Mini-itx Clutched October 11, 2010 Share October 11, 2010 Whose car here has no reverse sensors and camera? Are they really useful? Cause I feel it fitting it to my car as mine has no reverse sensor but not sure if its necessary. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged October 11, 2010 Share October 11, 2010 On 10/11/2010 at 9:55 AM, Mini-itx said: Whose car here has no reverse sensors and camera? Are they really useful? Cause I feel it fitting it to my car as mine has no reverse sensor but not sure if its necessary. dun it will make you more stupid.... mine both also dun have... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator October 11, 2010 Share October 11, 2010 On 10/11/2010 at 9:58 AM, Galantspeedz said: dun it will make you more stupid.... mine both also dun have... that's what I told the salesgal when i collected my mx-5....knn such a small car and i look stooopid if a sport car has those... but my cayman comes stock with it...wtf ...well cayman bumper more ex than mx-5 la Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Contax 1st Gear October 11, 2010 Share October 11, 2010 Learn how to gauge from both side mirror while reversing or in some 'tight' situation , just open your door or stick your head out to park ... that's what I have been doing since I got my license 2 decades ago. . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator October 11, 2010 Share October 11, 2010 On 10/11/2010 at 10:03 AM, Contax said: Learn how to gauge from both side mirror while reversing or in some 'tight' situation , just open your door or stick your head out to park ... that's what I have been doing since I got my license 2 decades ago. . that, by far still the best way to do it...... what i find hilarious is those with these devices....inevitably, you see a solid dent down the middle of their bumper Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Expertz 1st Gear October 11, 2010 Share October 11, 2010 reverse sensors can help you detect short poles that won't appear in your side or rear view mirror it can also detect the most minimal possible distance you can have with the car behind yours without you having to physically brake, come out and see Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear October 11, 2010 Share October 11, 2010 I have sensors so I pretty much rely on them... Opening the door would just help me gauge how in between am I in a lot... I tried to park my friend's car by gauging with the reverse cam... Wah super not used to it... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator October 11, 2010 Share October 11, 2010 On 10/11/2010 at 10:12 AM, Typhoonz said: I have sensors so I pretty much rely on them... Opening the door would just help me gauge how in between am I in a lot... I tried to park my friend's car by gauging with the reverse cam... Wah super not used to it... camera only good to adjust for upskirt lah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged October 11, 2010 Share October 11, 2010 On 10/11/2010 at 10:00 AM, RadX said: that's what I told the salesgal when i collected my mx-5....knn such a small car and i look stooopid if a sport car has those... but my cayman comes stock with it...wtf ...well cayman bumper more ex than mx-5 la the problem is once you are used to the reverse sensors.... then suddenly the sensor spoil.... no sound.. you will keep reversing till you buang... i see alot of dented boot and bumper because of it i waiting to see cayman with dented bumper behind Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator October 11, 2010 Share October 11, 2010 On 10/11/2010 at 10:13 AM, Galantspeedz said: the problem is once you are used to the reverse sensors.... then suddenly the sensor spoil.... no sound.. you will keep reversing till you buang... i see alot of dented boot and bumper because of it i waiting to see cayman with dented bumper behind think cayman drivers dun depend on that lah....knn....and lambo, ferrari.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear October 11, 2010 Share October 11, 2010 On 10/11/2010 at 10:12 AM, RadX said: camera only good to adjust for upskirt lah Hard leh... Unless you turn the cam upside down... Hmm... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged October 11, 2010 Share October 11, 2010 On 10/11/2010 at 10:15 AM, RadX said: think cayman drivers dun depend on that lah....knn....and lambo, ferrari.. nvm.. you are the first...... after all it comes stock mah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bicolor 5th Gear October 11, 2010 Share October 11, 2010 (edited) I feel that these aids are only useful but not strictly necessary. Whatever happened to the very basic skills of knowing the car, how it turns and handles when reversing, gauging position etc? In previous generations, cars didn't come with these. Of course, they are useful and come standard on many modern cars, but anyone who can't reverse/park without the help of these should go take refresher lessons or not drive at all. Edited October 11, 2010 by Bicolor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator October 11, 2010 Share October 11, 2010 On 10/11/2010 at 10:19 AM, Bicolor said: I feel that these aids are only useful but not strictly necessary. Whatever happened to knowing the car, how it turns and handles when reversing, gauging position etc? In previous generations, cars didn't come with these. Of course, they are useful and come standard on many modern cars, but anyone who can't reverse/park without the help of these should go take refresher lessons or not drive at all. I tend to agree.....i learnt in the datsun 120y.....and none of these gimmicks were avail then....but we still made it Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bicolor 5th Gear October 11, 2010 Share October 11, 2010 On 10/11/2010 at 10:20 AM, RadX said: I tend to agree.....i learnt in the datsun 120y.....and none of these gimmicks were avail then....but we still made it Exactly! Technology is good but the basic skills of driving a car in its most basic form should never be forgotten. Anyway both my cars don't have sensors at all. Well, the bigger one actually has but the sensor has been spoilt for nearly a year now and anyway I trust myself more then the sensor to avoid putting any scratches or dents on the car, especially if the parking place has projections at certain odd angles which can't be easily detected Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator October 11, 2010 Share October 11, 2010 On 10/11/2010 at 10:33 AM, Bicolor said: Exactly! Technology is good but the basic skills of driving a car in its most basic form should never be forgotten. Anyway both my cars don't have sensors at all. Well, the bigger one actually has but the sensor has been spoilt for nearly a year now and anyway I trust myself more then the sensor to avoid putting any scratches or dents on the car, especially if the parking place has projections at certain odd angles which can't be easily detected I still remember those old cars...we need to put hand out to signal..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Noel Clutched October 11, 2010 Share October 11, 2010 On 10/11/2010 at 10:19 AM, Bicolor said: I feel that these aids are only useful but not strictly necessary. Whatever happened to the very basic skills of knowing the car, how it turns and handles when reversing, gauging position etc? In previous generations, cars didn't come with these. Of course, they are useful and come standard on many modern cars, but anyone who can't reverse/park without the help of these should go take refresher lessons or not drive at all. Agree. Basic skills will be useful rather than relying on these gadgets. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear October 11, 2010 Share October 11, 2010 Always good to have. They didn't add much weight too. I have front & rear sensor in my car (come stock). However I still use my parking aid (rear wing :P), & open door to check when I reverse. I also got the small convex mirrors on both my side mirrors, & have the boardway rear mirror extension. I do not have reverse camera though. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...