Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear October 21, 2010 Share October 21, 2010 U serious that they do not have right of way if they are on 2 wheels? You really forgot the Highway Code? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear October 21, 2010 Share October 21, 2010 lol, the best part is, i checked, i stopped, i checked, then i went, and because i was quite shag, i move off a bit slow, the next thing i knew, was bang. we tried hunting the bugger down, but i was too dazed to even remember the number plate, how to report anything, so sua lor. but yes, if one is on a bicycle, he has no right of way on the pedestrian crossings, unless he/she gets off and push, but then don't push your luck la, if you hit the bugger, you still kena jialat jialat. CAUTION: Do not try that with me. You may not have the chance to learn through mistake It is my practice to precautionary horn any cyclist in the vicinity of a pedestrian crossing/road junction, and slow down my car. However, I will not apply emergency brake if there is any vehicle behind me. The cyclist shall be deemed to have attempted suicide if hit (handphone-cycling can not hear the earlier horning) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear October 21, 2010 Share October 21, 2010 I agree with you, it does goes both way.. two incidents to share... 1) at the traffic light junction... the light had just turned green for pedestrain to cross. the first car on the right lane slowdown and stopped. I was about to cross the road when a 2nd car came zooming up behind him, screech, swing into empty left lane and charge through the crossing (yes, he just dash through the red light). have I been awake and two steps faster, I am very sure I won't be here now. 2) I was crossing the road from a busstop. I wait for the lone approaching car to pass me before proceeding to cross the road, only to jump back onto the walkpath..... reason... that lone car that had just drove passed, decided to brake and reverse at high speed (he than almost immediately forward again to change lane for a right turn at the junction abt 100m away). I believe all of us appreciate and very thankful if you report such observations to the Authority. You help make the roads safer for us. Many thanks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Swingarm 1st Gear October 22, 2010 Share October 22, 2010 Those who have attend the road safety park will tend to use the road with caution whether u r driving, cycling, or even walking. but now no more liao.... and with high tech equipments and 'superb' mass media, pedestrians are indirectly informed that they have d right of way. there is a slogan i made pedestrian first, drivers second Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aaron_soh80 1st Gear October 22, 2010 Share October 22, 2010 Just wondering if pedestrains think that they are becoming impervous to cars and their flesh and bones are even tougher than steel..... Cause near my house (consist of several small 2 lane roads), the way the pedestrians cross is really scary, they love to cross the road holding a phone and looking at opposite direction instead of looking for oncoming vechicles. Some see you come but still just cross at a leisure pace. Then some loves to cross at the exit of a T junction. There is also problem with Zebra crossing. Remember how we were taught in school to ensure vehicle has stopped before crossing? They see a car coming in fast and they still cross. Of course, I am not saying they are wrong. Cars should look out for pedestrains at zebra crossing and should stop. Some drivers are either blind or brainless or whatever and never stop one (I seen several cases myself). But the thing is when accident occurs, whos at the losing end? Car damage can repair or replace, person dead can replace? I feel as our tiny island gets more and more crowded with cars and people, there is a strong need to promote road safety for drivers and pedestrains. Those farker pedestrian shd dun have car or no car licence..so wont understand.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pittacuslore Neutral Newbie October 22, 2010 Share October 22, 2010 Especially hate those ginnas who zoom by on their bicycles without stopping to look out for traffic. And those who uses handphone / listen to ipod while walking - zero street sense. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic October 22, 2010 Share October 22, 2010 lots of impatient pple around..better check to ensure own safety I always check when i cross the rd, even the crossing light is green. Cos nowadays many cars beat red light and dun stop at crossing lights! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Timex1441 1st Gear October 22, 2010 Share October 22, 2010 Especially hate those ginnas who zoom by on their bicycles without stopping to look out for traffic. And those who uses handphone / listen to ipod while walking - zero street sense. talking about kids, this morning, as i turned into a hdb carpark for a quick breakfast, 3 kids (1 about 9 yrs old, the other 2 are probably only 5 yrs old) just dashed across the carpark's entry lane. They were eating ice-cream and drinking soda, and were shocked to see my car. Luckily i was moving at only 15km/h and stopped in time. Mind you, NO adult was accompanying them. What to do, i thought getting angry with the kids also no use, just forget it lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic October 22, 2010 Share October 22, 2010 (edited) I just love the drivers, pedestrains and riders that only look straight ahead and never look left and right. Its like their head cannot turn! Edited October 22, 2010 by Jamesc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Teowilliam Neutral Newbie October 22, 2010 Share October 22, 2010 You really forgot the Highway Code? haha yes. forgotten some of them.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic October 22, 2010 Share October 22, 2010 talking about kids, this morning, as i turned into a hdb carpark for a quick breakfast, 3 kids (1 about 9 yrs old, the other 2 are probably only 5 yrs old) just dashed across the carpark's entry lane. They were eating ice-cream and drinking soda, and were shocked to see my car. Luckily i was moving at only 15km/h and stopped in time. Mind you, NO adult was accompanying them. What to do, i thought getting angry with the kids also no use, just forget it lor. Always happened at my area, always saw kids dashed across the carpark entrance. Most of the time, even saw those kids run down the ramp in the MSCP, sometimes even accompany by adult also like this! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Expertz 1st Gear October 22, 2010 Share October 22, 2010 for those who are driving manual cars and know how to force a wheelspin, can deliberately go as close as possible to the pedestrian and spin your wheels you'll see them jump out of the way :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vroomtattat 2nd Gear October 22, 2010 Share October 22, 2010 Yalar, I always tell my son . . . see that aunty in front, "WONDER WOMAN!" better not knock into her. See that unker? He's Iron Man in disguise . . . . he'll smash our car to bits if you drive too close to him. Check out that dude!~ Batista! Daddy has to drive carefully . . . What the heck! PORR!! PORR!! and see them jump out of their skin I'm bad and I love it! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear October 22, 2010 Share October 22, 2010 (edited) haha yes. forgotten some of them.. Not to worry. Many others also like that (among reasons for accidents). Go to NTUC or Popular and you can buy them. I heard also on Government Gazzette, too. Much cheaper than learning through accidents or fined for traffic offences Edited October 22, 2010 by Good-Carbuyer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear October 22, 2010 Share October 22, 2010 Always happened at my area, always saw kids dashed across the carpark entrance. Most of the time, even saw those kids run down the ramp in the MSCP, sometimes even accompany by adult also like this! A little demoralising to see adults misleading children, often, too Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear October 22, 2010 Share October 22, 2010 I just love the drivers, pedestrains and riders that only look straight ahead and never look left and right. Its like their head cannot turn! I happened to learn that these people dent/knock their car so often, unable to recall which happened when Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear October 22, 2010 Share October 22, 2010 talking about kids, this morning, as i turned into a hdb carpark for a quick breakfast, 3 kids (1 about 9 yrs old, the other 2 are probably only 5 yrs old) just dashed across the carpark's entry lane. They were eating ice-cream and drinking soda, and were shocked to see my car. Luckily i was moving at only 15km/h and stopped in time. Mind you, NO adult was accompanying them. What to do, i thought getting angry with the kids also no use, just forget it lor. Likely their parents thought its part of their children playground Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear October 22, 2010 Share October 22, 2010 I always check when i cross the rd, even the crossing light is green. Cos nowadays many cars beat red light and dun stop at crossing lights! An ex-colleague was late on his first day of work because he had rear-ended the front car (mistaken red light for shades of green) with his colour-blindness to red ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...