Nikolaiski Neutral Newbie October 12, 2010 Share October 12, 2010 (edited) As above... 1. Bridgestone RE001 2. DZ101 3. Michelin PS3 For those who have used at least 2 of these, which ones have the: 1- Stiffest sidewall 2- BEST wet weather grip 3- POSITIVE steering feedback in all conditions I don't care about comfort levels, etc etc, only these three things.. I've used 3 sets of RE001s for nearly 4 years over 2 different cars (a Getz and then my current Lancer Ralliart as my daily driver), so kinda lost touch with the rest of the tyre range My last set of RE001s lasted exactly a year (time to change this week) when I clocked about 55,000km so that gives you an idea of the sort of driver I am. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated thanks :) Edited October 12, 2010 by Nikolaiski ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Twincharged October 12, 2010 Share October 12, 2010 If you are Bridgestone supporter,go for their lastest S-001. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Twincharged October 12, 2010 Share October 12, 2010 ....but i knew PS 3 is a softer & quieter tyre.....& for Dunlop,not known. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nikolaiski Neutral Newbie October 13, 2010 Author Share October 13, 2010 (edited) wah..replacement RE050 ah? Bo lui....bwahahah. besides, there isn't a size for my car :) Edited October 13, 2010 by Nikolaiski Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zniper 2nd Gear October 13, 2010 Share October 13, 2010 toyo T1R??? very gd wet grip... i'm using it now... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nikolaiski Neutral Newbie October 13, 2010 Author Share October 13, 2010 i'm scared of the T1R's noise....hahaha. But it's a very good tyre nevertheless. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Comnao 1st Gear October 13, 2010 Share October 13, 2010 i used them all on my prev LGT. my fav is RE001 bcos wet / dry grip is there w decent level road noise. And price is value for $ if $ is no object, i would had gone for RE11 but for my purposes, thats an overkill DZ101 is extremely good in dry but slightly less confidence in wet esp in NSHW And it hardens very fast. 25K harden liao. And the road noise is driving me nuts. i currently use PS3 on my E39. it is decent. but performance wise i cant tell very much, partly also bcos my 2L IL6 is no prancing horse... doesnt even come close Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoppie24 1st Gear October 13, 2010 Share October 13, 2010 I am on DZ101, just got it a month back but i not hardcore driver. The wet is ok, so far so good, can cut water well, dry is ok, not too noisy. Rim protector is really THICK, can really protect your rims compared to RE001. My previous car was on RE001 and with a Advan RZ tires and i scrap my rims so many times and repair it :( so heart pain. I wish i had DZ101 on the RZ so i dun have to spend so much repairing rims :( Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoppie24 1st Gear October 13, 2010 Share October 13, 2010 i used them all on my prev LGT. my fav is RE001 bcos wet / dry grip is there w decent level road noise. And price is value for $ if $ is no object, i would had gone for RE11 but for my purposes, thats an overkill DZ101 is extremely good in dry but slightly less confidence in wet esp in NSHW And it hardens very fast. 25K harden liao. And the road noise is driving me nuts. i currently use PS3 on my E39. it is decent. but performance wise i cant tell very much, partly also bcos my 2L IL6 is no prancing horse... doesnt even come close Oh Fiak! :( now still quiet leh TMD Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zniper 2nd Gear October 13, 2010 Share October 13, 2010 i'm scared of the T1R's noise....hahaha. But it's a very good tyre nevertheless. hmm maybe my previous bridestone tyres oso noisy tat's y i dun feel the diff wif my T1R... hahahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nikolaiski Neutral Newbie October 13, 2010 Author Share October 13, 2010 hahaha. ya the RE001s only get noisy at the 50,000km mark..and even then it's not THAT bad lah.. bro Comnao..your E39 although not a performance car by any means should be a good gague of the PS3's capabilities because the BMW is heavier than the LGT and wet/cornering speeds don't really require much horsepower lah :) Guess i'll be deciding between the PS3 and sticking to the RE001 for now..lotsa good reviews in the comfort/wet department..question is..how's the sidewall/steering feedback combo..haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nikolaiski Neutral Newbie October 13, 2010 Author Share October 13, 2010 hmm maybe my previous bridestone tyres oso noisy tat's y i dun feel the diff wif my T1R... hahahaha ehh, which Bridgestones were you using before the T1Rs? Lotsa feedback saying T1Rs v noisy..that's why i'm abit apprehensive, but the Toyos are good tyres man...haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic October 13, 2010 Share October 13, 2010 t1r wet performance is certainly good, but its sidewall is soft compare to b/s re001. the potenza tyre is famous for stiff sidewall. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mugen85 1st Gear October 13, 2010 Share October 13, 2010 My advice is if you are scared of noise, Stick to either PS3 or RE001. Both also able to last you for quite some time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic October 13, 2010 Share October 13, 2010 ehh, which Bridgestones were you using before the T1Rs? Lotsa feedback saying T1Rs v noisy..that's why i'm abit apprehensive, but the Toyos are good tyres man...haha depending on size, u might want to check out newer model of toyo , proxes c1s and toyo drb, noisewise should be way better then t1r, but performance wise i cannot say . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jazz 2nd Gear October 13, 2010 Share October 13, 2010 Previously on RE001, I would say is a good UHP tyres, now currently on PP2 not PS3, it good enuf for me, stiff sidewall, good in dry and wet. Noise I would say better than RE001. Not a Dunlop supporter here. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zniper 2nd Gear October 13, 2010 Share October 13, 2010 hmm maybe my previous bridestone tyres oso noisy tat's y i dun feel the diff wif my T1R... hahahaha i would like to say but seriously i forgotten liao... somemore at tat point of time i not so particular abt tyres... haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ODCmaniac 2nd Gear October 17, 2010 Share October 17, 2010 Can PS3 fits on odc? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...