treadmill in hdb flat

Karoon

1 hour ago, Lala81 said:

I definitely won't invest in a treadmill. Just run outdoors. Better air better scenery better everything.

Rowing machine maybe if u have the space. 

The footprint of a rowing machine is slightly bigger than a treadmill. If I have the space and money, I'll buy a rowing machine rather than a treadmill. The chance of me rowing in a river daily/weekly is less than the chance I can run outside.

for those that worry about cov19 like me

can change timing. if cannot change route. my old route alway crowded, now i still go on the same toute, but i go outer lane across the road instead.

26 minutes ago, Arogab said:

I live at one side of the highway while our factory is on the other side. No way to cycle and my estate which is a rather small development is not good for running. I choose to stay near to the big supermarket Makro for convenient. My side, to ride, I have to drive the bike to the Don Muang airport I heard. Anyway, I am happy the treadmill is providing a high ROI. Haha

I can imagine how bad it is especially next to Highway.

27 minutes ago, Kxbc said:

The footprint of a rowing machine is slightly bigger than a treadmill. If I have the space and money, I'll buy a rowing machine rather than a treadmill. The chance of me rowing in a river daily/weekly is less than the chance I can run outside.

Yeah rowing exercises more parts of the body so don't need separate sessions. Saves time. I am not even sure if we can rent sculling boats  ie with the moving seat in Sg.

12 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

I can imagine how bad it is especially next to Highway.

Yeah, but travelling is easy. I just drive 10 mins one way to work and home easily. Other than that, is you arrange your work out plan. Thus my treadmill is in full use. 2 dumbbells and an ab-roller makes a good full set

9 minutes ago, Volvobrick said:

Yeah rowing exercises more parts of the body so don't need separate sessions. Saves time. I am not even sure if we can rent sculling boats  ie with the moving seat in Sg.

But those dragon boaters I see near my house mostly got small legs😬

4 minutes ago, Volvobrick said:

agree, Quads, hamstring, the whole core, upper, mid and lower back, delts, arms, grip strength, heart. Rowing really make use of almost the whole body if can get the technique right.

I watched some of the Olympics rowing events. The ladies' arms, shoulders, scapula muscles and the tensed up stomach are so developed. Way more developed than 99% of the men you see huffing and puffing in SG gyms. 

3 minutes ago, Arogab said:

But those dragon boaters I see near my house mostly got small legs😬

Legs not needed in dragon boats and kayaking!  Just dead weight slowing them down... 😄

Edited by Volvobrick

22 minutes ago, Kxbc said:

agree, Quads, hamstring, the whole core, upper, mid and lower back, delts, arms, grip strength, heart. Rowing really make use of almost the whole body if can get the technique right.

I watched some of the Olympics rowing events. The ladies' arms, shoulders, scapula muscles and the tensed up stomach are so developed. Way more developed than 99% of the men you see huffing and puffing in SG gyms. 

Pro athletes are different lah, they got professional coaches and their body must be at international competitive level. We need to train to be healthy can liao 

19 minutes ago, Volvobrick said:

Legs not needed in dragon boats and kayaking!  Just dead weight slowing them down... 😄

Just as I say, be healthy, and not look loop sides or should I say, arm and shoulders so big and legs so tiny. I am not saying the average, those I see were extreme

2 hours ago, Lala81 said:

I don't like treadmill but few things I think good is

1. All weather of course 

2. Less load on knees due to softer surface 

3. Incline. My friend has bad knees so he does max incline 30 mins walks. 

If u have the latter two, I think can consider. 

There's no such thing as no place to run outdoors. Pcn is all over the country. If u have a car, guaranteed can drive to a park or pcn to run within 10 mins max (if u don't want to run beside the road) . 

Yes, incline to burn more calories in the shortest possible time.

Sometimes when I am busy, i just jump onto the machine and workout at max resistance for 30 mins. 

1 hour ago, Kxbc said:

Besides treadmill, there's also stair climber machine. And one can make full use of the real deal in HDB blocks without any investment outlay. 😁 Just give way when you meet auntie in the staircase carrying a big pot of hot curry.  [laugh]

3 minutes ago, therock said:

This talk of rowing machines has piqued my interest 

does anyone own one?

any models to recommend say under $500?

Thanks 

I have one for many years. Concept 2 is the one to get (new not 500, but I bought mine second hand for around that price... 😄) . Don't buy cheap lousy one, as it will be a torture to use.

I have tried air resistance type (Concept 2) and water wheel type, overall prefer the air resistance one. There are also magnetic resistance types but never tried before.  Concept 2 will be a lifetime investment as replacement parts are always available.

14 minutes ago, therock said:

This talk of rowing machines has piqued my interest 

does anyone own one?

any models to recommend say under $500?

Thanks 

Go Mustaffa to get an ab roller, do it regularly and it is as good as the rowing machine. haha. but ab roller you may find it more difficult to perform the right proper move yah

12 hours ago, Ct3833 said:

So far no gym cluster yet,  comparing with  KTV, market, food court, hospital, airport,  where is safer? 😅😅

No gym cluster? Maybe these people bring the virus outside the gym? Same like also never heard cluster in public transport lo. Lol.

3 hours ago, Volvobrick said:

Used to run in the gym. I would say threadmill is a little bouncy, thus slightly more gentle on the joints. And you are forced to run at the set speed, cannot slow down (unless you adjust the speed of course)! 

Run outdoor can adjust suka suka speed up or slow down when tired or feel like chionging. 

Treadmill running always reminds me of treadmill stress test. 😅

1 hour ago, Volvobrick said:

I have one for many years. Concept 2 is the one to get (new not 500, but I bought mine second hand for around that price... 😄) . Don't buy cheap lousy one, as it will be a torture to use.

I have tried air resistance type (Concept 2) and water wheel type, overall prefer the air resistance one. There are also magnetic resistance types but never tried before.  Concept 2 will be a lifetime investment as replacement parts are always available.

I guess those cheap and lousy treadmill, not only torture to use but your neighbour downstairs also got torture by your treadmill stomping sound. Lol.

1 hour ago, Volvobrick said:

不可以la bro..

i nearly choked when I saw the price..

maybe ab roller la

im not so young so rowing looks easier haha