Pokyman 1st Gear November 1, 2010 Share November 1, 2010 You a FT? Why so aggressive? He did not say he cannot defend himself. Read again, he said not to worry about him, but others who have the same sentiments as him. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jasonjst 3rd Gear November 1, 2010 Share November 1, 2010 You a FT? Why so aggressive? He did not say he cannot defend himself. Read again, he said not to worry about him, but others who have the same sentiments as him. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Requiemdk 1st Gear November 1, 2010 Share November 1, 2010 Another line for thought that's often heard in education circles: The world belongs to neither me nor you nor any of the other workers toiling away today but to our children who will inherit the fruits of our efforts. Don't f**k it up. Ok that last bit was by me For all that talk about the young not being competitive and jumping on stupid bandwagons by labeling them the strawberry generation (I'm sure our fathers had similar labels for our time too), look at what the current generation in the workforce and government has done to the price of housing and the job market here in our country. Our kids will grow up in this environment, moulded by the same mindset that "nobody owes anybody a living and if you fall by the wayside, you just weren't competitive enough, too bad" and one day, one fine day when we're all old and too frail to contribute significantly to the economy anymore, I wouldn't blame them if they decided to ship the whole lot of post-50 workers off to some island to die for the very same reason. Because we won't be competitive enough anymore and there isn't enough space left in this country for people like that. Can we still call this a country then? A home? Do parents berate their kids for not being competitive enough just because they weren't able to secure a string of straight As, cure cancer by the age of 18 and secure a scholarship and a place in MIT? And what will these parents think if these kids imbued with the same mindset then unceremoniously throw them out of the house into a retirement home in JB in future? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Speedz76 2nd Gear November 1, 2010 Share November 1, 2010 (edited) exactly , why you guys want to shoot him down ? He is speaking for his country men at his own expense of being marginalised by the powerfull ! nothing wrong with LIM's words.. in fact.. i salute him for his balls! Cleverly using questions to answer back questions.. trademarks of successful politicians irregardless which side you are on.. " Edited November 1, 2010 by Speedz76 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf5725 1st Gear November 1, 2010 Share November 1, 2010 You a FT? Why so aggressive? He did not say he cannot defend himself. Read again, he said not to worry about him, but others who have the same sentiments as him. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vroomtattat 2nd Gear November 1, 2010 Share November 1, 2010 Lao goh boh ee pian Lao sai buay hoo terng khor . . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ladykillerz 4th Gear November 1, 2010 Share November 1, 2010 100% agreed!!! i have this thinking 20 years ago! when i apply for NUS degree course. saw so many PRC student there, but NUS rejected my application 3 times!!! (my female classmate with same result can get in after 1 reject!) only recently, got to know from wife, her PRC colleague husband and wife only paid 10% tution fee in NUS. they are selected by MXE in China (Yes, Singapore send people there to pick up FT!). they only need to stay here work for 3 years and can go back. Wahhhhh lao.. you remind me. last time i applied also and kena rejected. only my 3rd application then kena but i REJECTED them and fly oversea study. =P come to think of it... really Dxx Lxx... >;-( Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vroomtattat 2nd Gear November 1, 2010 Share November 1, 2010 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeo01 Neutral Newbie November 1, 2010 Share November 1, 2010 This guy who says "I don't know what I'm defending anymore" ought to be shot. You think the world owns you a living, young man? It does not matter if you live in Singapore, Shanghai, India, Vietnam or Africa. The theory is very simple, To Each his Own. To say such words only means one thing to me, YOU ARE NOT COMPETITIVE ENOUGH TO BE LIVING HERE. GO SOMEWHERE LESS COMPETITIVE, YOU CANNOT SURVIVE HERE, MOMMY'S BOY. Just like the thousands of FT, who mostly are Not Competitive enough in their own countries thats why they escape here, only to find that it is equally competitive here. You don't know what you are defending for? Let me tell you, you do not need to defend the FTs, you do not need to defend anyone other than yourself and your immediate family. They are who you are defending for. I totally agreed with SM Goh's respond towards this loser's words. It is really dangerous to have this kind of people. They seriously think the world or the government really owns them a living. Young man, when you were born, NOBODY promised you life will be fair and you will be sleeping in a rose garden. You go and fight for it yourself. He never asked the govt to give him a living. He merely asked about fellow singaporeans identity since FTs are overtaking us in terms of population. Anyway i salute this brave son of singapore. This is one man i would go arm in arm if ever needed in a war. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_tee 2nd Gear November 1, 2010 Share November 1, 2010 You wanna know what I think? It don't really matter what I think. Once that first bullet goes past your head, politics and all that stuff, just goes right out the window. u watch too much black hawk down my favourite all time show Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_tee 2nd Gear November 1, 2010 Share November 1, 2010 Wahhhhh lao.. you remind me. last time i applied also and kena rejected. only my 3rd application then kena but i REJECTED them and fly oversea study. =P come to think of it... really Dxx Lxx... >;-( how do u even feel to know now they reject ur application but went to china and HARD SELL this post to them, all expenses paid for.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skunk Clutched November 1, 2010 Share November 1, 2010 I agree with u. We and our children shall inherit n own this very land we call our home. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_tee 2nd Gear November 1, 2010 Share November 1, 2010 after readin thru all the posts abt winning seats, i jus want to say its not abt winning seats, elect or no elect, we know the results its pappy will still win the majority, i can definitely say based on paper calibre the pappy wins the oppo hands down, but lookin at the situation now, we will need some suppressing votes to let them know things are not going right no doubt i admit lee regime is effective during the developing period but we are moving to a different era, you cannot jus run a country whereby u jus do everything based on stats like u r running a factory. those who serve ns should know the situation within the civil sector, he who holds the rank talks the loudest and the rest for surivial and prosperity jus clap their hands in agreement even though they disagree, jus ask urself wad if the pro-votes drops below sub-50% compare to 66% moons ago will they wake up their idea ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dpsk Neutral Newbie November 1, 2010 Share November 1, 2010 i got a feeling if there is any <50% drop, then the matrix will be rob one last time and sink into the sea after their last heist. those who are left behind will have civil unrest before a new order is borned. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear November 1, 2010 Share November 1, 2010 There is a limited amount of housing in Singapore. Whether its a landed property or a HDB flat. When you have FT clowns buying up landed/flats or renting these properties, the prices overall shoot up as they are very willing to pay. So rubbish talk about FTs not competing with us for housing. These FTs are smart, they snap up property here, they themselves will occupy 1 room and rent out the other rooms to other FTs. For solving this housing problem, MBT should consider u-turning back to the system he had abandoned. Start building more flats immediately to clear the shortage and invite people to select them instead of using BTO launches. With the housing demands now, it clearly shows that the BTO is not reactlve enough. In 2003, several BTOs were scrapped due to poor takeup rate. Scrapping a BTO means more people in the pool waiting and this number accumulates. If using the old system, HDB builds no matter what the demand is, there'll be excess flats around (yes, HDB deems these as making a loss, but years later, they sell these vacant flats at a higher price than the initial offering). People in need of cheap housing immediately can turn to these excess flats. Now, just keep on waiting, the queue gets longer. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged November 1, 2010 Share November 1, 2010 1. GCT is clueless and always say the wrong things. foot in his mouth. the most stupid part is: "Then I would ask myself: What am I doing here? Why should I be working for people who don Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dpsk Neutral Newbie November 1, 2010 Share November 1, 2010 i though his daughters are all in england? aint they quitters too? anyway, he made so much $ already in his swiss bank account that i doubt he really bother what goes on around. if you are in his shoe, will you bother? or cant wait to go to your secret country or island to enjoy your life? who knows, maybe even converted all the singapore dollars to other currency liao if matrix will sink. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vextan 1st Gear November 1, 2010 Share November 1, 2010 This guy who says "I don't know what I'm defending anymore" ought to be shot. You think the world owns you a living, young man? It does not matter if you live in Singapore, Shanghai, India, Vietnam or Africa. The theory is very simple, To Each his Own. To say such words only means one thing to me, YOU ARE NOT COMPETITIVE ENOUGH TO BE LIVING HERE. GO SOMEWHERE LESS COMPETITIVE, YOU CANNOT SURVIVE HERE, MOMMY'S BOY. Just like the thousands of FT, who mostly are Not Competitive enough in their own countries thats why they escape here, only to find that it is equally competitive here. You don't know what you are defending for? Let me tell you, you do not need to defend the FTs, you do not need to defend anyone other than yourself and your immediate family. They are who you are defending for. I totally agreed with SM Goh's respond towards this loser's words. It is really dangerous to have this kind of people. They seriously think the world or the government really owns them a living. Young man, when you were born, NOBODY promised you life will be fair and you will be sleeping in a rose garden. You go and fight for it yourself. absolutely well said !! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...