How do i get a freelance lecturing position in Poly?

Thargor

I consider myself a subject matter expert in the following:

1. Marketing Campaign Performance/KPI Scorecard/Tracking

2. Marketing data analytics

3. Marketing leads management

4. Database analytics

I have long been interested to pursue an academic career and I do view this as a viable 2nd career option for retirement. I have been with a few leading global MNCs and have track records to prove my experience.

Don't have Masters though, just a degree....guess I took the advice of a particular university vice dean couple of years ago...."I wouldn't recommend you take the MSc for applied research in Sociology...you can probably teach some of the modules yourself"

I know there's a few lecturers here...do i absolutely need a Masters to lecture in Poly? Any advice/suggestions/tip will be highly appreciated! [laugh]

hi my friend, no you dont need a masters degree. and yes, poly is hiring part time lecturers. you need to know the lecturers who are teaching the modules and you can apply the position thru them (in other words you need a referal). each hour is $90. the reason is because there is not enough lecturers for some modules. if you really like lectureing, you can consider full time. actually with your experience, youshould qualify.

loan sharks need not apply. :D

Edited by Vextan

hi my friend, no you dont need a masters degree. and yes, poly is hiring part time lecturers. you need to know the lecturers who are teaching the modules and you can apply the position thru them (in other words you need a referal). each hour is $90. the reason is because there is not enough lecturers for some modules. if you really like lectureing, you can consider full time. actually with your experience, youshould qualify.

loan sharks need not apply. :D

Hehe i am hoping someone can help me with the referral though...don't know any lecturers IRL leh.... :D

Probably full time is not viable...don't think can match my pay...wanna do it more out of interest for now. Always find it a joy to guide and coach young people. They have a whole life ahead of them and it's exciting to teach people who still want to change the world.

why dun try S*M

i knew a guy taking his Master now,PT there..something like ur scope..

Hehe cant afford to pay for Masters also....need to take care of the $$$$$ to secure my daughter's future first.

I consider myself a subject matter expert in the following:

1. Marketing Campaign Performance/KPI Scorecard/Tracking

2. Marketing data analytics

3. Marketing leads management

4. Database analytics

I have long been interested to pursue an academic career and I do view this as a viable 2nd career option for retirement. I have been with a few leading global MNCs and have track records to prove my experience.

Don't have Masters though, just a degree....guess I took the advice of a particular university vice dean couple of years ago...."I wouldn't recommend you take the MSc for applied research in Sociology...you can probably teach some of the modules yourself"

I know there's a few lecturers here...do i absolutely need a Masters to lecture in Poly? Any advice/suggestions/tip will be highly appreciated! [laugh]

If you termed yourself as some sort of 'expert'...

You won't need to find another part time or freelance job, isn't it? :D

If you termed yourself as some sort of 'expert'...

You won't need to find another part time or freelance job, isn't it? :D

Even PHD holder need to drive taxi leh...

I certainly earn more than you, but I also have more expenses than you. I assume you are single and still staying at your parents' place.

So if I can get a freelance lecturing position that can satisfy my passion for knowledge sharing and put more food on table and more toys for my daughter...why not?

I have a fren who works in poly. "Freelance" or Adjunct lecturers are hired based on manpower needs. Your qualifications matter, of course, but main thing that'll get you hired is manpower need, as in too many classes, too few full-time lecturers.

You can try writing in directly to the specific poly course manager to find out if there's a shortage that they need to fill in coming months. The contact info should be available on polys' websites. I think this is more effective than contacting HR.

...Probably full time is not viable...don't think can match my pay...wanna do it more out of interest for now. Always find it a joy to guide and coach young people. They have a whole life ahead of them and it's exciting to teach people who still want to change the world.

Be careful what you wish for... [laugh]

By the way, have you met some young people nowadays? I think you have a rather rose-tinted view of them, anyway [;)]

Btw teach in poly, got to get used to the students there. They call their lecturers by name.. I was surprised. My fren teaching there, they just call him by his name although he's old enough to be their father.

Be careful what you wish for... [laugh]

By the way, have you met some young people nowadays? I think you have a rather rose-tinted view of them, anyway [;)]

Thanks bro...yup....i have interns in my companies all the time and i used to hire student part-timers too. Maybe I tend to give more leeway to the young....I believe in making mistakes and learning from them when young.

this nothing much

my friend at her mid 20s, grad from oversea

some guys wana date her out .. <_<

knn...i hear some poly even have affair w stoolen...wa lau <_<<_<

Btw teach in poly, got to get used to the students there. They call their lecturers by name.. I was surprised. My fren teaching there, they just call him by his name although he's old enough to be their father.

I am quite cool with that. I believe in speaking to the young as equals....they are merely younger and less experienced, not that i am more superior. They can call me by name anytime. But for me...I address those older by at least a decade as Sir.

call you limpeh la [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Bro u can try the newest poly up north. Heard from a friend its a good place to work in terms of pay n welfare.

Thanks bro....any idea hows the freelance arrangement like?