Joseph22 Turbocharged October 18, 2010 Share October 18, 2010 he should have used termasek review instead good idea. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged October 18, 2010 Share October 18, 2010 What's the next blackmail u think TR will come up with since u mentioned "one blackmail after another"? First of all, TR did not even demand that they want money for returning the domain name. Both TR and TH are operating on different platforms. One is an investment arm, the other a political blog. There's no conflicts of business interests between them. If someone surfing both sites can't differentiate the difference between the 2, then I have nothing to say. To me, it looks more of a commercial transaction if an offer was made. How many people have actually heard of Temasek Review is a review within Temasek Holdings before they came out to demand a name change? do you notice that the main point is TR is now a trade mark and copy right? having this set up, they are preparing to sue TR. the only thing is, they are waiting for the right time to strike. sending out legal letters to them to request they stop using TR is in a way giving them chance to amend. if they dont listen. good luck to them, legal suit coming, since TR had already being trade mark and copy righted. although, if they register TR in another country, we do not know if its still legal to sue them or not. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mrlau Clutched October 19, 2010 Share October 19, 2010 some biaseness i agree. but most are nosense trying to push all blame to gahment. From this aspect we know the website is genuine from Singapore, because Singaporean is good in blaming others. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged October 19, 2010 Share October 19, 2010 From this aspect we know the website is genuine from Singapore, because Singaporean is good in blaming others. i am singaporean. but i am not good in blaming others leh... i will feel guilty one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator October 19, 2010 Share October 19, 2010 i am singaporean. but i am not good in blaming others leh... i will feel guilty one. you sinkie alright...see the way you argue and fight till cows come home....evident al Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged October 19, 2010 Share October 19, 2010 you sinkie alright...see the way you argue and fight till cows come home....evident al this is call fighting spirit.. good attribute wor but i dont blame others :angry: i only scold them nia Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator October 19, 2010 Share October 19, 2010 this is call fighting spirit.. good attribute wor but i dont blame others :angry: i only scold them nia nb...go hong kan....er hong lim park to puk lah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator October 19, 2010 Share October 19, 2010 this is call fighting spirit.. good attribute wor but i dont blame others :angry: i only scold them nia this is what they call 'chicken even when in pot will kick the cover' Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andrewl Clutched October 19, 2010 Share October 19, 2010 "3. The name Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged October 19, 2010 Share October 19, 2010 this is what they call 'chicken even when in pot will kick the cover' so cruel cook chicken alive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged October 19, 2010 Share October 19, 2010 "3. The name "The Temasek Review" is already in use since July 2009 while Temasek Holdings only registered for trademark rights November 9, 2009 in Singapore." Correct me if I'm wrong but an alternative way of seeing this is that a possible reason to register the trademark is due to the the name being used by the "hidden editors" when they changed their name from the previous name? I think so too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dpsk Neutral Newbie October 19, 2010 Share October 19, 2010 2 possibility. 1. should there be a buyout of the domain, i recommend TR request them to donate the $ to charity. but i guess the liklihood is they will not negotiate with TR domain name. 2. it is meant to be a warning shot. nothing more since they should know that there are too many of these sites that is almost impossible to track and destroy. you shutdown 1, there will be 10 more that comes up. in fact if TR is smart, they should register tons of domain name and reverse proxy them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hwt Neutral Newbie October 19, 2010 Share October 19, 2010 (edited) How about changing to singaporereview.com? Or singaporenow.com (like malaysiakini.com). Edited October 19, 2010 by Hwt Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear October 20, 2010 Share October 20, 2010 do you notice that the main point is TR is now a trade mark and copy right? having this set up, they are preparing to sue TR. the only thing is, they are waiting for the right time to strike. sending out legal letters to them to request they stop using TR is in a way giving them chance to amend. if they dont listen. good luck to them, legal suit coming, since TR had already being trade mark and copy righted. although, if they register TR in another country, we do not know if its still legal to sue them or not. Yes, the press mentioned that it was registered as a trademark. However, the trademark is registered locally or overseas? I believe if the trademark isn't registered in the country of where TR is hosted, then there's nothing TH can do. As what somone had mentioned earlier, you shut one down, 10 others will come up. It's not a good idea to force them to do a name change, who knows what name TR will come up with next. TH has home ground advantage if it should sue TR locally, but doubt it'll have any if challenged overseas. And they are just pointing to a Joseph Ong as the site administrator to serve him the notice. I doubt they know the true identites of the "4 memebers of the editoral team" to serve them any legal writs. It's wierd, TH served the notice to Joseph Ong (which may not be part of TR at all) instead of sending an official email to TR's email address. If say in another case, it is a foreign individual on a overseas site, how would TH serve the notice then? By the site's written email right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hosaybo 6th Gear October 20, 2010 Share October 20, 2010 based on the date, it seems the TR is used before the registration by TH and so even if the website is in SG, there is prior use b4 registration arguements. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dpsk Neutral Newbie October 20, 2010 Share October 20, 2010 dr joseph ong is just a way to put a face to the whole show. whether he is really the owner or not, it doesn't matter. the show now has the good and the bad guys. the start of discrediting, debate, ugly disposition, etc all come out. then let the simple minded or those being swingover get reprogramed and re-inserted back into the matrix. job done. case closed. next target. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...