Piyopico Supercharged October 14, 2010 Share October 14, 2010 My fren has some unpid phone bills that he never pay after the shop close down. Singtel hired a company to chase for payment, about $300/-. Anyone has experience with these companies? They do have a timeframe to collect and give up after that deadline right? Their letter has a 14 day deadline. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dec_allion Clutched October 15, 2010 Share October 15, 2010 (edited) It is best not to ignore them. If your friend has any reason, try to call them and explain to them to find a solution.after all O$P$ If not able to make full payment, try to negotiate installment. they just want to help their client to get back money. Edited October 15, 2010 by Dec_allion Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kohler Neutral Newbie October 15, 2010 Share October 15, 2010 My fren has some unpid phone bills that he never pay after the shop close down. Singtel hired a company to chase for payment, about $300/-. Anyone has experience with these companies? They do have a timeframe to collect and give up after that deadline right? Their letter has a 14 day deadline. When chasing game is over , Singtel will cancel the line. He probably need to pay the reminding contract penalty + $300 . If he thought of subscribing to other telco , it will be hard . Heard that they have a database shared by all the telco to determine who are being blacklisted. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tansrb Neutral Newbie October 15, 2010 Share October 15, 2010 My fren has some unpid phone bills that he never pay after the shop close down. Singtel hired a company to chase for payment, about $300/-. Anyone has experience with these companies? They do have a timeframe to collect and give up after that deadline right? Their letter has a 14 day deadline. if u keep ignoring debt company, the main company might sue you for bankruptcy. no turning back then. lose lose situation. court fees must pay on top of the amt u owe, or u're make a bankrupt Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Piyopico Supercharged October 15, 2010 Author Share October 15, 2010 When chasing game is over , Singtel will cancel the line. He probably need to pay the reminding contract penalty + $300 . If he thought of subscribing to other telco , it will be hard . Heard that they have a database shared by all the telco to determine who are being blacklisted. The shop actually closed 2 years ago. That time was only about $50 outstanding. Guess he forgot to cancel the line. It is a land line and they just keep adding to the bill until more than $300 now. He tried to cancel one year ago over the phone and they say cannot. So he angry nd refuse to pay. Singtel now get credit service company to chase. I told him better to pay cos the company was set up as sole proprietorship. Whatz the chance of them initiating a lawsuit over $300? There must be tonnes of people who just never pay for one reason or another ............... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meganut 2nd Gear October 15, 2010 Share October 15, 2010 (edited) i know of a reputable company that is used by all the big boys for debt recovery services such as telco, finance houses etc.. they are one of Singapore Credit Bureau as well... they will blacklist all bad debtors and this data will be in the database and info will be shared with all their "clients"... (and their clients can be other telco or some finance house) dun forget they are also a credit bureau.. guess who will have problems getting a loan next time? if the finance house do a check and say ops this guy cant even pay $300 and its in bad debts and blacklisted... i think he cannot pay us... simple logic...or worse telco companies put a "cap" on your bills, auto terminate the line once hit $50 or $100 usage... just some illustration that might happen.. go check their company website... dun be shocked if they are a credit bureau... whatever it is, big boys and big players, dun mess with them especially concern $$ Edited October 15, 2010 by Meganut Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear October 15, 2010 Share October 15, 2010 My fren has some unpid phone bills that he never pay after the shop close down. Singtel hired a company to chase for payment, about $300/-. Anyone has experience with these companies? They do have a timeframe to collect and give up after that deadline right? Their letter has a 14 day deadline. Sounds like another conman trick to me. Previous Owners of my place both has same issue with SingTel, TC, PUB, Banks. SingTel keep posting intermitent reminders only (bought unit from Bank sale due to default by last Owner) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tom_kkh 1st Gear October 16, 2010 Share October 16, 2010 Heard that they have a database shared by all the telco to determine who are being blacklisted. confirm no. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moredhel 2nd Gear October 16, 2010 Share October 16, 2010 I think you should attach the letter with your explanation to singtel and ask them for an explanation along with the bill at time of shop closing down. How is it that you are being charged when the line is not in use/has been transfered? Then tell them that this is unethical and will write to ST/Newpaper/LianHe/Stomp if this is not resolved in a satisfactory manner. But only after they tell you "it's your damn problem!" lah.... SWITCH TO STARHUB!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Piyopico Supercharged October 16, 2010 Author Share October 16, 2010 I think you should attach the letter with your explanation to singtel and ask them for an explanation along with the bill at time of shop closing down. How is it that you are being charged when the line is not in use/has been transfered? Then tell them that this is unethical and will write to ST/Newpaper/LianHe/Stomp if this is not resolved in a satisfactory manner. But only after they tell you "it's your damn problem!" lah.... SWITCH TO STARHUB!!! I feel like going down to Singtel and bang table. This is not the way to work. The freaking line has not been in use for two years and they just keep adding to the bill. It seems the line is only suspended, if he pays it will be reactivated and the whole s--t starts again unless the person goes down in person to cancel the line. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic October 16, 2010 Share October 16, 2010 Best is to call ST and explain the situation. If not get MP lor. MP are paid lots of money to handle this type of situations. Must make them work. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
themagi Neutral Newbie October 16, 2010 Share October 16, 2010 (edited) Not sure, but Singtel sure send the gorilla lawyers to back the debt collection. You probably have to get legal advice, and this pushes up the costs of everything. Edited October 16, 2010 by themagi Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Davidklt Supercharged October 16, 2010 Share October 16, 2010 (edited) tell your fren..just be a man..if really used the service, owe money..then pay up. if not, hum tam singtel. Why hide like a mouse? Edited October 16, 2010 by Davidtkl Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged October 16, 2010 Share October 16, 2010 $300 worth it for bad credit history? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Firefly968 Neutral Newbie October 16, 2010 Share October 16, 2010 TS, your friend closed shop doesn't mean no need to pay creditors. It was $50, why dragged and let it snow balled more than $300? Think they'll forget? Better make a trip to singtel and negotiate a closure unless he doesnt mind risk getting into deeper shxt. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
D3badge 6th Gear October 16, 2010 Share October 16, 2010 (edited) The shop actually closed 2 years ago. That time was only about $50 outstanding. Guess he forgot to cancel the line. It is a land line and they just keep adding to the bill until more than $300 now. He tried to cancel one year ago over the phone and they say cannot. So he angry nd refuse to pay. Singtel now get credit service company to chase. I told him better to pay cos the company was set up as sole proprietorship. Whatz the chance of them initiating a lawsuit over $300? There must be tonnes of people who just never pay for one reason or another ............... be fair to singtel, whether ur friend really forget or pretend to forget is not singtel fault. if not all singtel customers also can forget got "bill" $50?? 2 years ago?? there is something call time value of money and interests thus now $300. I dunno how Singtel add to $300 maybe base on property inflation or COE Lawsuit unlikely cause amount too small not worth Singtel Time and Money. but like some bros mention $300 to exchange one "credit worthiness" worth it?? to me O$P$ 2 years is 730days and counting notihng wrong with singtel asking more than $50 Edited October 16, 2010 by D3badge Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tarzan666 2nd Gear October 17, 2010 Share October 17, 2010 I have an uncle who is a frequent guest in changi prison. Everytime he come out he will apply lines frm all telco, the highest plan to get free phones then he will sell off for money. Then he checked in again, best part is address he put my mum home address. Coz he dun have a fixed residential address, received such debt collection companies letters till sian.. Usu we ignore and once a while a guy will come looking for him to collect debt. We juz say collect frm him in changi....lucky he nvr borrow frm ah long. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karoon Turbocharged October 17, 2010 Share October 17, 2010 My fren has some unpid phone bills that he never pay after the shop close down. my fren ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...