Tom_kkh 1st Gear October 26, 2010 Share October 26, 2010 Lol! You obviously have not stayed in malaysia as a local. While my experience is limited to certain states, Ipoh, Penang, Jaybee, KL, my guess is that your prices quoted is for jaybee and kl. Oh yeah, prices for SGpreans in My is obviously higher when they suss out you're not local. if u say so ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic October 26, 2010 Share October 26, 2010 the air and haze we breathe in is free here. In Singapore, even using the so-called 'public toilet' in Hawker centres also must pay 10 cents. Public toilets are meant to be free to public leh.. It costs EUR0.70 per entry into some EU's public toilet. Good luck if you want to lao sai and don't have loose change in your pockets as it's gate is mechanically operated (un-maned). [bigcry] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic October 26, 2010 Share October 26, 2010 well u r not the only one. used to have a angmo colleague who earns around 15k per month. he always says, even if he is gonna take cab everywhere in singapore, he will not be spending over 100k for cab fare for his entire life. So he cannot justify buying a car in singapore. his wife thought so too, and his wife works in a bank, getting in 4 digits pay per month. true enough, they go everywhere by cab, even have a few regular cab drivers at their beck and call. so i guess each to his own. One less bidder for COE so less competition. I just hope more people are sensible like this person. So lower COE for me next time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iisterry 3rd Gear October 26, 2010 Share October 26, 2010 HDB is not yours. It belongs to the bank first and then gahmen in 99 years. You work your whole life to pay them. Car is not yours. It belongs to the bank first and then reverts back to the gahmen in 10 years. Technically wrong. It's yours if you pay in cash until the lease expires. You can de-reg your vehicle after 10 years and keep the body in your garage for kicks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moredhel 2nd Gear October 26, 2010 Share October 26, 2010 Technically wrong. It's yours if you pay in cash until the lease expires. You can de-reg your vehicle after 10 years and keep the body in your garage for kicks. Lol. That's the word. Lease. I prefer Buy. Doubt the average singaporeans can down full cash to lease a 5rm HDB incl the fees and reno. Doubt the average malaysian can down full cash to buy a semi-d incl fees and reno. But, The average singaporean is certainly much closer in ability to down full cash to buy a semi-d incl fees and reno in MY. keep body? i no garage leh. Parking lot still have to pay 90 every month.... and most importantly...can't bring it out for a spin without paying the exhorbitant road tax and insurance Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zaxx 2nd Gear October 26, 2010 Share October 26, 2010 make myself buy a car in sg.my brand new bmw 3 series bought in england is only 24k pounds( about 50k sing). i do not want to contribute to garmen pocket and get riped off.garmen basically earn 2 cars for every car we buy here yea compared to the prices in sg you already saved 23years of petrol in england! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zaxx 2nd Gear October 26, 2010 Share October 26, 2010 sure, watever suits u. take BMW. enjoy smelling everyone every morning and paying the transport company, who is owned by GLC and some of us as shareholders. i rather pay upfront to gahmen for my car and enjoy some peaceful driving everyday have you driven in sg recently? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zaxx 2nd Gear October 26, 2010 Share October 26, 2010 Hmm. Let's see. Say, cab fare is $10 a day (conservative figure). Then they take cab everywhere, everyday. 1 year would be $3650. 10 years would be $36,500 But obviously don't think taxi is just $10 a day, unless all short trips. So adjust lor. Realistic figure would probably be around $60k? but you dont have to pay for maintence of the car which is the main killer ie road tax, parking(in cbd yikes), petrol, servicing, erps, insurace, repairs etc which is in tune with the inflation rates and of course the interest owe to the bank by taking a loan. take the sticker price of cars with a pinch of salt. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Expertz 1st Gear October 26, 2010 Share October 26, 2010 have you driven in sg recently? have you heard that fugging TRAIN IS COME TRAIN IS COME TRAIN IS COME PLS GET READY! LOVE YOUR RIDE! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Caravan 5th Gear October 26, 2010 Share October 26, 2010 have you heard that fugging TRAIN IS COME TRAIN IS COME TRAIN IS COME PLS GET READY! LOVE YOUR RIDE! That's a good one. When I was taking public transport, I wished for my own car every minute. Now with jam and all that, still no regrets. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shanhz 3rd Gear October 26, 2010 Share October 26, 2010 Ah, enlightened one. Thou dost speakth truely. Ulu errace houses agreed. But cars and petrol is so cheap there that it doesn't really matter. And a well done terrace house is very possible. My ex gf's sis bought a semi-d there for 140k rm. Location at the foot of a hill. Cool and fresh morning air and good view. Renovation 40k rm. I went to visit. Curse and swear. Cause I know unless I'm freaking lucky here in SG, I'll never be able to own something like that in my life here. it's in Ipoh bw. ipoh no count lah. my fren ask me to buy a house in his kampong. RM$70k. bungalow with land in front, at the side and behind. oh, the last owner bot it 10 or 20 yrs ago. at $80k. so... sgp better or m'sia better? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear October 26, 2010 Share October 26, 2010 Been here for a year or so liao, many did here too. A lot of time depend where you go to. The locals know where to find cheap and good food. RM5 for mixed rice? Depend where you go. I can get within RM4 with a cup of kopi or a glass of home made barley. Bakuteh is expensive because Pork is relatively expensive in MY, you probably know the reason why. Most of the time, I only talk about quality of living not cost of living. Housing is a lot cheaper and so are the utility fees/rates. The "quality" of living in a 3 room flat is very different from living in a landed house with plants surrounding you and knowing your compound is guarded. Nowadays, so many FTs walking around the SG neighbourhood. Driving around without paying ERP and parking is another plus point, which I think improve the quality of driving experience. There are other examples too not until you actually live here . Regards, let's see:- we are talking about dollar to dollar, no conversion rates involve. Food. rice with 2 meat 1 vege, singapore can get $2.50 - $2.80 at coffeeshop - malaysia RM5 in coffee shop standard, plus minus 0.50cents. Coke in singpaore coffeeshop = $1.50 - malaysia - RM2.00 MacDonald singapore set meal $8.85 - malaysia RM9.50 Eno lemon flavour $0.50 per pack - malaysia RM1 Bakuteh for 2 at those own the whole premises (joo chiat bkt) $30 plus - Malaysia same setting RM50 plus Wanton mee singpore in coffeeshop $2.50-3 - malaysia RM4 happy hour beer 1 jug $20 - Malaysia happy hour 3 jugs RM100(lousy pub) so 1 jugs = $33.33333 Martel $230 (disco) - malaysia martel RM330 (disco) toyota camry(2.0) $116, 988 - toyota camry(2.0) malaysia RM144,990 so much more to compare, no time to write..... my advise to those who thinks singapore living standard is high compared to Malaysia, try one staying there 1 month as a local, not as a tourist, don factor in conversion of sin to RM, than see if it is cheaper than singapore, dollar to dollar. just do simple calculation on both person earning same amount, 1 singaporean earning $5000 and 1 malaysian earning RM5000, end of the day, who spend more in his own country? so still Malaysia standard lower than Singapore? the only thing that is cheaper than singapore are housing and ciggy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vextan 1st Gear October 27, 2010 Share October 27, 2010 It's true that Singapore cars are expensive but there is a reason for it, because Singapore is a small island, if cars are sold at the price as what European countries or for that matter big countries are doing, we would have very serious traffic jams and most probably defeat the purpose of driving. Affordable cars are only possible in Singapore if the island is not populated. you are right. dont know why so simple a logic some people also cannot understand. really wasted all the education... thats why i say the gahment implement policy good for the country, people dont use their common sense to think and complain car are priced so high because they only want to make money. so you all want a gahment that make popular policies, make cars cheap , and when all traffic comes to a halt, what happens ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear October 27, 2010 Share October 27, 2010 Like what I always said, make COE super high. Don't let so many people own cars. If one wants to keep a car, make sure to work hard to secure one. Regards, you are right. dont know why so simple a logic some people also cannot understand. really wasted all the education... thats why i say the gahment implement policy good for the country, people dont use their common sense to think and complain car are priced so high because they only want to make money. so you all want a gahment that make popular policies, make cars cheap , and when all traffic comes to a halt, what happens ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pokyman 1st Gear October 27, 2010 Share October 27, 2010 Make COE > 100K. Road Rax at 10% of the total value of car (e.g, 180K car = 18K road tax) Season Parking - 1500/mth at MSCP/CP (like HK) ERP - 20/entry Sure win. Then again, all those who drive are really rich and ppl like us have to take public transport, in this case, we cant claim to be a world class city liao right? Coz 90% can't own cars, companies cannot afford travel allowance, no one wanna come SG liao to work or invest ... then we are back to the sua teng times right? No win win solution one .... ... ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear October 27, 2010 Share October 27, 2010 Make COE > 100K. Road Rax at 10% of the total value of car (e.g, 180K car = 18K road tax) Season Parking - 1500/mth at MSCP/CP (like HK) ERP - 20/entry Sure win. Then again, all those who drive are really rich and ppl like us have to take public transport, in this case, we cant claim to be a world class city liao right? Coz 90% can't own cars, companies cannot afford travel allowance, no one wanna come SG liao to work or invest ... then we are back to the sua teng times right? No win win solution one .... ... ... Not sure whether that will happen but the reality is we only have so much land. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fictionaire 3rd Gear October 27, 2010 Share October 27, 2010 (edited) Dear C-K, a.k.a Mr c--k What's the purpose of whining about not affording a car? Am sick of poor people whining about how expensive Singapore can be and yet still choose to stay in Singapore. And stop f--king include my wife in this conversation retarded fark. I have the right to say what I want, addressing to TS. And it's not your f--king business to care. So just shut your f--king trap, dick. Edited October 27, 2010 by Fictionaire Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fictionaire 3rd Gear October 27, 2010 Share October 27, 2010 he is sore that ppl can work oversea and he is stuck in his hole for his whole life. What's there to be sore about prick head? He has to WORK overseas. And I travel to Europe every year. I can AFFORD it! And shut your hole if it is none of your business. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...