Mini-itx2010 Neutral Newbie October 24, 2010 Share October 24, 2010 I am just wondering if its really necessary to buy branded gauges like Defi, HKS etc.... Cause I was sourcing for a boost gauge and went to autobacs and saw this Taiwan gauge for $98. Its much cheapers compared to 300-400 for those branded ones. Decide to get one as I don't have a boost gauge in my car. Wired it up and found it to be pretty accourate. My ECU show 1 bar boost, the gauge also show 1 bar. Thus I am wonder if its really necessary to spend so much to buy expensive gauges if cheap ones are just as accurate. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear October 25, 2010 Share October 25, 2010 I am just wondering if its really necessary to buy branded gauges like Defi, HKS etc.... Cause I was sourcing for a boost gauge and went to autobacs and saw this Taiwan gauge for $98. Its much cheapers compared to 300-400 for those branded ones. Decide to get one as I don't have a boost gauge in my car. Wired it up and found it to be pretty accourate. My ECU show 1 bar boost, the gauge also show 1 bar. Thus I am wonder if its really necessary to spend so much to buy expensive gauges if cheap ones are just as accurate. Branding lor... The chap chap fashion shop in your neighbourhood sells shirts for $12 / each... The branded boutique in town also sells T shirts for $120 / each... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Estrangable 5th Gear October 25, 2010 Share October 25, 2010 in the first place, why do u need a gauge in yr car ?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear October 25, 2010 Share October 25, 2010 in the first place, why do u need a gauge in yr car ?? Think TS has a turbo charged car... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bighappyjer 1st Gear October 25, 2010 Share October 25, 2010 Branded for accuracy, looks and resale value. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mini-itx2010 Neutral Newbie October 25, 2010 Author Share October 25, 2010 in the first place, why do u need a gauge in yr car ?? Its easier to tell whats the boost I am running. Don't have to connect a notebook to the ECU in order to read the data. Although my cluster does have a boost meter, it doesn't tell the amt of boost it only shows 0 and lines. No numbers at all. Its also seves as warning indicator to ensure I am not overboosting. Eg, if I set max of 1bar boost, my peak shows 1.2bar, then something is wrong already. Else overboosting can end up killing the engine. Not all gauges are for show purpose. Eg. I also have A/F meter to know if I am running lean or rich. If boosting, I will make sure I am running rich to protect the engine. If just coasting on light throttle then I will run lean. Another 2 important gauge I don't have yet are oil temp and oil pressure gauge. Cannot rely on oil pressure switch alone. It may be too late for your engine if the oil pressure light comes up. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Reeze Neutral Newbie October 25, 2010 Share October 25, 2010 I don't think you really have to spend that much with gauges. If your main reason for buying one is just for accuracy, I believe almost all of them offer that. But if you want to show off you really have to splurge to branded ones. They are the ones that look cool. ------------------------- Office Cubicles , Cubicles Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nickpower Neutral Newbie September 20, 2011 Share September 20, 2011 hi all, just to ask.. if i can only install one gauge, which one is the best one? oil, water, vaccum, volt??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LoverofCar 6th Gear September 20, 2011 Share September 20, 2011 (edited) hi all, just to ask.. if i can only install one gauge, which one is the best one? oil, water, vaccum, volt??? seriously....install a volt meter to read your battery...that is most partical and useful because, if the battery died, no matter what TCed or NA car you drive...car cannot start.... Edited September 20, 2011 by LoverofCar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Satria_neo Clutched September 20, 2011 Share September 20, 2011 hi all, just to ask.. if i can only install one gauge, which one is the best one? oil, water, vaccum, volt??? Vaccum and voltage is not needed at all. Water temp can monitor from cluster. I would install oil temp or oil pressure. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Satria_neo Clutched September 20, 2011 Share September 20, 2011 I do not spend the money on branded gauges. This is because gauges are nothing more than volt meters. I do not need them to be extremely accurate. Whats really important is the sensor. Cause if they are too far off, then its pointless to measure. Good thing is that accurate sensors are readily available and decently priced. Factory stock sensors can provide very good accuracy that is adequate even for tracking purpose. Unless you need for racing purpose where you are operating at the absolute limit of the car (where 1-2% difference can mean blowing the engine or losing a race). Else its doesn't matter at all. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged September 20, 2011 Share September 20, 2011 hi all, just to ask.. if i can only install one gauge, which one is the best one? oil, water, vaccum, volt??? http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/52mm-Car-Auto-Ga...E-/320603951736 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rb26dett Clutched September 20, 2011 Share September 20, 2011 it is not necessary to buy branded gauges.but if one can afford it,why not? its not something we need.but it increases the bling factor. same goes for we don't need a car here anyway as public transport are everywhere.but its nice to have a personal ride , and even cooler to have a nice souped up personal ride. and oh ya , honestly you cant expect sti/evo/ctr etc owners to be seen rolling with china/taiwan gauges dont you think so ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear September 21, 2011 Share September 21, 2011 They roll around with DEFEI and HSK gauges also you dunno mah... They make so good replicas now...can change color one !! As long as you dun chao ah beng put changing color...I also can't tell if its a Defi or Defei stopping next to them...and when they turn off...follow DF blackface...how to tell sia !! hahahahahaha.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fennmax Clutched September 21, 2011 Share September 21, 2011 I have a boost gauge as it is necessary. To know. If the turbo. Is behaving. Properly eg boost creep. And boost spike. Read. A report in redline. Mag. Autogauge came in third in accuracy. Whereas some branded one fared worse or refused to be bench mark... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lectrosphere 1st Gear September 21, 2011 Share September 21, 2011 I have a boost gauge as it is necessary. To know. If the turbo. Is behaving. Properly eg boost creep. And boost spike. Read. A report in redline. Mag. Autogauge came in third in accuracy. Whereas some branded one fared worse or refused to be bench mark... bro, you talk like my friend leh... thats how he psyco me to get a boost gauge Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fennmax Clutched September 22, 2011 Share September 22, 2011 bro, you talk like my friend leh... thats how he psyco me to get a boost gauge Sad but true leh, if your turbo screw up you will not know. Actuator failure, broken fins, hose leakage will show on a gauge with the erratic, too high or too low at max throttle. No gauge...wait for engine to up lorry lor if turbo fails. Also, can help tuner to confirm tune up for greater power within limits. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoppie24 1st Gear September 22, 2011 Share September 22, 2011 (edited) try the Pivot meter, you driving VW/Audi right? Plugged to OBD port, no need cut wires or install sensor :) Can DIY http://www.pivotracing.com/product/XV Edited September 22, 2011 by Hoppie24 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...