Honda total cost is 85k.

Assume both sell at cost. No mark up.

BMW130.8/40 = 3.27

Honda 85/20 = 4.25

So, Honda looks higher mark up.

If BMW mark up 20k and Honda 10k,

BMW 150.8/40= 3.77

Honda 95/20 = 4.75

Honda still appear to mark up more than BMW although BMW mark up 10k more than Honda.

Blame the high COE.

Hmm... maybe, our COE system should change from bidding a price to bidding the multiplier.

I bid 1.3x of OMV. You bid 1.5x. You win. If you use it to buy Honda, you pay 30k COE. If buy BMW, you pay 50k. [cool]

If buy ferraricalifonia, you pay 300k COE. Ai mai?

you dont understand lah.. ppl give me wrong info.

USD 30K Jap car selling at S$70K in singapore is not true. :angry:

if not i will had bought a EVO liao :angry:

(A) BMW 3-series can get for S$60k in USA but u pay S$180k here compared to (B) Jap cars $30k in USA you pay S$70 in SG... i simply can't stomach the premium for (A)

COE Is the same regardless.. the markup by LTA is a factor above the OMV, of cos the higher the OMV and higer the mark up

as i said, dont use honda cos they prcing is screwed up

http://usnews.rankingsandreviews.com/cars-...Toyota_Corolla/

USA Corolla = US$14k (lowest price) = S$18k

SG Corolla = S$83k

Premium = S$65k

USA BMW = US$33k (lowest) = S$43k

SG BMW = S$183k

Premium = S$ 140

do we need more maths lessons?

COE Is the same regardless.. the markup by LTA is a factor above the OMV, of cos the higher the OMV and higer the mark up

as i said, dont use honda cos they prcing is screwed up

http://usnews.rankingsandreviews.com/cars-...Toyota_Corolla/

USA Corolla = US$14k (lowest price) = S$18k

SG Corolla = S$83k

Premium = S$65k

USA BMW = US$33k (lowest) = S$43k

SG BMW = S$183k

Premium = S$ 140

do we need more maths lessons?

you see the problem here is you are measuring by cost.

i measure by %.

you do consumer method of counting.i do corperate method of counting.

Edited by Joseph22

hi all.

Sorry but a bit off-topic question..

My fren broke her center] wiper armLancer 2007 left side[. It was vandalised by someone.

Anybody can advise how best to get a replacement arm. 2nd hand[scrapyard], sparepart shop or agent?

E cheapest n easiest option is prefered.

Thanks.

i dont... wats your point? i dont need to eat a $100 burger to know I won't pay $100 for a burger

edit: i dont need to eat a $100 burger to know I won't pay $100 for a burger that i can have for $20 elsewhere in the world

Last question, have you ever owned a bmw?

hi all.

Sorry but a bit off-topic question..

My fren broke her center] wiper armLancer 2007 left side[. It was vandalised by someone.

Anybody can advise how best to get a replacement arm. 2nd hand[scrapyard], sparepart shop or agent?

E cheapest n easiest option is prefered.

Thanks.

Can try asking those spare parts shop at AV. Not sure of installation though.

Sorry but what is AV? BTW any idea how much a new 1 cost?

Installation no prob. I can do it easily.

Thanks.

so have u own a lambor b4 and would u buy it in sg? [rolleyes]

i will buy when i have the money.

but i wont jump in and say i rather buy a GTR for 300K than to get a Lambo for 800K cause i dont want to pay extra money for it [sly] Neither will i say ppl who buy it is because of branding. when i did not even tested or own both cars before to tell any different.

but i can tell you. i wont but a altis for 70K when i can get a lancer for 50K when both are almost equal. but i will get a Jetta for 100K over my Lancer for 50K because of the whole car make in terms of quality and handling. [sly]

I think you guys heard the new Proton Inspira , it look totally the same as Lancer

If this car comes to singapore , Mitsubishi Lancer owners will be pissed off .

It is made in Japan? if not there is no way to feel pissed -off..I give you 2 yrs to drive this car and the problem start coming in ...anyone agree? [laugh]

Bmw has the brand prowess... we can't deny that.

A true car-lover will not perceive a car in terms of absolute dollars and cents... he will not be entirely rationale when it comes to the price tag... in a way, the heart rules over the head when he buys a car.

It's a want, not a need.

Nowadays, many ppl are affluent enough to spend on expensive cars. Some make the conscious decision after comparing specs and so-on, but there are always those who buy a car purely for the brand, having no idea of its horsepower or its limitation. These are the badge whores.

To be frank, buying a car in sg is never a "wise" choice. No matter what, it will only depreciate in value. As long as you can accept this trade-off for convenience and comfort, and can afford it the same time, just get whatever catches your eye, don't bother too much about the "worthiness" part. As long as it brings joy to you when you own it or drive it, it is "worth" it...

and yes btw, "sheer driving pleasure" is something you should really experience. Have a nice day.

for those non-believers who are driving EX. like i said, once Inspira is launched and the resale value of your EX drops significantly, dont say I never warn you

enjoy your EX

Dont worry,as long it is made in Japan,the value will always be there.. [laugh]

wah sad for those lancer/evo owners [:(] Omg , what if next time more ppl buy proton instead of evo/lancer just for the looks and its cheaper ?! I dont want mit. to lose out to a "copycat" company !

Ppl will look into quality of engine.As the look is about the same,kudos for all lancer EX/EVO,you guys will be less target at the bolehland for car theft and can mod the exterior look with a cheaper price and easily available...cheers! :D