Kelpie 2nd Gear October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 i second that. i see them as being politicians. people who have a livelihood too. Ordinary folks like you and me, assuming we aren't scions of some bigwig, what do you think will happen to us when we make a grave mistake at our workplace? If we are lucky, maybe a tick off or a LOW. However, in a situation when we result in some irreparable damage on our employers, i think we know in our heart that our days are numbered. This is mutually understood. I don't see why they should be given the right to label things as being merely honest mistakes and scoot away unscathed. If you make a mistake, you pay the price. This is the way the rules here have shaped up here and i don't see why they should be in any case, immune from this. They will tell you we don't have enough talents around us. Regards, ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 During the war, the rich were able to escape to India. When the war was over they came back to reclaim their property. The rest had to endure the Occupation years. In today's context, the FTs will be back in their own country faster than a blink of the eye. And will prob have to defend their safe passage out. Exactly what I said previously in another thread that FT will be one of the first to run when war reaches our shore. Their respective embassey will get them out. Someone there totally disagree with me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
XALmoN Neutral Newbie October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 They will tell you we don't have enough talents around us. Regards, I will happily step up. I'm definitely better than senile oldies. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 Take Mr. Lim for a ride in a RSAF helicopter for a tour around the island to see what is he defending. If he still does not know, he can exit the helicopter straight away. BTW, the helicopter is pilot by a foreign student who is now a SC. I too have doubts what I am defending. Just take those petrol cartels here for example. Do we protect their assets here for them to milk us time and again? Look at the hugh profits these cartels made in the recent announcements. And the land or our own assets we so called are defending. When the aggressor takes over, we'll still be living in our pigeon holes unless it's destroyed. We won't be living in the streets. During WW2, other than damaged buildings, people are still staying in their own homes. The only difference is a new ruler. Our armed forces are better off saying they are defending the gov. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 I too have doubts what I am defending. Just take those petrol cartels here for example. Do we protect their assets here for them to milk us time and again? Look at the hugh profits these cartels made in the recent announcements. And the land or our own assets we so called are defending. When the aggressor takes over, we'll still be living in our pigeon holes unless it's destroyed. We won't be living in the streets. During WW2, other than damaged buildings, people are still staying in their own homes. The only difference is a new ruler. Our armed forces are better off saying they are defending the gov. erm...last time we used to say that these are the jobs providers so by protecting their infrastructures, we are protecting our rice bowls. If the entire place has more and more % of foreign talents, so what are we going to say say next? These Fts are here to create more jobs for our people or are taking away the rice bowls? Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 I will happily step up. I'm definitely better than senile oldies. You do one year can retire liao . Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
XALmoN Neutral Newbie October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 You do one year can retire liao . Regards, hm, then your turn lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icedbs Turbocharged October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 hm, then your turn lor. No lah, I no scholar and Politics is not my cup of tea . I like being simple and be contended (not being complacent). Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 Yes, we do need foreign WORKERS in large quantity to build our infrastructures, there's no denial to that since it's a fact that s'poreans shun these jobs. How about the other jobs on professional levels? Do we really need this large influx? If we need them to progress further, it means something is very wrong with our education system. Year after year, newspapers reported xxx number of people with straight `A's in the national exams. So what happened to these people? And also the scholars? Why these people ain't able to make another "Silicon Valley" here? And are the large influx of so called FTs here really talents? Let's seperate the foreign workers and professionals, aka talents into 2 groups. Take a look at Chartered Semicon, everyone here used to talk about the hugh losses it made every quarter before being finally sold off. This company is well known to have a very, very large number of FTs working inside from the operator right up to the management level. If these FTs have what it takes, why is it that in the last decade, it's technology edge is 2-3 generations lagging behind the Taiwanese competitors? Shouldn't these talents propel the company ahead of the Taiwanese instead? No use pushing the blame to the management as the R&D engineers who are all FTs (not true blue s'poreans) should have what it takes to develop and come out with the technologies. Why in the end they need to join the alliance with IBM to close the technology gap? TSMC is still the industry leader when it is not even in the fab alliance. It's time to consider how much these FTs are contributing at all. Are we conveniently using FTs to solve our problem? In my earlier post, most of these people came here to study and work after that. These people gained experience and knowledge here and bring all these back home to jump start their home industries. We are losing our competitive edge. Look at it, PRC does have their own wafer fabs and they are able to produce at a much lower cost. They do not need to spend much on R&D or time coming up with new ideas or troubleshooting as their engineers who had worked here brings back all they know. We are doing ourselves more harm than good by having so many FTs from there. When the day PRC is able to clean up it's act on IP, it'll spell the end for our sunsetting wafer fab industry. If we mass import cleaners, construction workers and such, we do not lose much since these are low tech stuffs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dunno Neutral Newbie October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 Then I would ask myself: What am I doing here? Why should I be working for people who don Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iisterry 3rd Gear October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 (edited) For the Singapore Inc model, it does not matter who they are. For every "FT" that arrives, it boosts our GDP per capita. Simple reason being that the newcomers are free from local dependents. It works for them too, they can scrimp, save and remit their pay back home while taking into account the lower income requirements in their native land. For the "citizens", some of them are still required in order to show some semblance of a "democratic city/country". Once the digit... er... citizen is no longer productive, they are encouraged to take up residency across the border in order to have a better retirement instead of drawing upon precious national resources. Every five years or so, the Company engages in a "democratic process" in which the new Board of Directors... er... Parliament is formed. By creating a large pool of cheap and easily available labour, it is hoped that MNCs will set up shop here and boost the GDP to even higher numbers. Occupants... er... employees... er... citizens are transitionary. -A Minority Shareholder of Singapore Inc. Edited October 31, 2010 by Iisterry Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
XALmoN Neutral Newbie October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 No lah, I no scholar and Politics is not my cup of tea . I like being simple and be contended (not being complacent). Regards, That is what a politician should be, not a scholar, and a man from the ground. But, politics, isn't really my cup of tea either, but if opportunity presents itself, =D Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 Uni student such simple logic also dunno. No wonder his brother also another blur fellow.....call off engagement because HDB too expensive. Officer Lim trying to sideline abit here i guess ..... trying to tell ppl that his brother getting married to buy house and not for love. so since cannot buy house, then no need to get married liow lor .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 Would have bought that if his pay package is not $3mil a year. not replying to you personally, but this is an neutral open challenge. rather than complain abt what we dun like abt the govt, why not get into the action and do something abt it ? the $2 or 3 mil is there for the taking - but only for those who have the steel to take it. its always easier to complain abt others. only thing we can grumble is abt mother nature's wrath, coz there's nothing anyone can do abt it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 Actually this is what I USED to think that the FT policy is good and helps to make us competitive. But recently I feel it has REALLY gotten out of hand. If you look at the MILLIONS that our government pump into R&D every year and did you take a look at ASTAR? It is crazy. I can barely find a singaporean in the research institutes. I understand that you need the REALLY good foreign talent to bring up the high tech industries but to the extent that 90% of them are not singaporeans? The culture is very bad as the managers are FT and create their own circles. The korean boss will have korean subordinates, the china ones will get china ones and the indians will get indians. In the end nobody hire singaporeans and singaporean don't like to work in a place filled with Chinamen and Indians. BTW, I AGREE that if we rely on singaporeans, we totally cannot make it. The point is how MUCH FT. When a workplace has like 90% FT, I think there is REALLY something wrong. That should not be the way our policies are heading. i guess when you made it thru the local uni and you realise that farking chinamen and ah nehs out number the locals and that they're studying at our tax payer's expenses without any gratitude whatsoever i think we all have a right to hate them Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 i am a singaporean that can never get to vote. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...