WirelessSG is just so crapy!!

Ping911

free one leyyyyyyyyy

Free one should also have some standard ok....

Drain water is also free...why not one drink it?

yah just like food scrap from trash bin. i'm surprised that u didn't suggest that.

Some places the wireless@sg is very stable, i'm able to even stream youtube videos without any problem. Some is damn jialat, connected to wireless@sg, but like not connected to internet. Heng suay depends on location.

But seriously, even if it's free, doesn't mean it got to be non-working right?? Government already spent dunno how much to money connect the entire island, tax money also our money.

If you observe around, "Freemium" model is a recurring theme in Singapore. Some service is given free but the QoS is appalling but then again it is free what can you say right? Want decent QoS, pay lor. thats why at the login page of Wireless@SG you see links for Wireless@SG for 3Mbps (paid) there for you.

Anyway nowadays mobile broadband is so affordable. if you need to have dependable connectivity on the move, suggest you sign up for one connection la.

I don't use wireless@sg but I disagree with many of you saying this service is "free". The cost of setting up all these connection points over the island borne by who ??? YOU and ME the tax payers ! [knife]

The wireless@sg service at libraries are quite okay and reliable. Shopping mall, quite patchy. If in the city, can just move around till u get a good connection. What I don't understand about this free service is why it is not offered at every community centre?? I think CCs should provide free wireless as a service to the surrounding community.

Edited by Sosaria

At least he don't come here KPKB about drain water not drinkable, expect PUB to do something about the QOS of drain water. He goes and buy drinkable bottle water or tap water..

I don't use wireless@sg but I disagree with many of you saying this service is "free". The cost of setting up all these connection points over the island borne by who ??? YOU and ME the tax payers ! [knife]

So the next time we see a foreigner logging on... we tell them internet access is rightfully ours? [confused]

Wireless@SGx is free but free does not mean it should be crap

using the library media service (pay) internet - super slow, wrote in but still the same

so slow that you can see your $ flying away like the red bull advert

yaloh. most of the toilet in singapore are free. but cant be free and cannot use mah. imagine the toilet is opened but all cubicles are locked and no water from the tap.

So the next time we see a foreigner logging on... we tell them internet access is rightfully ours? [confused]

foreigners working in Singapore also pay tax la...

@ Nlatio, Relagsingh, please read my original post properly. I am not even talking about decent speeds. As I said, it is "understanable since it is a free hotspot". What I was saying it is that it is so slow, that it might even be slower than a 14.4kbs 10 year old modem. Not everything in Wikipedia is always 100% accurate, but check this out. I believe these should at least be a min of 512kbps on the basic (free) tier. Shared among 10 users for example, wouldn't it be 50-60kbps at min. Relagsingh, using vulgarity, I think was unwarranted. We all don't have to agree on a topic, and this is the beauty of the open internet forums, but vulgarity was just unwarranted.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wireless@SG

Also, to some of you who think the service is FREE. Let's be clear about this. 30Mil to 100Mil was pumped in by the IDA to trigger WirelessSG. Ask yourself, who's 30Mil is that? This is an issue of principles. Sure...no problem. you can get paid services, but that's missing the point. What about those who are not well-off and rely on the WirelessSG?

"The trigger for this has been the Government's efforts to open up the broadband market. It is committing $30 million of the $100 million needed to roll out the Wireless@SG service."

http://www.asiamedia.ucla.edu/article.asp?parentid=58836

Finally, I thought I had put this post in the correct section under Lite & Ez. Not car related, and really it was my chance to just get something off my chest. Maybe I should have just gone cribbing at Stomp or somewhere else, but guess cause I was more familiar with this site, I got the issue of my chest here. I've seen people putting posts under this section when car SXXxxx cuts into so and so's lane, and lots of other stuff. If it's not of interest to you, just ignore it. What I was really (I guess) trying to see, is whether there is a min QoS defined, and who to report to at IDA??

But as said, maybe I put the post in the wrong forum...and for this I apologise.