Jp66 5th Gear October 11, 2010 Share October 11, 2010 I am curious why DBSS flat is 103 years lease whereas EC is only 99 years? HDB releases Upper Serangoon DBSS site for sale By Mok Fei Fei | Posted: 11 October 2010 1534 hrs SINGAPORE: A Design, Build and Sell Scheme (DBSS) site at Upper Serangoon Road has been released for sale by public tender by the Housing & Development Board (HDB). HDB said the site has an area of 20,000 square metres and a maximum allowable gross floor area of 70,000 square metres. It is expected to yield about 630 units and has a lease term of 103 years, including a 48-month construction period. Located just across Punggol Park, the site is near amenities like Hougang Mall and Kang Kar Mall, as well as schools like Xinmin Primary. HDB said another DBSS site at Yuan Ching Road and Corporation Drive will be launched for tender next month. That site is expected to yield 580 units. HDB said more sites for DBSS development will be made available if there is sustained demand. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged October 11, 2010 Share October 11, 2010 errrr...the article says it all... Including a 48 month construction period 48 month = 4 years, 103 - 4 = 99 So the day you collect keys got 99 year lease.... Can you read for comprehension or not? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Esppppp 1st Gear October 11, 2010 Share October 11, 2010 103 years including 4 years construction - so effectively still 99 years? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jp66 5th Gear October 11, 2010 Author Share October 11, 2010 (edited) errrr...the article says it all... Including a 48 month construction period 48 month = 4 years, 103 - 4 = 99 So the day you collect keys got 99 year lease.... Can you read for comprehension or not? ok thks, because my 1st hdb flat was a re-sale unit, don't know new hdb flat start from key collection date. Edited October 11, 2010 by Jp66 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carer 2nd Gear October 11, 2010 Share October 11, 2010 TS is kam lan dua chee bye Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged October 11, 2010 Share October 11, 2010 ok thks, because my 1st hdb flat was a re-sale unit, don't know new hdb flat start from key collection date. Mine was a "keys give back" scenario, so I also never get 99 years...but got super cheap, my neighbours were pissed (I talking $20k plus cheaper than them) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged October 11, 2010 Share October 11, 2010 TS is kam lan dua chee bye errrr.... have u taken you medicine?... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carer 2nd Gear October 11, 2010 Share October 11, 2010 now that you reminded me.. .. i will go eat now.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jp66 5th Gear October 11, 2010 Author Share October 11, 2010 Mine was a "keys give back" scenario, so I also never get 99 years...but got super cheap, my neighbours were pissed (I talking $20k plus cheaper than them) good for u, cheers! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Battledome64 3rd Gear October 23, 2010 Share October 23, 2010 hi, may i know what happens if i buy dbss after the 99th year? the property value will drop to $0? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic October 23, 2010 Share October 23, 2010 very unlikely... so far in singapore history... no hdb flat every lasted more than 40 yr? before 99 yrs will kena tear down and rebuilt liaoz... or privatise and en bloc or something liaoz... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Battledome64 3rd Gear October 23, 2010 Share October 23, 2010 very unlikely... so far in singapore history... no hdb flat every lasted more than 40 yr? before 99 yrs will kena tear down and rebuilt liaoz... or privatise and en bloc or something liaoz... thanks for the reply. Never considered that in mind Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear October 24, 2010 Share October 24, 2010 Two weeks ago saw the full page advert for a New EC which worked out a typical loan for a couple who wished to buy. I was shocked to the so called $30k discount, it's a joke. And the most shocking part was both the couple has to take a 35 yrs loan and after maxing out their cpf deduction, they are still expected to top up $200+ cash each month to finance the unit.. god.....where got spare cash to own car and kids....stucked in perpetual job for the next 35 yrs!!! Both of them will have to work till 65 yrs old!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyrofillica 1st Gear October 24, 2010 Share October 24, 2010 Two weeks ago saw the full page advert for a New EC which worked out a typical loan for a couple who wished to buy. I was shocked to the so called $30k discount, it's a joke. And the most shocking part was both the couple has to take a 35 yrs loan and after maxing out their cpf deduction, they are still expected to top up $200+ cash each month to finance the unit.. god.....where got spare cash to own car and kids....stucked in perpetual job for the next 35 yrs!!! Both of them will have to work till 65 yrs old!!! given current prices. this is normal right? this day and age wanna own govt flat, really no need to retire already. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Perrier 1st Gear October 24, 2010 Share October 24, 2010 Two weeks ago saw the full page advert for a New EC which worked out a typical loan for a couple who wished to buy. I was shocked to the so called $30k discount, it's a joke. And the most shocking part was both the couple has to take a 35 yrs loan and after maxing out their cpf deduction, they are still expected to top up $200+ cash each month to finance the unit.. god.....where got spare cash to own car and kids....stucked in perpetual job for the next 35 yrs!!! Both of them will have to work till 65 yrs old!!! Those EC are targeted at couples who make near 10k/mth who probably had worked for 5-10yrs and had like 150-250k worth of CPF. Not to mention they are likely to be in their early or mid 30. For those who wants to start earlier, there is always the BTO which are likely 200-300k cheaper. Dun wear a bigger hat that your head can fit. And I also agree that those advert in the paper are aimed to lure yuppies into over-committing themselves or who thinks that they just need to finance for 5yrs then can sell for a good profit. End of the day, there are only one big winner, HDB. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TandemAssassin 1st Gear October 24, 2010 Share October 24, 2010 Two weeks ago saw the full page advert for a New EC which worked out a typical loan for a couple who wished to buy. I was shocked to the so called $30k discount, it's a joke. And the most shocking part was both the couple has to take a 35 yrs loan and after maxing out their cpf deduction, they are still expected to top up $200+ cash each month to finance the unit.. god.....where got spare cash to own car and kids....stucked in perpetual job for the next 35 yrs!!! Both of them will have to work till 65 yrs old!!! Really meh, I went to see a EC and they worked out the sums for me. Per month $1,200 plus installment. Comfortably within your CPF if you are in the EC target group of between 8k to 10k income. Say husband and wife both earning 4.5k per month each, definitely within your monthly contribution to OA what. A new launched EC is built for middle income young people; too rich for new flat and too young to have sufficient savings to buy fully private. Also, do not need a large space. So if you are not within that group, don't bother. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic October 26, 2010 Share October 26, 2010 So DBSS people can say, I dun stay in those cheapo 99 year places, (can whisper quietly) Mine's a 103 year place. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged October 26, 2010 Share October 26, 2010 hi, may i know what happens if i buy dbss after the 99th year? the property value will drop to $0? IIRC. you cannot get loan for any property lesser than 60 years and you cannot buy a property with less than 30 or was it 50 years?? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...