Mini-itx2010 Neutral Newbie October 23, 2010 Share October 23, 2010 I realise my oil is turning grey already (colour due to the Liquimoly Ceratec I added, else its a yellowish milky olour) and I have travelled just over 1000KM only. I think its just another 1000KM or less before the oil turns black. Then probably need to change already.....:( ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
XALmoN Neutral Newbie October 23, 2010 Share October 23, 2010 just because its black doesn't mean it needs to be changed. its black because the detergents in your oil is working, and clearing your engine of all the junk the previous oil left, so change it according to recommended service intervals. Changing any sooner is just wasting your money. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear October 23, 2010 Share October 23, 2010 When will the oild turn black in a brand new engine/car? In theory, how long can engine oil keeps protection engine before changing? Someone talk about the blot test. Ok, even after doing the blot tests, how long does the engine oil needs to change for it to be protecting the engine? My Free honda jazz first oil change was 1000km. The next free one will be at 10000km. I think kah is trying to save money on the so called free servicing by pushing it to 10000km. Usually gap will be 5000km right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
York Clutched October 23, 2010 Share October 23, 2010 diesel engine, oil changed just run the engine for a couple of min, turn black oredi..... petrol engine....black....but 'clean'....black Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sky8807 1st Gear October 24, 2010 Share October 24, 2010 just because its black doesn't mean it needs to be changed. its black because the detergents in your oil is working, and clearing your engine of all the junk the previous oil left, so change it according to recommended service intervals. Changing any sooner is just wasting your money. Agreed Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyrofillica 1st Gear October 24, 2010 Share October 24, 2010 When will the oild turn black in a brand new engine/car? In theory, how long can engine oil keeps protection engine before changing? Someone talk about the blot test. Ok, even after doing the blot tests, how long does the engine oil needs to change for it to be protecting the engine? My Free honda jazz first oil change was 1000km. The next free one will be at 10000km. I think kah is trying to save money on the so called free servicing by pushing it to 10000km. Usually gap will be 5000km right? most synthetic oils can last more than 10k km under normal driving conditions. most jap manufacturers recommended oil changes is also 10k km under normal conditions. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear October 24, 2010 Share October 24, 2010 I realise my oil is turning grey already (colour due to the Liquimoly Ceratec I added, else its a yellowish milky olour) and I have travelled just over 1000KM only. I think its just another 1000KM or less before the oil turns black. Then probably need to change already.....:( Can share with us what yellowish milky oil you got? Do you mean you add Liquimoly Ceratec to change your oil colour grey? Why you think your oil turns black after 2000km? Why you need to change? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic October 24, 2010 Share October 24, 2010 I changed my EO sometime at 3.5K, sometime at 5K, sometime at 8K, and the last one at 2K........................... All black! so I guess even if you drain it out at 500km also will be black. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear October 24, 2010 Share October 24, 2010 just because its black doesn't mean it needs to be changed. its black because the detergents in your oil is working, and clearing your engine of all the junk the previous oil left, so change it according to recommended service intervals. Changing any sooner is just wasting your money. I agree. Just used and change at the stipulated intervals. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear October 24, 2010 Share October 24, 2010 I changed my EO sometime at 3.5K, sometime at 5K, sometime at 8K, and the last one at 2K........................... All black! so I guess even if you drain it out at 500km also will be black. petrol oil won't really be BLACK until after few hundred km. but it will sure start turning dark brown pretty soon. diesel, as mentioned by other bro here.. normal lah.. anyway, for normal driving with good engine oil, 10000 km is a very safe interval. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trex101 3rd Gear October 24, 2010 Share October 24, 2010 I realise my oil is turning grey already (colour due to the Liquimoly Ceratec I added, else its a yellowish milky olour) and I have travelled just over 1000KM only. I think its just another 1000KM or less before the oil turns black. Then probably need to change already.....:( Oil colour is not an indicator of oil condition, some engine oil will turn dark under 2-3 heat cycle due to "additives package chemical reaction". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear October 24, 2010 Share October 24, 2010 I changed my EO sometime at 3.5K, sometime at 5K, sometime at 8K, and the last one at 2K........................... All black! so I guess even if you drain it out at 500km also will be black. Had the engine been abusive used? That seems to be worn engine symptom Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic October 24, 2010 Share October 24, 2010 I used this Liquimoly engine oil addictive before. Once added into new engine oil, the oil turns dark greyish very soon, even before pouring into the engine. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
XALmoN Neutral Newbie October 24, 2010 Share October 24, 2010 why bother adding weird additives to your engine oil? does it matter? i do 5 to 6krpm launches all the time, and my oil still works, my engine is still tight, its not burning any oil, and its done 114,000 hard kms, so dont bother putting weird additives to your oil, use a good oil, and stay with that, dont waste your money. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic October 24, 2010 Share October 24, 2010 The guy gave me free when I bought a bottle of liquimoly so I just try it lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic October 24, 2010 Share October 24, 2010 Had the engine been abusive used? That seems to be worn engine symptom the car is less than 1 year old with less than 20k on the meter. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ladykillerz 4th Gear October 24, 2010 Share October 24, 2010 if EO did not change the color, you know how good is the EO. basically, does nothing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahbengdriver 6th Gear October 24, 2010 Share October 24, 2010 The guy gave me free when I bought a bottle of liquimoly so I just try it lor. Dun listen to all the talk from those who hasnt used liquidmoly oil n ceratac. This thing does work n smoothen yr engine. I have them on my car n the wife's car and its great. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...