simpohheng Neutral Newbie March 7, 2019 Share March 7, 2019 One common problem with W124 are the fuel distributor; the "brain" behind the car. But you can easily get used or recon ones on ebay. Not too expensive; USD200. Nice ride but fuel consumption is high! Had & drove a W124 for the past 24 years before finally parted ways with it in Jan. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kcsek Neutral Newbie May 4, 2019 Share May 4, 2019 (edited) On 2/14/2019 at 10:48 AM, DACH said: Just spotted this gem days back! 9B5A7882-C12C-4785-BDB8-C6C9D4E06943.jpeg nice looking gem! Edited May 4, 2019 by kcsek Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yamapi 6th Gear August 26, 2022 Share August 26, 2022 Is 1993 model is using 16 valve? This unit looks pretty well maintained https://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.php?ID=1128597&DL=2434 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic August 26, 2022 Share August 26, 2022 (edited) On 8/26/2022 at 2:53 PM, Yamapi said: Is 1993 model is using 16 valve? This unit looks pretty well maintained https://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.php?ID=1128597&DL=2434 Expand The ad only says good for short term usage, does not (dare not ) say good for renewing COE . Hmmm.. Edited August 26, 2022 by Ct3833 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ody_2004 Turbocharged August 27, 2022 Share August 27, 2022 On 8/26/2022 at 2:53 PM, Yamapi said: Is 1993 model is using 16 valve? This unit looks pretty well maintained https://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.php?ID=1128597&DL=2434 Expand This one look like my ex car... if so yes 16 valve.. later 93 use 16 valve.. original plate was replaced with my plate then another random plate as below. if it was my unit back then spend alot to do up at Zen motor.. Ah Hua (if i not wrong) see me liao faint as i very anal even getting any instrument panel light replaced.. full body paint was resprayed.. interior MBTex was repaired at Eunos.. Old man think no longer ard.. but those were back in 2007! whahahahahahha.. 13 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Twincharged August 27, 2022 Share August 27, 2022 @Ody_2004 Frankily speaking the M-111[16 Valves] Engine not as smooth as the M-102[8 Valves]Engine,in the W124,the best Engine still the M-103 straight 6,3.0 Engine...as 300E. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ody_2004 Turbocharged August 27, 2022 Share August 27, 2022 On 8/27/2022 at 7:56 AM, ER-3682 said: @Ody_2004 Frankily speaking the M-111[16 Valves] Engine not as smooth as the M-102[8 Valves]Engine,in the W124,the best Engine still the M-103 straight 6,3.0 Engine...as 300E. Expand oh.. no chance to try wor.. that time i bot this as the condition was ok especially the interior.. cannot tahan those with worn shaggy interior de.. especially those Masterpiece seat with sulked driver seats! guess most mercs driver then are bui bui one.. whahahahahaha.. seem the 8 valves one pple looking for 91/92 model? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Twincharged August 27, 2022 Share August 27, 2022 @Ody_2004 yes..the 89-92..up to SBV plate. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Twincharged August 27, 2022 Share August 27, 2022 The Pre ''Cat'' M-102 Version even better,more Power. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raubern 6th Gear August 30, 2022 Share August 30, 2022 On 8/26/2022 at 2:53 PM, Yamapi said: Is 1993 model is using 16 valve? This unit looks pretty well maintained https://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.php?ID=1128597&DL=2434 Expand This one is also beautiful, from the same dealer. And 1 owner to boot sia But coe ending next year, renewal cost is too high now Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toeknee_33 Turbocharged August 30, 2022 Share August 30, 2022 On 8/27/2022 at 7:56 AM, ER-3682 said: @Ody_2004 Frankily speaking the M-111[16 Valves] Engine not as smooth as the M-102[8 Valves]Engine,in the W124,the best Engine still the M-103 straight 6,3.0 Engine...as 300E. Expand Why do you say the M103 is the best? I need someone to validate that, since i got a car with that engine...hehe! 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Twincharged August 30, 2022 Share August 30, 2022 @Toeknee_33 Nice Sound & very Smooth. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Twincharged August 31, 2022 Share August 31, 2022 Also very Reliable. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yamapi 6th Gear September 7, 2022 Share September 7, 2022 On 8/27/2022 at 12:15 AM, Ody_2004 said: This one look like my ex car... if so yes 16 valve.. later 93 use 16 valve.. original plate was replaced with my plate then another random plate as below. if it was my unit back then spend alot to do up at Zen motor.. Ah Hua (if i not wrong) see me liao faint as i very anal even getting any instrument panel light replaced.. full body paint was resprayed.. interior MBTex was repaired at Eunos.. Old man think no longer ard.. but those were back in 2007! whahahahahahha.. Expand Went to take a look at this car last week, it is indeed your ex-car. Good Interior with nothing shabby, apart from the crack on the MB-Tex seat. Engine bay looks clean. Pity this car is on 5 year COE, left 1.5 years before EOL 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
fesa7044 2nd Gear November 8, 2022 Share November 8, 2022 On 8/30/2022 at 2:13 PM, Toeknee_33 said: Why do you say the M103 is the best? I need someone to validate that, since i got a car with that engine...hehe! Expand The 8v is pure Old Skool ,a Blast from the past,if u drive one of dis ,used to owns one . U can realli feel like u are in the 80s with all the Black & white images flashing past u But ,it’s a big BUT the 8v is Real Classic needs Tuning ,once in a while & runs a flow divider ,many reckon dat to be the most x’pensive part of the car. I would prefer the 16v ,Full electronic ,Less hassle. U can have the Classic 124 Look without the issue,I have a hard time getting it tune & the ppl who’s apt at dis is getting Lesser . i might come back again to a 124 but onli the modern version. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Twincharged November 8, 2022 Share November 8, 2022 On 11/8/2022 at 6:12 AM, fesa7044 said: The 8v is pure Old Skool ,a Blast from the past,if u drive one of dis ,used to owns one . U can realli feel like u are in the 80s with all the Black & white images flashing past u But ,it’s a big BUT the 8v is Real Classic needs Tuning ,once in a while & runs a flow divider ,many reckon dat to be the most x’pensive part of the car. I would prefer the 16v ,Full electronic ,Less hassle. U can have the Classic 124 Look without the issue,I have a hard time getting it tune & the ppl who’s apt at dis is getting Lesser . i might come back again to a 124 but onli the modern version. Expand The M102/103 Engine less Problem,much better than the M111/104 Engines,the Car only need to ''Tune'' the C.O. Level every Servicing,just a 3mm T-Type Hex Key & a Bosch C.O. Meter is needed for the Job,i also know how to adjust,press down slightly,counter Clockwise to Lean it & Clockwise to Rich it,Keep it at 2% C.O. will be nice to run. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
fesa7044 2nd Gear November 10, 2022 Share November 10, 2022 On 11/8/2022 at 11:23 AM, ER-3682 said: The M102/103 Engine less Problem,much better than the M111/104 Engines,the Car only need to ''Tune'' the C.O. Level every Servicing,just a 3mm T-Type Hex Key & a Bosch C.O. Meter is needed for the Job,i also know how to adjust,press down slightly,counter Clockwise to Lean it & Clockwise to Rich it,Keep it at 2% C.O. will be nice to run. Expand Yes I noe to tune too. But I can’t seems to get it right compare to the x’pert . Less problem ,I dun think so,as I mention the flow divider ,if it haven happen to u yet . Its a time Bomb waiting to happen. The modern 16v have Less Character ,dats all but the Silhouette are almost the same. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Twincharged November 10, 2022 Share November 10, 2022 On 11/10/2022 at 1:31 AM, fesa7044 said: Yes I noe to tune too. But I can’t seems to get it right compare to the x’pert . Less problem ,I dun think so,as I mention the flow divider ,if it haven happen to u yet . Its a time Bomb waiting to happen. The modern 16v have Less Character ,dats all but the Silhouette are almost the same. Expand The M111 most common Problem is the Wire Harness..always crack & the Wires short out. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...