What to look out for when buying HDB resale flat?

Elixir

Like...toilet of course, ceiling, tiles etc....something along this line.

Any advice appreciated!!!!

House-hunting is tiring.....

Rgds.

Rgds.

any history of loan shark harressment

You can have the best reno in the world, but if you live in the middle of Area D, nobody's gonna buy it.

Always buy for the location, you can always reno later

They said:

1. Must visit on different time of the day.

2. Must FEEL the place.

3. Check the neighbors and talk to them.

4. Leaking problem.

5. Talk to owner/& family more about the house and history.

6. Bring kids or fen shui master.

But I did not do the above, I went to view at night (yah... cant tell even if there are something wrong!), paid deposit on the spot and sign the next morning...... Lucky it didn't turn out too bad *phew!!

They said:

2. Must FEEL the place.

4. Leaking problem.

But I did not do the above, I went to view at night (yah... cant tell even if there are something wrong!), paid deposit on the spot and sign the next morning...... Lucky it didn't turn out too bad *phew!!

I did ALL of that....ended up mostly happy after buying and moving in....BUT ceiling leak problem still happened....that just comes with the territory of a resale flat....ok lah, can still be fixed....at least i enjoy the big space of my flat and its a bit ulu but not-too-ulu location. [cool]

Rgds.

Which location are you looking for? Got 'lobang' for you :D, if the location fits.

Some prices quite attractive now, even for larger, i.e. 5-room resale, depends on the location.

As for what to look out for in a resale unit - your personal "feel" is best, i.e. trust your instincts. Some units are "under-valued" and will turn out to be a good deal.

Edited by Sosaria

Rgds.

If they close all windows and switch on aircon, try open windows. Maybe its too noisy or too hot.

They said:

2. Must FEEL the place.

4. Leaking problem.

i sort-of did item # 3 only .... went to my neighbours and 1 floor down also and asked them abt the house - that was after i signed the OTP.

i just liked it when i saw it .... called the agent the next day and went for a second look (both during daytime) and then go downstairs coffee shop and signed the OTP.

i wanted to try the fengshui thingy ... but ppl advised me against it, saying that if you dun really believe, then no point paying for the service at all; but if you are a true believer, then you must be prepared to fork out ALOT of money to deco the house accordingly to the master - end up, not really "your" house.

hmmm........leaking ceiling is one thing.....the worst thing is this happen when you have a built-in cabinet and it's all damaged due to the moisture in it,.........so be extremely careful when u buy those old neighbourhood......anyway....my suggestion is.....try to approach in a wait and see situation. Think price will go down in the next few months especially the COV part. Maybe u can get a good deal out of it. Also try to get a certified agent to do the house hunting with u......now all agents had to be registered with IEA , the governing body for housing agents.

Edited by Jpquek

besides inside the house, check out the environment and if got loan shark or bad neighbours. go during day, go during night, weekends and weekdays. minimum 4 recce trips.