Looking for Nurse

Mustank

My friend's mom is very sick

He doesnt want to send her to the hospice and is thinking of engaging a nurse for a few months

Anyone knows any lobangs, without going thru nursing agency?

Check the classified ads front page on last Saturday or Sunday. Tot I saw an ad for capable nurses for old and sick people.

before my dad passed away, we engage a caregiver to take care of him, they are also trained in basic nursing and can help to administer medicine, help to bath, changes etc, all this in our home.

2 of them take 2 shift, 1 at night and 1 in the daytime, i remember paying close to $2k for 1 week of service, before switching to a maid for his last few months, pockets not deep enough thus bopian.

if you want qualified nurse, i think more expensive, if just someone to take care of their basic needs, i think caregiver is good enough.

i got mine from comfortkeepers(http://www.comfortkeepers.com.sg)

try the nursing homes (ECON, Orange Valley, St. Luke, etc), they do provide such services.

I don't think he needs those 24/7 care, call the nursing home and they will advice him what to do.

He doesnt want to send her to the hospice and is thinking of engaging a nurse for a few months

You think your 'frd's mom' is going by the surname ..Gecko Kwa? :D

The nursing home best of the best.....has price starting from close to $10K /mth.

Can afford that or not?

If not what for talk about private nurses?

================================================================

The type of ppl you eventually get to know from this forum and many others, is that ..they start talking about which Ferrari that should suits them but they can't even afford a good jap low end car and is taking mostly 'peasant' transport in their lives!

===================

maybe your fren can take a look at HCA home care option, assuming that his mom is not needing medical care 24/7 and there is some primary care-giver at home. can't remember if a doc's recommendaton / referral is needed.

one thing for sure, the folk would like to stay at the comfort of a familiar environment till the last moment.

maybe your fren can take a look at HCA home care option, assuming that his mom is not needing medical care 24/7 and there is some primary care-giver at home. can't remember if a doc's recommendaton / referral is needed.

one thing for sure, the folk would like to stay at the comfort of a familiar environment till the last moment.

i think a referal is needed by the doctor, my dad case was also refered to HCA by NCC when he was diagnose with just a few months left.

HCA sent a nurse to check on my dad once a week, a doctor will come if the nurse deem my Dad condition to have worsen. All this without charging us a single cent, we made a voluntary donation & till now, we are really thankful for the nurse who attended to my Dad for her encouragement.

What type of nurse you want? AGe, looks? Chio or not? Costume?

HCA is not accessible to general public i believe.

If your mum's friend is actively dying, a non-hospice trained nurse is unlikely to be able to manage.

Things like morphine etc oso need an institution based doctor to obtain also.

If she's not and just require a caregiver, get a maid and get a pte home nursing or community hospital or NH to teach the maid.

yeah i guess a doc's referral is needed to get to HCA.

one good thing about HCA is it provides training to care-givers (maid / family members also can). Also some of the patient-care equipment can be loaned /rent /arrranged via them instead of buying these things outright.....

i remember some medicine can get from the HCA doc /nurse too , and can asked the nurse to do something like feeding tube etc.......

Hopefully mechanicalised nursing can be allowed here (ever encountered foreign nurse who does not know the differences between saline lotion and sterilsed water). She terrified me by saying both had the letter 'S' on the label