S'pore swimmers disqualified at Commonwealth Games

Mcf777

What a shame to get disqualify in this manner.

You are in a foreign country and yet you take your own sweet time and take things for granted.

Let see whose head will roll this time!

===========================================

S'pore swimmers disqualified

4x200m men's freestyle relay team miss their registration for the final

By Jonathan Wong, At The Games

Australia's (from left) Belinda Hocking, Emily Seebohm and Sophie Edington competing in the women's 100m backstroke yesterday. -- PHOTO: REUTERS

NEW DELHI - THE Singapore men's 4x200m freestyle relay team suffered the embarrassment of being disqualified from their final yesterday without even hitting the pool - all because they had failed to submit their entry for the final on time.

The team of Teo Zhen Ren, Jeremy Kevin Mathews, Arren Quek and Mattias Ng had clocked 7min 47.19sec in their heat in the morning to qualify for the final as the seventh-fastest team.

However, the quartet's joy subsequently turned into anxiety and later disappointment when they missed the 3pm deadline for submitting their entry for the final. The bus ferrying the squad had arrived at the venue only at 3.45pm due to traffic delays.

Team manager and head coach Ang Peng Siong [/color]said in a statement issued by Team Singapore: 'It usually takes us about 20 to 30 minutes to reach the Dr S.P. Mukherjee Swimming Complex. Today, it took us about an hour to reach the swimming complex.'

The final was at 6pm, but the squad had left at 2.45pm so that 'the team would not have to wait at the venue for too long before their event', said Ang.

He added: 'We lodged an appeal with the competitions manager, which was signed by all the head coaches of the other teams in the final, but we were not successful.'

Edited by Mcf777

my goodness, 2:45 then leave, the submission is 3pm.

Please leh, i takes me more than 15mins to reach from woodlands to yishun despite it's near lor. Use head to think not backside.

didn't they take the commonwealth express lane?

or motorist bo chup never give way? too many cows on the road?

why cannot ask message boy to go earlier n submit first?

bo chup or trying to siam competition?

Edited by Ngck

Got no

'gve way to commonwealth games' lane marking lah [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Edited by RadX

Got no

'gve way to commonwealth games' lane marking lah [laugh][laugh][laugh]

then its the fault of the organizer....

no money to buy paint?

Its an Honest mistake. Let's move on.................

Come to think of it, they may be trying to play punk and get themselves disqualify due to the VIRUS going on in the water.

Its an Honest mistake. Let's move on.................

Come to think of it, they may be trying to play punk and get themselves disqualify due to the VIRUS going on in the water.

i dreamt that the pool was "purposely" contaiminated. So only indian swimmers can survive the "gastro" problems.... [laugh]

my goodness, 2:45 then leave, the submission is 3pm.

Please leh, i takes me more than 15mins to reach from woodlands to yishun despite it's near lor. Use head to think not backside.

+1

What kind of reasoning is 'the team would not have to wait at the venue for too long before their event'? Reach early can prepare what.

Early is always better than late. Early also gives you time to cater for situations like these.

Edited by Benarsenal

how come they dont have a runner to do all the dirty job and submit the list on behalf?

Must everyone be present when submitting?

let's see how our minister of sports (bala or ah 6) comment on this issue.

+1

What kind of reasoning is 'the team would not have to wait at the venue for too long before their event'? Reach early can prepare what.

Early is always better than late. Early also gives you time to cater for situations like these.

They can always send someone to submit the registration first or the whole team must be physically present for the submission??

I dunno.

But still really c--k up anyway.

It is a misunderstanding. The reporter from Reuters got the timing wrong. One was actually local time, the other is India time.

But then, it can't be helped. Jams are the result of an Act of God. If India were to actually build more roads to ease congestion, taxes would go up 300%.

Lesser mortals should just shut up.

Let's move on, shall we?

Edited by Iisterry

We always complain,why cannot get YOG bus and people to leave earlier?Because we have YOG lane.Now,why our people will be late for competition?Because they thought they have Commonwealth lane which mandatory to give way!ROFL!!!

question, why other teams can make it ?? they stay near to the stadium? they have privilege lane? they have faster bus? they ride the bull....