Aaronlkl Supersonic October 21, 2010 Share October 21, 2010 Heng ah... I sold my Lancer couple of months ago ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dpsk Neutral Newbie October 21, 2010 Share October 21, 2010 wow great! then the proton 'lancer' owner can fake the real lancer emblem liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged October 21, 2010 Share October 21, 2010 well, lets wait and see how the proton gonna tag this product. if they are smart and tag it well, it gonna be a boom. i feel that we singaporean are pretty brand concerns, despite a cat can eat fish, but it being a black cat. we discard its services. too bad, i love hatchbacks, otherwise may consider changing to this next year Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wolfy3769 2nd Gear October 21, 2010 Share October 21, 2010 not really lah... malaysia also had license built Matrix and Wish.... it only bring good news to Lancer EX owner.. that mean we maybe able to get cheaper parts (for those not really important thing.. like bumper.. mirror.. head light..) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Majordan 2nd Gear October 21, 2010 Share October 21, 2010 well, lets wait and see how the proton gonna tag this product. if they are smart and tag it well, it gonna be a boom. i feel that we singaporean are pretty brand concerns, despite a cat can eat fish, but it being a black cat. we discard its services. too bad, i love hatchbacks, otherwise may consider changing to this next year why do u thk BMW 3-series is such a hot seller? 180k gives u 156bhp (same as Forte), sales topping charts SG = face above all else Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Noel Clutched October 21, 2010 Share October 21, 2010 The rest of the car look just like lancer ex. Oh man. Then this is something to talk about. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haikel 1st Gear October 21, 2010 Share October 21, 2010 will definetly kill the ex market juz like when sonatas become taxis. worse if it becomes taxi... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged October 21, 2010 Share October 21, 2010 why do u thk BMW 3-series is such a hot seller? 180k gives u 156bhp (same as Forte), sales topping charts SG = face above all else you go and drive a BMW and then go and drive a Forte then come and tell us which car you prefer. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Antsig30 Neutral Newbie October 21, 2010 Share October 21, 2010 Don't think Proton will be able to sell in Singapore. Or else C&C will kapeh to Mitsubishi. Just like Myvi is not available in Singapore market, the parent company does not allow it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Estrangable 5th Gear October 21, 2010 Share October 21, 2010 why would anyone in the right mind buy a proton or malaysian car?? The price aint exactly cheap...throw in a few more k, you can get a korean or entry level jap car I have drove my ex gf kelisa on nsh...the whole freaking car was shaking at 110km/h. It's like sitting on top of a washing machine...there are squeaks and funny sounds all around. The guages aint exactly accurate and worst still....cheap plastics everywhere...its like touching a cheap plastic pail the new myvi and other proton cars are equally crap....come on, even their own malaysians dun want to buy their local cars... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Estrangable 5th Gear October 21, 2010 Share October 21, 2010 Don't think Proton will be able to sell in Singapore. Or else C&C will kapeh to Mitsubishi. Just like Myvi is not available in Singapore market, the parent company does not allow it. myvi is available in singapore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Estrangable 5th Gear October 21, 2010 Share October 21, 2010 Malaysia is paying for it. Directly & indirectly. The local mfgs stays afloat by being protected by high taxes imposed on imported cars. This in turn leads to other car mfg countries imposing tax on Malaysian product, causing them to lose competitiveness in the global market. The country's overall trade suffers as a result but the mfgs & their owner profit. Also, the national resources needed to build more & more roads to cope with the large number of cars. Traffic jams cost money too. Lastly, the subsidy for fuel comes from the national coffers too. In all, Malaysia is better off without their national car programme. A national car programme is suppose to be help the country make $$$ by boosting export. In Malaysia's case, it is doing much more harm than good. i concur ... the reason why it still exists is because of vested interests...remove the tariffs and the national car makers will go under within a year Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thugstercena Clutched October 21, 2010 Share October 21, 2010 Or will it be called Laton......or LONTONG it'll be called potong! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Majordan 2nd Gear October 21, 2010 Share October 21, 2010 (edited) you go and drive a BMW and then go and drive a Forte then come and tell us which car you prefer. let's put in this way la... i take out the BMW emblem and replace it with Kia or Proton logo, will u be happy spending 180k for it? or would you pay at most 90k for it? for more than double the cost, i tell you I prefer Forte. if both same price of cos take BMW Edited October 21, 2010 by Majordan Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged October 21, 2010 Share October 21, 2010 (edited) let's put in this way la... i take out the BMW emblem and replace it with Kia or Proton logo, will u be happy spending 180k for it? or would you pay at most 90k for it? for more than double the cost, i tell you I prefer Forte. if both same price of cos take BMW Lousy reason. Proton is creating the same level of quality and refinement first then talk. Edited October 21, 2010 by Joseph22 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jolie888 Clutched October 21, 2010 Share October 21, 2010 Don't think Proton will be able to sell in Singapore. Or else C&C will kapeh to Mitsubishi. Just like Myvi is not available in Singapore market, the parent company does not allow it. Eh hello, the Perodua Myvi IS available in Singapore for the longest time lah. sgcarmart - Perodua Myvi Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Glxfan 1st Gear October 21, 2010 Share October 21, 2010 Malaysia is paying for it. Directly & indirectly. The local mfgs stays afloat by being protected by high taxes imposed on imported cars. This in turn leads to other car mfg countries imposing tax on Malaysian product, causing them to lose competitiveness in the global market. The country's overall trade suffers as a result but the mfgs & their owner profit. Also, the national resources needed to build more & more roads to cope with the large number of cars. Traffic jams cost money too. Lastly, the subsidy for fuel comes from the national coffers too. In all, Malaysia is better off without their national car programme. A national car programme is suppose to be help the country make $$$ by boosting export. In Malaysia's case, it is doing much more harm than good. I think it's like they are forced to a corner, no other strategy they can take on anyway, export numbers aren't really high, coupled with consumer image of proton in boleh land not too good, imagine if they lift the high import tax sure die even faster hence they to adopted a protectionist stance, just like how in the past brazil slap on import bans on their high end consumer products, also they can't just stop the national car programme with such surmounting lvls of investment being made, moreover, no one wants to buy over (eg. VW). Problem lies with the mfgs and owner profits like you said, none is passed on to consumers...their branding is also so rojak, even the consumers are confused what the proton brand really means (sporty? cheap? VFM? luxury?) i feel they are just trying out everything possible without any forward planning, just my point of view They probably need to do much more than just lifting high import tax and work on key areas such as product innovation (which they are trying to, by copying mit products) and branding locally first, just like what Kia / Hyundai did Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic October 21, 2010 Share October 21, 2010 i thk C&C salesmen will curse the most ya man. old lancer and colt way past expiry date. new lancer look like proton. no mid-size galant to sell. Delica MPV look like hearse. ASX looks mutated. poor things. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...