Moredhel 2nd Gear October 26, 2010 Share October 26, 2010 Dun forget the amt of tax u have to pay yearly... If you calculate the overall cost of living including car ownership, house ownership, loan + interest, I dun think it's that cheap in Europe or any other developed countires. However, one point to note. In europe/NZ/australia, whatever you buy, after taxes, you OWN. Which means, you can pass it down to your kids in 80 years time, one of your grandchildren would be driving around in grandpa's classic 911 turbo and it's worth several times the amount if you should import itinto SG by then. In SG, you own NOTHING unless you're filthy rich and own a private property(what's the % of singaporeans who do?). To put things into perspective: HDB is not yours. It belongs to the bank first and then gahmen in 99 years. You work your whole life to pay them. Car is not yours. It belongs to the bank first and then reverts back to the gahmen in 10 years. Money is not yours. A portion of it is the gahmen's to play with as it will. While the various taxes are individually small, 7%, 10%, it adds up to a hefty figure which is European standard of taxation. Kids are not yours. At first you slog your whole life to being them up. When 18, they belong to the gahmen. After 2 1/2 years, they will start from the HDB cycle all over again. What's truly yours here in SG? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
C-K 2nd Gear October 26, 2010 Share October 26, 2010 What's truly yours here in SG? the air and haze we breathe in is free here. In Singapore, even using the so-called 'public toilet' in Hawker centres also must pay 10 cents. Public toilets are meant to be free to public leh.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Help1 1st Gear October 26, 2010 Share October 26, 2010 In SG, you own NOTHING unless you're filthy rich and own a private property(what's the % of singaporeans who do?). err......every single piece of dirt in SG belongs to government, when they decide to develop the land for other usage, u LL have to vacate even though is private property, freehold, 999yr, 99yr etc etc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear October 26, 2010 Share October 26, 2010 What's truly yours here in SG? The govt.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moredhel 2nd Gear October 26, 2010 Share October 26, 2010 In SG, you own NOTHING unless you're filthy rich and own a private property(what's the % of singaporeans who do?). err......every single piece of dirt in SG belongs to government, when they decide to develop the land for other usage, u LL have to vacate even though is private property, freehold, 999yr, 99yr etc etc Malaysians are richer than Singaporeans. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Help1 1st Gear October 26, 2010 Share October 26, 2010 Malaysians are richer than Singaporeans. not really, Singapore Malays are richer than Singapore Chinese or any other races...they buy homes that are of lower floor level thus not expensive unlike chinese like to stay high high, their children education cover by MUIS i think, their ROI on buying MPV or OPC cars are higher due to large family and picnics at beaches over the weekends.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tom_kkh 1st Gear October 26, 2010 Share October 26, 2010 Malaysians are richer than Singaporeans. most malaysian are poorer compare to singapore due to higher living standard.... dollar to dollar, pls don tell me sin$ convert higher so our standard higher... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xtrocious 1st Gear October 26, 2010 Share October 26, 2010 + buy car = yours for life.... if i was in the UK or US, i'd buy an old 911 and slowly keep it in the garage slowly do up.... You want to be like Jackie Chan in Karate Kid is it? hahah Restore then smash up and restore again Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moredhel 2nd Gear October 26, 2010 Share October 26, 2010 most malaysian are poorer compare to singapore due to higher living standard.... dollar to dollar, pls don tell me sin$ convert higher so our standard higher... That would depend. The standard of living and the ownership of assets would suggest that malaysians are asset rich(most of them are staying in PRIVATE housing - 200k RM would net you a luxuriously renovated 2 level bungalow which is exclusively yours like....almost forever), 80-110k rm would net you a WRX STi or BMW which you don't have to return after 10 years. However, they are cash poor which they have overcome by conveniently hopping over to SG to earn SGD to spend back home while we have to slog our lives to pay off an average of 300-400k SGD debt to the govt here in SG, which incidentally is under HDB and would historically buy back at the market low after 40-60 years. All in all, if you've been working in Singapore for the past 20-30 years, you can comfortably retire in MY with 2 person's CPF total of around 500k SGD and whatever cash you can get from selling off your car and other assets which would net an average of a conservative 600k SGD = 1.44Million RM. Enough to retire comfortably in MY? What can 600k in SGD net you when 400-500k is locked up in CPF?? Of course, Singapore's standard of healthcare would be very much preferable to retirees in the sunset timing of their lives. So it's a trade off to what is important to you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged October 26, 2010 Share October 26, 2010 (edited) That would depend. The standard of living and the ownership of assets would suggest that malaysians are asset rich(most of them are staying in PRIVATE housing - 200k RM would net you a luxuriously renovated 2 level bungalow which is exclusively yours like....almost forever), 80-110k rm would net you a WRX STi or BMW which you don't have to return after 10 years. However, they are cash poor which they have overcome by conveniently hopping over to SG to earn SGD to spend back home while we have to slog our lives to pay off an average of 300-400k SGD debt to the govt here in SG, which incidentally is under HDB and would historically buy back at the market low after 40-60 years. All in all, if you've been working in Singapore for the past 20-30 years, you can comfortably retire in MY with 2 person's CPF total of around 500k SGD and whatever cash you can get from selling off your car and other assets which would net an average of a conservative 600k SGD = 1.44Million RM. Enough to retire comfortably in MY? What can 600k in SGD net you when 400-500k is locked up in CPF?? Of course, Singapore's standard of healthcare would be very much preferable to retirees in the sunset timing of their lives. So it's a trade off to what is important to you. 80 to 110K RM will only net you a brand new Honda City. not a Rex. maybe 2nd hand can but not first hand Rex. Edited October 26, 2010 by Joseph22 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear October 26, 2010 Share October 26, 2010 RM200K for a luxuriously renovated bungalow in JB? You find one for me . Ulu Terrace houses may be. Thats why I envy those Malaysian who owned decent guarded terrace houses in good district and yet earn S$ every month. The average Singaporean have to use their life savings (CPF) to pay for something that they don't really own but live in (HDB). Utility bills are low in MY, no parking fee, no ERP and wide NSH for you to race. Even medical coverage are getting more decent here. Holidays can drive to many states and don't even have to leave the country. Should I say quality of living is better in MY than in Singapore? Standard of living is relative but good enough for me. Crime? What crime? Just exercise common sense and don't get into politics . Regards, That would depend. The standard of living and the ownership of assets would suggest that malaysians are asset rich(most of them are staying in PRIVATE housing - 200k RM would net you a luxuriously renovated 2 level bungalow which is exclusively yours like....almost forever), 80-110k rm would net you a WRX STi or BMW which you don't have to return after 10 years. However, they are cash poor which they have overcome by conveniently hopping over to SG to earn SGD to spend back home while we have to slog our lives to pay off an average of 300-400k SGD debt to the govt here in SG, which incidentally is under HDB and would historically buy back at the market low after 40-60 years. All in all, if you've been working in Singapore for the past 20-30 years, you can comfortably retire in MY with 2 person's CPF total of around 500k SGD and whatever cash you can get from selling off your car and other assets which would net an average of a conservative 600k SGD = 1.44Million RM. Enough to retire comfortably in MY? What can 600k in SGD net you when 400-500k is locked up in CPF?? Of course, Singapore's standard of healthcare would be very much preferable to retirees in the sunset timing of their lives. So it's a trade off to what is important to you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged October 26, 2010 Share October 26, 2010 RM200K for a luxuriously renovated bungalow in JB? You find one for me . Ulu Terrace houses may be. Thats why I envy those Malaysian who owned decent guarded terrace houses in good district and yet earn S$ every month. The average Singaporean have to use their life savings (CPF) to pay for something that they don't really own but live in (HDB). Utility bills are low in MY, no parking fee, no ERP and wide NSH for you to race. Even medical coverage are getting more decent here. Holidays can drive to many states and don't even have to leave the country. Should I say quality of living is better in MY than in Singapore? Standard of living is relative but good enough for me. Crime? What crime? Just exercise common sense and don't get into politics . Regards, actually the crime is real. but if you grow up there. its not really that scary. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Congx 1st Gear October 26, 2010 Share October 26, 2010 actually the crime is real. but if you grow up there. its not really that scary. maybe they tend to aim sgeans more.. because pple always tell us when see robber give em all ur $$ if not u end up Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moredhel 2nd Gear October 26, 2010 Share October 26, 2010 RM200K for a luxuriously renovated bungalow in JB? You find one for me . Ulu Terrace houses may be. Thats why I envy those Malaysian who owned decent guarded terrace houses in good district and yet earn S$ every month. The average Singaporean have to use their life savings (CPF) to pay for something that they don't really own but live in (HDB). Utility bills are low in MY, no parking fee, no ERP and wide NSH for you to race. Even medical coverage are getting more decent here. Holidays can drive to many states and don't even have to leave the country. Should I say quality of living is better in MY than in Singapore? Standard of living is relative but good enough for me. Crime? What crime? Just exercise common sense and don't get into politics . Regards, Ah, enlightened one. Thou dost speakth truely. Ulu errace houses agreed. But cars and petrol is so cheap there that it doesn't really matter. And a well done terrace house is very possible. My ex gf's sis bought a semi-d there for 140k rm. Location at the foot of a hill. Cool and fresh morning air and good view. Renovation 40k rm. I went to visit. Curse and swear. Cause I know unless I'm freaking lucky here in SG, I'll never be able to own something like that in my life here. it's in Ipoh bw. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tom_kkh 1st Gear October 26, 2010 Share October 26, 2010 (edited) let's see:- we are talking about dollar to dollar, no conversion rates involve. Food. rice with 2 meat 1 vege, singapore can get $2.50 - $2.80 at coffeeshop - malaysia RM5 in coffee shop standard, plus minus 0.50cents. Coke in singpaore coffeeshop = $1.50 - malaysia - RM2.00 MacDonald singapore set meal $8.85 - malaysia RM9.50 Eno lemon flavour $0.50 per pack - malaysia RM1 Bakuteh for 2 at those own the whole premises (joo chiat bkt) $30 plus - Malaysia same setting RM50 plus Wanton mee singpore in coffeeshop $2.50-3 - malaysia RM4 happy hour beer 1 jug $20 - Malaysia happy hour 3 jugs RM100(lousy pub) so 1 jugs = $33.33333 Martel $230 (disco) - malaysia martel RM330 (disco) toyota camry(2.0) $116, 988 - toyota camry(2.0) malaysia RM144,990 so much more to compare, no time to write..... my advise to those who thinks singapore living standard is high compared to Malaysia, try one staying there 1 month as a local, not as a tourist, don factor in conversion of sin to RM, than see if it is cheaper than singapore, dollar to dollar. just do simple calculation on both person earning same amount, 1 singaporean earning $5000 and 1 malaysian earning RM5000, end of the day, who spend more in his own country? so still Malaysia standard lower than Singapore? the only thing that is cheaper than singapore are housing and ciggy. Edited October 26, 2010 by Tom_kkh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged October 26, 2010 Share October 26, 2010 maybe they tend to aim sgeans more.. because pple always tell us when see robber give em all ur $$ if not u end up not sure. but my malaysian friends told me. its pretty scary there compare to singapore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moredhel 2nd Gear October 26, 2010 Share October 26, 2010 let's see:- we are talking about dollar to dollar, no conversion rates involve. Food. rice with 2 meat 1 vege, singapore can get $2.50 - $2.80 at coffeeshop - malaysia RM5 in coffee shop standard, plus minus 0.50cents. Coke in singpaore coffeeshop = $1.50 - malaysia - RM2.00 MacDonald singapore set meal $8.85 - malaysia RM9.50 Eno lemon flavour $0.50 per pack - malaysia RM1 Bakuteh for 2 at those own the whole premises (joo chiat bkt) $30 plus - Malaysia same setting RM50 plus Wanton mee singpore in coffeeshop $2.50-3 - malaysia RM4 happy hour beer 1 jug $20 - Malaysia happy hour 3 jugs RM100(lousy pub) so 1 jugs = $33.33333 Martel $230 (disco) - malaysia martel RM330 (disco) toyota camry(2.0) $116, 988 - toyota camry(2.0) malaysia RM144,990 so much more to compare, no time to write..... my advise to those who thinks singapore living standard is high compared to Malaysia, try one staying there 1 month as a local, not as a tourist, don factor in conversion of sin to RM, than see if it is cheaper than singapore, dollar to dollar. just do simple calculation on both person earning same amount, 1 singaporean earning $5000 and 1 malaysian earning RM5000, end of the day, who spend more in his own country? so still Malaysia standard lower than Singapore? the only thing that is cheaper than singapore are housing and ciggy. Lol! You obviously have not stayed in malaysia as a local. While my experience is limited to certain states, Ipoh, Penang, Jaybee, KL, my guess is that your prices quoted is for jaybee and kl. Oh yeah, prices for SGpreans in My is obviously higher when they suss out you're not local. Let me give you an example of the prices I have to pay in Ipoh. Kopi: SG $0.80-1.20(Normal Coffee) MY RM0.60-1.00(White Coffee) Wanton Mee SG: $3 -$4 MY RM2-RM3.50 Haircut: SG $10-60 MY RM8 to RM70(with was and...erm...blow..) Rice 2 meat 1 veg: SG $3.50-5.00 MY RM2.50-4 BBQ Fish: SG $10-18 MY RM6-12 Beer in comparable pub: SG $23 per jug, MY RM50 3 jugs Seafood dinner for 4 including 2 large crabs, 20prawns, meat, fishhead steamboat, vege: SG $160-360 MY RM135(actual price) So if you factor in that you're earning SGD and retiring there. Guess what? You're suddenly a millionaire, both asset and cash rich!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moredhel 2nd Gear October 26, 2010 Share October 26, 2010 not sure. but my malaysian friends told me. its pretty scary there compare to singapore. That's why over there they live humbly. House outside very lok kok. Inside 52" LCD TV and enclosed heated swimming pool. Car drive Proton wira or the new proton , travel to singapore drive 5series/Sti. My friend's neighbourhood they join up fork out money pay for a few jagas with SHOTGUNS patrolling the area. Very safe..... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...