Anyone into laopok Mercs?

Lethalstrike

This thread is now some 13 years old. Nice to see that some of the models mentioned now qualify for classic scheme - while the intent is really to use these as dailies, at least red-yellow plate gives a reprieve for the pre-1988 models coming of age but would have been killed by the PQP prices today.

Anyone seen a classic plate W124 yet?

really sibay swee

but hor in SG 

to maintain is no joking

actually more ex than new 

common answer from AD is no more parts liao

same like antique PP 

my 2ml worth of ron92 🙊🙉🙈

15 hours ago, Alheych said:

This thread is now some 13 years old. Nice to see that some of the models mentioned now qualify for classic scheme - while the intent is really to use these as dailies, at least red-yellow plate gives a reprieve for the pre-1988 models coming of age but would have been killed by the PQP prices today.

It seems that the bulk of the remaining W124s are 89/90/91 registered so they have not reached 35 years yet, with many of these are COE-d till 2028/2029. And since they tend to be daily drivers due to their durability, its unlikely to see many classic plate W124s soon. 

35 minutes ago, Toeknee_33 said:

It seems that the bulk of the remaining W124s are 89/90/91 registered so they have not reached 35 years yet, with many of these are COE-d till 2028/2029. And since they tend to be daily drivers due to their durability, its unlikely to see many classic plate W124s soon. 

Also most are damn lok or tired by 35. The money to be dumped in to fix is the same regardless if it’s normal or classic. The only diff is with classic you can take your time. Send to Malaysia even cheaper. 
but in the end a normal sedan merc is no fun. Since it is going to be an occasional drive might as well be sometime more interesting. 
thus decided to give up my classic w123 as it was quite boring to drive. And it needed quite some work to get it where i would have liked it. 

Edited by Mkl22

19 minutes ago, Hamburger said:

The green coupe is a real beauty. Roar.......

Agreed,esp with the 5 Spokes AMG Wheels,hope it come with the M103,3.0 Engine.

8 minutes ago, ER-3682 said:

Agreed,esp with the 5 Spokes AMG Wheels,hope it come with the M103,3.0 Engine.

Three C124 coupes, with 3 different engines.

First car - M104, 2nd car - M103, 3rd car - M102.

Apparently, these 3 cars constitute 15% of all known C124s still registered in SG.

Edited by Toeknee_33

On 1/8/2023 at 2:18 AM, Alheych said:

It doesn’t matter 13 or 30 .

Classic Merk is for eternity.

Classiic plate ?

No way to treat a Classic ,all dis iron Block or cast iron engine ,dun Expand & Contract so well unlike the modern aluminium ones.

My previous 124,i drives Once a week or every 10 days.

Engine feel realli BAD until an expert explains.

So I try to use it Daily which totally change the whole Landscape somewhat,it drives so good.

So All those Classic hiding in Remote S’pore ,gathering dusk ,Assuming their prices all escalating ,am sure it will.

It  defeats the  whole purpose  of owning one of dis ,u can’t start & go ,as and when u like.

And u reckon ,u save a Bundle by using it onli for 45 days .

Dats pretty SAD(No Money ,No talk)

On 2/25/2023 at 6:47 PM, Yeshe said:

Having itchy thoughts to move away from the norm. Any comments for the following in the aspect of maintenance and reliability? Best is can convert to classic after 6yrs

W201

https://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.php?ID=1110346&APPS=1

W123

https://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.php?ID=1111999&APPS=1

Buy if you like to use as a Weekend Classic Toy...

On 2/25/2023 at 8:54 PM, ER-3682 said:

Buy if you like to use as a Weekend Classic Toy...

Cannot be for daily use? Any indicative cost for overhaul for such rides?

On 2/25/2023 at 6:47 PM, Yeshe said:

Having itchy thoughts to move away from the norm. Any comments for the following in the aspect of maintenance and reliability? Best is can convert to classic after 6yrs

W201

https://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.php?ID=1110346&APPS=1

W123

https://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.php?ID=1111999&APPS=1

W123. rust rust rust. mechanicals somewhat solid. but certain parts are hard to come by now.

in any case why a classic. if you want something to own to have some fun occasionally, then a w123 isnt the right car. almost zero fun to drive. unless you like to hear and feel the chunk when closing the doors, thats about it. 

was a 2nd owner of a classic plate 37year old 1977 W123 manual for about 1.5years. got bored after a while and there was not joy to be found tooling around. would prefer a convertible or something impractical or more rare to keep.

Edited by Mkl22

On 2/26/2023 at 10:34 AM, Mkl22 said:

W123. rust rust rust. mechanicals somewhat solid. but certain parts are hard to come by now.

in any case why a classic. if you want something to own to have some fun occasionally, then a w123 isnt the right car. almost zero fun to drive. unless you like to hear and feel the chunk when closing the doors, thats about it. 

was a 2nd owner of a classic plate 37year old 1977 W123 manual for about 1.5years. got bored after a while and there was not joy to be found tooling around. would prefer a convertible or something impractical or more rare to keep.

Thank you for the good insight!

On 2/26/2023 at 10:25 AM, Yeshe said:

Cannot be for daily use? Any indicative cost for overhaul for such rides?

If you have time to send in your Car to Workshop...then can be your ''Daily'' Use.