Zyrofillica 1st Gear October 28, 2010 Share October 28, 2010 (edited) i saw gov.sg job site got lecturer positions open, but didnt see any subject that you could teach with your specialization. perhaps u can enquire with them to see if they could use your expertise in any way. u shd add this expertise to your list too, 1. Marketing Campaign Performance/KPI Scorecard/Tracking 2. Marketing data analytics 3. Marketing leads management 4. Database analytics 5. How a BOY becomes a MAN Edited October 28, 2010 by Zyrofillica ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hosaybo 6th Gear October 28, 2010 Share October 28, 2010 Think you can try rp poly as a academic associate..... Part time and commitment is once a week. They pay about 250 to 350 a day according to their website. Can apply online. But normally, it is easier when you know people inside who knows the lobang. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged October 28, 2010 Share October 28, 2010 Be careful what you wish for... By the way, have you met some young people nowadays? I think you have a rather rose-tinted view of them, anyway or his wish is to xian XMMs... [laugh] on a serious note..i have considered poly lecturer as a full time career..but understand now that you need min MSc for them to even consider you..that is on top of whatever experience you have..note that this is for full time... part time i'm not so sure liao.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vextan 1st Gear October 28, 2010 Share October 28, 2010 (edited) edited Edited October 28, 2010 by Vextan Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dpsk Neutral Newbie October 28, 2010 Share October 28, 2010 ya man. tell TS liao. lecturer not worth it one. 1. students these days really CMI 2. as above vextan said also true Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Observer 4th Gear October 28, 2010 Share October 28, 2010 if u think students cmi, then should not even start applying to teach...you suk as a teacher to begin with Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged October 28, 2010 Share October 28, 2010 (edited) -deleted- You make it sound so tiring with no punctuation... And in trying to juggle so many duties at the same time, oops... you make a mistake in your core duties, e.g. exam-related, straightaway tio condemn or chop. Right?? Most lecturer are now on contract, I heard. Very easy to get chop. I'm curious though, putting contract aside, does it mean that MOE (teacher) path is better, for those who are considering teaching career? In terms of being more focused? Edited October 28, 2010 by Sosaria Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Akazhun Neutral Newbie October 28, 2010 Share October 28, 2010 then it seems like part-time/adjunt lecturing is the way to go leh.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thargor 1st Gear October 29, 2010 Author Share October 29, 2010 ya man. tell TS liao. lecturer not worth it one. 1. students these days really CMI 2. as above vextan said also true I don't believe there are CMI students....its more like the teachers do not know how to teach. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Invigorated Supercharged October 29, 2010 Share October 29, 2010 I don't believe there are CMI students....its more like the teachers do not know how to teach. It's both ways la. Thus the saying that you cannot push a cow's head down unless it is drinking water by it's own will. Such a statement is really unfair to teachers. Even the best teachers also face CMI students. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator October 29, 2010 Share October 29, 2010 I don't believe there are CMI students....its more like the teachers do not know how to teach. i think you idealise the student .... but this is often someone would say before he/she become a teacher you get good students and bad ones....... you can't focus on everyone, thats why they stream the students and if you like challenge like those in the movie.... try asking for the condemn hopeless class if you choose to teach in a special cause or faculty, you get a filtered lot of students with interest. And then again, teaching/coaching intern or subordinate is different from classroom teaching for students Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thargor 1st Gear October 29, 2010 Author Share October 29, 2010 i think you idealise the student .... but this is often someone would say before he/she become a teacher you get good students and bad ones....... you can't focus on everyone, thats why they stream the students and if you like challenge like those in the movie.... try asking for the condemn hopeless class if you choose to teach in a special cause or faculty, you get a filtered lot of students with interest. And then again, teaching/coaching intern or subordinate is different from classroom teaching for students As much as I will like to change the world, I can't. So if I can change just one small thing at a time, it's one more positive change for the change and it's far better than no changes Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator October 29, 2010 Share October 29, 2010 As much as I will like to change the world, I can't. So if I can change just one small thing at a time, it's one more positive change for the change and it's far better than no changes thats the mission of every teacher, isn't it? then your previous statement "I don't believe there are CMI students....its more like the teachers do not know how to teach" does not stand too well. There are many noble teachers and principals out there, but you also see them giving up on CMI students too you have too strong an opinion on things and behaviors (not that its bad)..... then you are better off stick to the topic you are teaching and not the students, that will be much easier. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearoil 1st Gear October 29, 2010 Share October 29, 2010 i saw gov.sg job site got lecturer positions open, but didnt see any subject that you could teach with your specialization. perhaps u can enquire with them to see if they could use your expertise in any way. u shd add this expertise to your list too, 1. Marketing Campaign Performance/KPI Scorecard/Tracking 2. Marketing data analytics 3. Marketing leads management 4. Database analytics 5. How a BOY becomes a MAN 6. How to stay in one's job and know what one can achieve. 7. How to stop talking rubbish and know what value one is to employers. 8. How NOT to job hop and think of a need of a second job and stay focus on what one is capable of. 9. How not to try thinking one is an expert but realised that one seem not to be able to 'cut it' in the real world. 10. How not to day dream that one can be hugely successful but in reality is poorly prepared for retirement. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thargor 1st Gear October 29, 2010 Author Share October 29, 2010 6. How to stay in one's job and know what one can achieve. 7. How to stop talking rubbish and know what value one is to employers. 8. How NOT to job hop and think of a need of a second job and stay focus on what one is capable of. 9. How not to try thinking one is an expert but realised that one seem not to be able to 'cut it' in the real world. 10. How not to day dream that one can be hugely successful but in reality is poorly prepared for retirement. 11. How to earn more than Gearoil. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyrofillica 1st Gear October 29, 2010 Share October 29, 2010 I don't believe there are CMI students....its more like the teachers do not know how to teach. lol im a real life example of CMI student. rather i believe each person excels at different subject matters. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...