Robo 2nd Gear October 20, 2010 Share October 20, 2010 Erm.....let me rephrase.....if your car has tasted other oils, you will not go back to SHU. thats very true. after trying better and cheaper oils. SHU is all abt brand marketing. in fact many horror stories abt this particular oil ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear October 20, 2010 Share October 20, 2010 I agree. I tried SHU once n i was suprised how bad it was. If i want to use branded oil, i prefer mobil 1 or castrol. Now using ''unknown'' c@rlube syn 40 weight. Good value fr $. Last time i use RP but now it become too ex fr my cheepo car. yea agree, m1 or castrol is a better oil than SHU. but den again. i still have my preferred brand Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keithchue 5th Gear October 20, 2010 Share October 20, 2010 remember to do wheel alighment Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear October 20, 2010 Share October 20, 2010 yea agree, m1 or castrol is a better oil than SHU. but den again. i still have my preferred brand What oil u use? I happy wh cltr full syn 40 weight. Syn oil at mineral oil price. Used fr many years already without any problems. Last time on my corona n now on e optra. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear October 20, 2010 Share October 20, 2010 Last time ah, i damn scared to touch my car, everything send to ws do, change oil, send to ws, even change bulb also send to ws. But every since moving to melb to study, bloody labour costs 120/hour, where got the money to go and everything also send to ws? So DIY lor, actually after awhile you will find that it is actually very easy. Oil change is a simple job, but it costs a lot if labour because the car needs to sit and drain for at least an hour, and oil filter is easy. Its just a matter of finding the filter and using the tool to crank it off. And oil change even easier, get a jack, jack up the car, undo the oil sump plug and just let it drain, then top up accordingly. And the best part, all these instructions come along with the manual in your car, so there is nothing to worry about. I recently did an oil change on my rb26, just undid the oil sump plug, let it drain, played one round of L4D2, then put back the plug. And for the oils, i think ah, any full group IV/V synth is good for at least 10,000kms. Those who use full synth and change every 5000kms, are just wasting their cash imo. I plan to change oils every 5000kms because i'm using a semi. (HAHA save money la) And oil filter also, every 20,000km then change once, not a lot of things to filter one, can tahan. Invest in a good set of tools/jack and stuff will save you a lot in labour. All these can be done on a sunday afternoon, easily. But don't forget to dispose of your old engine oil properly, best is pour into the now empty oil bottle you have in your hands, then just chuck it in the bin. I use sougi 10w40 semi synth. Its an aussie brand la, but beware, motul has many grades of oil, unless you're sure which grade is going into your engine, dont think its a good deal. Well done. U know what ty say. "Necessity is e mother of invention''. Why dont u go with a cheap n good fully synthetic oil n change every 10k km? More cost effective in e long run. I agree wh all u say EXCEPT abt changing oil filter only at 20k km. As far as i know, it has always been a standard practice to change e filter when u change e oil. Afterall e filter only cost abt 5 bucks so its not really ex. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
XALmoN Neutral Newbie October 20, 2010 Share October 20, 2010 Well done. U know what ty say. "Necessity is e mother of invention''. Why dont u go with a cheap n good fully synthetic oil n change every 10k km? More cost effective in e long run. I agree wh all u say EXCEPT abt changing oil filter only at 20k km. As far as i know, it has always been a standard practice to change e filter when u change e oil. Afterall e filter only cost abt 5 bucks so its not really ex. 11aud for the ryco ones... not expensive but its a bloody pain to reach my oil filter, so sometimes i lazy. i change at 15,000kms or when my oil pressure is low, whichever comes first. sougi is fairly cheap, at 60/5L, i'm planning to go full synth next oil change, coming, at 107,000km Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear October 20, 2010 Share October 20, 2010 11aud for the ryco ones... not expensive but its a bloody pain to reach my oil filter, so sometimes i lazy. i change at 15,000kms or when my oil pressure is low, whichever comes first. sougi is fairly cheap, at 60/5L, i'm planning to go full synth next oil change, coming, at 107,000km Oil filter sud b changed at every oil change as far as i know. I get c@rlube triple R oil 40 weight full synthetic [made in uk]at only S$29/5 lit in SG. Much cheaper than what u get in OZ. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic October 21, 2010 Share October 21, 2010 The supermarket in Australia do sell cheap oil too. My colleagues and I used to buy a couple of bottles when we were there. Its made by Shell, cant remember the composition but its basically recycled oil, full syn oil. I use it for 5k oil change. U might want to explore this option too. So far have not come across recycle oil here in SG. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
XALmoN Neutral Newbie October 21, 2010 Share October 21, 2010 The supermarket in Australia do sell cheap oil too. My colleagues and I used to buy a couple of bottles when we were there. Its made by Shell, cant remember the composition but its basically recycled oil, full syn oil. I use it for 5k oil change. U might want to explore this option too. So far have not come across recycle oil here in SG. i need 10w40, kmart and stupid places like that 20w50, too thick for me, my engine is still very tight, don't wanna starve my head of oil. @ pisces69 looks like in december when i come back, need to go tahpao a few L of oil back liow, 22kg baggage clearance can tahpao maybe 3 rounds of oil change, not bad, can last me one year. no choice leh, aussieland is crazy expensive, BUT. 13,000 r32 gtr, WHERE TO FIND? only in australia lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear October 21, 2010 Share October 21, 2010 i need 10w40, kmart and stupid places like that 20w50, too thick for me, my engine is still very tight, don't wanna starve my head of oil. @ pisces69 looks like in december when i come back, need to go tahpao a few L of oil back liow, 22kg baggage clearance can tahpao maybe 3 rounds of oil change, not bad, can last me one year. no choice leh, aussieland is crazy expensive, BUT. 13,000 r32 gtr, WHERE TO FIND? only in australia lor. oh ya... btw... wad are u doing in melb? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kungfu Clutched October 22, 2010 Share October 22, 2010 actually wanted to wait till 100,000km for my next svc,but next week no more lve liao...so decided to do it at 98,000km? waste bit of engine oil....actually can still use one...plus also change fuel filter. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic October 22, 2010 Share October 22, 2010 Got one workshop guy recommending liqimoli or something like that. Heard any things about that brand?? Luiquid Moly is a germany oil. This oil is very popular in Germany. Oil is good but price is high locally. For the price, I will prefer RL which is cheaper. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
XALmoN Neutral Newbie October 25, 2010 Share October 25, 2010 oh ya... btw... wad are u doing in melb? study? lol! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear October 25, 2010 Share October 25, 2010 study? lol! which uni? lols ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...