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator November 3, 2010 Share November 3, 2010 HAVE YOUR SAY: 95% of students say they are proud to be Singaporean Education Minister Ng Eng Hen upbeat about local youth's sense of belonging The Education Minister and Second Minister for Defence, Ng Eng Hen said he is upbeat about Singapore youth and their sense of belonging to their country. He said two National Education surveys on students conducted in 2008 and 2010 showed that over 95 per cent were proud to be Singaporeans. Similar surveys on National Servicemen have also consistently shown that a majority feel they belong here and would defend Singapore should it come under threat. Speaking at the 2nd Connexion Seminar on Tuesday, Dr Ng said new media has played a major role in this sense of increased participation among the young. At the seminar, National Education practitioners received the thumbs up for using new media better to engage Singaporeans. Dr Ng, who was the Guest -- of -- Honour at the event, said: "I told practitioners that from time to time, when there are criticisms and negative sentiments, not to be discouraged, that questioning is a natural process. "But thankfully, I think we're quite happy that surveys show that there's a great sense of belonging. And I think that our young are optimistic and we have built something precious, and something which Singaporeans are willing to defend." Dr Ng said this should encourage Singapore to continue finding innovative ways to directly engage students. National Education, which covers Singapore's history as well as issues of social and national concern, do this through the prowess of technology. For instance, to find out more about certain heritage sites, take a picture with a smartphone and an image -- matching system will furnish you information. COL (Ret) Png Bee Hin is the CEO of Leadership Development Resources, which developed an application that allows students to learn about National Education through handheld devices. He said: "We've always wanted to reach out to young people, and we realise that using the tour guide concept didn't quite work. The best way to engage them is using self -- directed and collaborative learning. And that's why we use the power of GPS and image recognition technology to engage them." For the Ministry of Defence (MINDEF), its YouTube channel -- cyberpioneerTV -- has garnered more than two million cumulative views since it was launched nearly two years ago. Clara Tan, who is the Covering Head of the Internal Media Department at MINDEF said: "People are commenting on the channel, they're telling us that they enjoy 'Every Singaporean Son', they're sharing their National Service experiences through cyberpioneerTV through the 'Every Singaporean Son' episodes we're putting up. "Basically what we're doing is creating a platform for the public to interact with us and to be part of this content creation process. And in this process, they will learn more about defence." Youth and NSman has yet to experience the real adult world...... how true can this survey be? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearoil 1st Gear November 3, 2010 Share November 3, 2010 To those accusing the young lad for being a strawberry and thinking that the whole world owns owes him a living, think again. I'm in my 30s, and I'm also worrying about my future. With the influx of cheaper FTs, our wages are driven down and as you approach your 40s, you're a shining target board for firing. With kids in tow and escalating costs of living, I'm still cracking my head on how to keep afloat, and I know I'm not the only one having this worry. And someone is asking why we don't reproduce enough. Of course, let's cut the crap about construction workers, you were talking to a bunch of uni students. You might be free from these worries if you're doing really well and have high hopes for the future here, but I'm already picturing myself 10 yrs down the road fighting for a table cleaner job with some pei du ma ma. Let me lend a hand and put it in perspective for you... You 30+ year old is it? First you must know the MIWs dont't give a fcuk or fark or whatever to you... Which of course, by now you already have found out. Next, I gather you no Elite or Elite connections or golden spoon type.. Which leaves me with only one conclusion about your 10 years or more, down the road scenario... Probably still complaining, slogging it out like the rest of the forumers here, will not be getting any of your CPF when you turn 68 or even later and living in a damn expensive pigeon hole, which you had used up more than 70% of your life's time money to service, leaving a small fund left just to live day by day. And more thing, you won't even get that table cleaner's job when you so needed it when you are out and old! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearoil 1st Gear November 3, 2010 Share November 3, 2010 HAVE YOUR SAY: 95% of students say they are proud to be Singaporean Education Minister Ng Eng Hen upbeat about local youth's sense of belonging The Education Minister and Second Minister for Defence, Ng Eng Hen said he is upbeat about Singapore youth and their sense of belonging to their country. He said two National Education surveys on students conducted in 2008 and 2010 showed that over 95 per cent were proud to be Singaporeans. Similar surveys on National Servicemen have also consistently shown that a majority feel they belong here and would defend Singapore should it come under threat. Speaking at the 2nd Connexion Seminar on Tuesday, Dr Ng said new media has played a major role in this sense of increased participation among the young. At the seminar, National Education practitioners received the thumbs up for using new media better to engage Singaporeans. Dr Ng, who was the Guest -- of -- Honour at the event, said: "I told practitioners that from time to time, when there are criticisms and negative sentiments, not to be discouraged, that questioning is a natural process. "But thankfully, I think we're quite happy that surveys show that there's a great sense of belonging. And I think that our young are optimistic and we have built something precious, and something which Singaporeans are willing to defend." Dr Ng said this should encourage Singapore to continue finding innovative ways to directly engage students. National Education, which covers Singapore's history as well as issues of social and national concern, do this through the prowess of technology. For instance, to find out more about certain heritage sites, take a picture with a smartphone and an image -- matching system will furnish you information. COL (Ret) Png Bee Hin is the CEO of Leadership Development Resources, which developed an application that allows students to learn about National Education through handheld devices. He said: "We've always wanted to reach out to young people, and we realise that using the tour guide concept didn't quite work. The best way to engage them is using self -- directed and collaborative learning. And that's why we use the power of GPS and image recognition technology to engage them." For the Ministry of Defence (MINDEF), its YouTube channel -- cyberpioneerTV -- has garnered more than two million cumulative views since it was launched nearly two years ago. Clara Tan, who is the Covering Head of the Internal Media Department at MINDEF said: "People are commenting on the channel, they're telling us that they enjoy 'Every Singaporean Son', they're sharing their National Service experiences through cyberpioneerTV through the 'Every Singaporean Son' episodes we're putting up. "Basically what we're doing is creating a platform for the public to interact with us and to be part of this content creation process. And in this process, they will learn more about defence." Youth and NSman has yet to experience the real adult world...... how true can this survey be? It is a trend. Whenever anything was put out than places the authority in a negative light, which is jolly well true like a jolly hangman. The Press will quickly spin to say otherwise. See how long this will play out. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pokyman 1st Gear November 3, 2010 Share November 3, 2010 This i agree... Apart from being an elite or rich bast@rd, then i think most of us average singaporeans are screwed big time ... That is comforting. . . I guess i will either have to work part time now or learn how to invest in the market ... hmm Anyone regret marrying for love when you could have married that not too bad looking rich chick instead? haha ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearoil 1st Gear November 3, 2010 Share November 3, 2010 This i agree... Apart from being an elite or rich bast@rd, then i think most of us average singaporeans are screwed big time ... That is comforting. . . I guess i will either have to work part time now or learn how to invest in the market ... hmm Anyone regret marrying for love when you could have married that not too bad looking rich chick instead? haha ... Let me correct you. Money is NOT everything. Wanting to steer your life in the driection where money is....is going to land you in a diasater, somehow.... Which leaves you in a confused state. The question in almsot everyone's mind. How is one going to get out of this rut and yet not leave the rut ( for the good things that one can get out of the rut) and yet be out of the range of the bad effects, that all the negative things that the rut have? Buy a Sentosa Cove bungalow and chill out! But I said money is not everything hor! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kkttt 1st Gear November 3, 2010 Share November 3, 2010 Let me lend a hand and put it in perspective for you... You 30+ year old is it? First you must know the MIWs dont't give a fcuk or fark or whatever to you... Which of course, by now you already have found out. Next, I gather you no Elite or Elite connections or golden spoon type.. Which leaves me with only one conclusion about your 10 years or more, down the road scenario... Probably still complaining, slogging it out like the rest of the forumers here, will not be getting any of your CPF when you turn 68 or even later and living in a damn expensive pigeon hole, which you had used up more than 70% of your life's time money to service, leaving a small fund left just to live day by day. And more thing, you won't even get that table cleaner's job when you so needed it when you are out and old! I wish I can refute you, but damn, you're right! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...