Thargor 1st Gear October 28, 2010 Author Share October 28, 2010 call you limpeh la hahaha....I will tell them if I lucky, i should have a son/daughter as old as them. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear October 28, 2010 Share October 28, 2010 tat one too fierce..nothing to say liao..champion Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator October 28, 2010 Share October 28, 2010 tat one too fierce..nothing to say liao..champion everyone knows lah...do google still arnd nia.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear October 28, 2010 Share October 28, 2010 tats poly or sec? i tot is sec school? or both also got?LOL hiong sia Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mdfaz 2nd Gear October 28, 2010 Share October 28, 2010 (edited) Thanks bro....any idea hows the freelance arrangement like? I have 2 friends working there, one part-time and the other full-time. For part -time, you only come in for 3 days per week only and you paid daily-rated. If you got masters, higher i guess. you can go to their website and have a look. the part-time positions are called academic associates. They are hiring quite a bit. I do agree with you.. I'd look at teaching part-time at poly when i'm older. The kids are generally expected to be more independent than their counterparts in JCs and hence, easier to handle. There's no academic stress if they don't perform as it's entirely up to them. Edited October 28, 2010 by Mdfaz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mdfaz 2nd Gear October 28, 2010 Share October 28, 2010 I am quite cool with that. I believe in speaking to the young as equals....they are merely younger and less experienced, not that i am more superior. They can call me by name anytime. But for me...I address those older by at least a decade as Sir. haha.. for me, it's my own personal values lar.. i will still call my lecturer/teacher by Sir, Mr or Mdm. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dpsk Neutral Newbie October 28, 2010 Share October 28, 2010 TS did you consider start a company and turn your skill into a business when you been there done that? it is definitely more profitable to lecturing. i did lecturing for a token sum for a while as industry leader. to be honest, the strawberry generations these day CANNOT MAKE IT. but my aspect of work can provide consultancy and directorship, if you can tune the sales pitch towards this area, it can be very rewarding than lecturing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator October 28, 2010 Share October 28, 2010 knn...i hear some poly even have affair w stoolen...wa lau speaking from experience Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator October 28, 2010 Share October 28, 2010 speaking from experience yeah, I the stoolen Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thargor 1st Gear October 28, 2010 Author Share October 28, 2010 TS did you consider start a company and turn your skill into a business when you been there done that? it is definitely more profitable to lecturing. i did lecturing for a token sum for a while as industry leader. to be honest, the strawberry generations these day CANNOT MAKE IT. but my aspect of work can provide consultancy and directorship, if you can tune the sales pitch towards this area, it can be very rewarding than lecturing. I did corporate coaching before... I am risk averse and i cant afford to start up my own company. Plus, I really dislike canvassing for sales. I am not the sales job type. hehe me not a highflyer like you....just a poor people hoping to make a living and still find it rewarding... You wanna hire me ma? LOL Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dpsk Neutral Newbie October 28, 2010 Share October 28, 2010 done like that say mah. everything got a beginning. once you step in 1 feet, everything will work liao. if cannot work also must make it work. regarding coaching, it is saturated market lah. must have certain tune to it now. some are real clowns who need coaching themselves. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dpsk Neutral Newbie October 28, 2010 Share October 28, 2010 how old are you and what package you expecting from lecturing partime in poly? seriously not worth it in my opinion. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thargor 1st Gear October 28, 2010 Author Share October 28, 2010 how old are you and what package you expecting from lecturing partime in poly? seriously not worth it in my opinion. Just exploring lah...me old enough to have a 14 yr old daughter/son (my daughter is 8 months +). Hehe...and actually a few hundreds extra a month is good enough...for my own pocket money. Most of my salary goes back to the family. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Akazhun Neutral Newbie October 28, 2010 Share October 28, 2010 What are the benefits/disadvantages of full time versus part-time poly lecturer ??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearoil 1st Gear October 28, 2010 Share October 28, 2010 Even PHD holder need to drive taxi leh... I certainly earn more than you, but I also have more expenses than you. I assume you are single and still staying at your parents' place. So if I can get a freelance lecturing position that can satisfy my passion for knowledge sharing and put more food on table and more toys for my daughter...why not? tsk...tsk....So much assumption....especially the part about me.. jump to the conclusion straight away about earning 'more' than me..... Maybe that is why you also fail in life... ...can't orgainise your spending habits and prioritise.... Thinking that you have achieved this cert and that cert ..you will have all the money flowing in... I give you a 'life worthy' hint....cos you are in MCF... In SinkLand ...tiolet paper qualifications means nothing.... You can try working your way up in life but that seems like a chance in a BILLION for many..... Since you obviously have NO golden spoon in your mouth or is 'associated personally' with an Elite circle....... the chance of better food or more ex- toys for your daughter is damn remote...I mean toy like buying your daughter her own condo! As a friendly gesture of my good will...I can even tell you... Ph.Ds are plenty full and many are not gainfully employed....as of now. But I guess you already know that from a taxi driver's point of view! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thargor 1st Gear October 28, 2010 Author Share October 28, 2010 tsk...tsk....So much assumption....especially the part about me.. jump to the conclusion straight away about earning 'more' than me..... Maybe that is why you also fail in life... ...can't orgainise your spending habits and prioritise.... Thinking that you have achieved this cert and that cert ..you will have all the money flowing in... I give you a 'life worthy' hint....cos you are in MCF... In SinkLand ...tiolet paper qualifications means nothing.... You can try working your way up in life but that seems like a chance in a BILLION for many..... Since you obviously have NO golden spoon in your mouth or is 'associated personally' with an Elite circle....... the chance of better food or more ex- toys for your daughter is damn remote...I mean toy like buying your daughter her own condo! As a friendly gesture of my good will...I can even tell you... Ph.Ds are plenty full and many are not gainfully employed....as of now. But I guess you already know that from a taxi driver's point of view! I will not respond to a loser. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
C-K 2nd Gear October 28, 2010 Share October 28, 2010 Full-time lecturers have to do all the non-academic sh1t like school promotion, module registration, liaise with industry, etc, while part-time lecturers don't. All parttime lecturers do is teach and mark paper/assignments. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vextan 1st Gear October 28, 2010 Share October 28, 2010 and for each paper you mark, $5. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...