Mini-itx Clutched October 13, 2010 Share October 13, 2010 My car's COE is ending soon (less than 2yrs time), thus I am just thinking what can I remove from the car to sell for some $$$. I know I can take out my rims and throw in some cheapo ones with bald tyres. ECU take out also. How about engine? Can I take out the engine and swap in a blown/high mileage one? What else can I remove from the car? Thanks. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic October 13, 2010 Share October 13, 2010 U want to take out the engine? Got use meh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mini-itx Clutched October 13, 2010 Author Share October 13, 2010 On 10/13/2010 at 8:56 AM, 13177 said: U want to take out the engine? Got use meh? Don't know. Just thinking if someone just nice killed his engine, then can do a swap. I take the blown engine since the regulations never say car must be in working condition when its scrapped. I also have an old WTA intercooler system and radiator. Maybe can rip out and sell also..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged October 13, 2010 Share October 13, 2010 remove seats, steering wheel, ICE system, bulbs, etc.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dogegg89 Neutral Newbie October 13, 2010 Share October 13, 2010 just remove everything and lock kok replacement can liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tom_kkh 1st Gear October 13, 2010 Share October 13, 2010 On 10/13/2010 at 9:01 AM, Mini-itx said: Don't know. Just thinking if someone just nice killed his engine, then can do a swap. I take the blown engine since the regulations never say car must be in working condition when its scrapped. I also have an old WTA intercooler system and radiator. Maybe can rip out and sell also..... they will tally yr engine serial no. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Observer 4th Gear October 13, 2010 Share October 13, 2010 take out the used panties u selling Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic October 13, 2010 Share October 13, 2010 On 10/13/2010 at 9:26 AM, Observer said: take out the used panties u selling maybe he wearing them oredi. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sio07 Neutral Newbie October 13, 2010 Share October 13, 2010 On 10/13/2010 at 8:54 AM, Mini-itx said: My car's COE is ending soon (less than 2yrs time), thus I am just thinking what can I remove from the car to sell for some $$$. I know I can take out my rims and throw in some cheapo ones with bald tyres. ECU take out also. How about engine? Can I take out the engine and swap in a blown/high mileage one? What else can I remove from the car? Thanks. You can remove everything except the engine and the chassis. The scrap will only help you to process the "document".if these two tally with your logcard. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Observer 4th Gear October 13, 2010 Share October 13, 2010 On 10/13/2010 at 9:39 AM, Soya said: maybe he wearing them oredi. cannot be...i heard he selling them not for own purposes...though i suspect he will smell first then sell...knn Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moredhel 2nd Gear October 13, 2010 Share October 13, 2010 You can swap your engine with one that's blown out/high mileage. But one of the cars must scrap immediately after(yours in this case). This swap must be documented by the WS with the serial numbers checked and LTA will process the swap acknowledgement. Everything else of monetary value can be removed and replaced with a similiar one. 1) Tyres and rims - sell and swap for stock and near botak tyres(don't get into accident because of tyres) 2) Leather seats sell/swap for fabric 3) Whatever modifications you do on top of original 4) Dashboard, plastic covers, door panels boot lids, hoods head/tail lamps, alarm system, there's a buyer for everything. Don't let it go to waste by giving everything away to the scrap yard who will carrot interested buyers anyway. I'm sure someone out that is looking for a part and don't want to spend a bomb. (e.g. catalyst, muffler, gearbox, engine cover, interior parts) Hope this helps cheerios! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mini-itx Clutched October 13, 2010 Author Share October 13, 2010 On 10/13/2010 at 9:44 AM, Sio07 said: You can remove everything except the engine and the chassis. The scrap will only help you to process the "document".if these two tally with your logcard. OIC, so the chassis and engine number must tally. Hmm.... Then I am thinking about removing the internals of the engine....hmm..... I think the camshafts and crank will worth something..... Pistons and conrods don't think anyone wants. Valves and springs....maybe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mini-itx Clutched October 13, 2010 Author Share October 13, 2010 On 10/13/2010 at 9:59 AM, Moredhel said: You can swap your engine with one that's blown out/high mileage. But one of the cars must scrap immediately after(yours in this case). This swap must be documented by the WS with the serial numbers checked and LTA will process the swap acknowledgement. Everything else of monetary value can be removed and replaced with a similiar one. 1) Tyres and rims - sell and swap for stock and near botak tyres(don't get into accident because of tyres) 2) Leather seats sell/swap for fabric 3) Whatever modifications you do on top of original 4) Dashboard, plastic covers, door panels boot lids, hoods head/tail lamps, alarm system, there's a buyer for everything. Don't let it go to waste by giving everything away to the scrap yard who will carrot interested buyers anyway. OIC, OK thanks!! I'm sure someone out that is looking for a part and don't want to spend a bomb. (e.g. catalyst, muffler, gearbox, engine cover, interior parts) Hope this helps cheerios! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged October 13, 2010 Share October 13, 2010 Just scrapped my old car at the beginning of this year. Removed everything except the engine and chasis. even the doors and a few other panels also swapped. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic October 13, 2010 Share October 13, 2010 It depends on the scrapyard. Some wants to export it out and they want a working car. So you need to remove and replace those you think are valuable before handing over. Some really scrap and only require paperwork to be completed properly with LTA, with regards to chassis and engine number. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Krado Clutched October 13, 2010 Share October 13, 2010 On 10/13/2010 at 8:54 AM, Mini-itx said: What else can I remove from the car? Your panty collection. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mini-itx Clutched October 14, 2010 Author Share October 14, 2010 Is it compulsory to have the Turbo mounted with the engine when I scrap the car? Or can I just rip out the tubo and scrap with just bare engine (no intake and exhaust manifold as well). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic October 14, 2010 Share October 14, 2010 On 10/13/2010 at 10:51 AM, Kb27 said: It depends on the scrapyard. Some wants to export it out and they want a working car. So you need to remove and replace those you think are valuable before handing over. Some really scrap and only require paperwork to be completed properly with LTA, with regards to chassis and engine number. Scrap and export two difference thing, right?! If u know tht ur car will be scrapped, removing all the things shld not be problem. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...