Carteblanche Neutral Newbie October 2, 2010 Share October 2, 2010 (edited) Does openSUSE count ? Edited October 2, 2010 by Carteblanche ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Krado Clutched October 2, 2010 Share October 2, 2010 I'm not really that familiar with those smaller "clones" No wonder you want a mac. Haha ignorant Mac user. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Krado Clutched October 2, 2010 Share October 2, 2010 Totally agree. I suffer everyday working on my office notebook seeing 1.8GB RAM available but can't even open an file fast enough need like 10 ~secs. Sometimes when I open "My Computer folder", you see the f***ing torchlight going lef and right, at least 10 secs... that's because of HDD lar.. I never keep my folders beyond 4 levels and never mroe than 200 files per folder. And of, drive indexing on Windows is much faster than a mac. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged October 2, 2010 Share October 2, 2010 Correct, thanks for explaining! On my Parallels Desktop, there is an option for me to change to Chrome OS. Currently, it's running Win7. Are you using Lenova? if so, not sure if its Chrome OS or linuex (heard Chrome base on Linuex though) but i am not very good with OS so you can treat this post as rubbish [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged October 2, 2010 Share October 2, 2010 I'm an APPLE lover... Bill Gates is stup*d for banning iPhones in his house... not really. Apple also banned MSN and yahoo in his home. its called confident [laugh] Anyway, interm of evil Apple more evil than Microsoft. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged October 2, 2010 Share October 2, 2010 that's because of HDD lar.. I never keep my folders beyond 4 levels and never mroe than 200 files per folder. And of, drive indexing on Windows is much faster than a mac. yap. problem with Windows is, if a lot of HDD space is taken up. we have to do defragmentation beside the user getting additional HDD. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Krado Clutched October 2, 2010 Share October 2, 2010 yap. problem with Windows is, if a lot of HDD space is taken up. we have to do defragmentation beside the user getting additional HDD. Then don't take up so much space lor! If you house if full of junk what do you do? rearrange and buy house#2? No rite? [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic October 2, 2010 Share October 2, 2010 (edited) Finally, the Linux and BSD guys have chipped in. Thought I was all alone. I've used many distros and versions of Linux - Ubuntu was the most usable, but I enjoyed the look and feel of Mandrake Linux (with KDE) - before it became Mandriva. But to be brutally honest, to get most of my real work done, it's still Windoze most of the way (Desktop and Netbook) with a bit of OS X (iBook) thrown in. Linux is fun for tinkering but it won't be too long before one encounters an issue that affects productivity. Now the Linux community will tell you the issue can be solved, and that's almost always true, but the simple fact is that it would take too much effort and time to resolve it, which just ends up killing productivity. Great as a tinkerer/hobbyist OS, not great for work. IMHO. Edited October 2, 2010 by Turboflat4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged October 2, 2010 Share October 2, 2010 Then don't take up so much space lor! If you house if full of junk what do you do? rearrange and buy house#2? No rite? [laugh] yeah lah. that is what i mean. i am support of Win 7 but must be impartial too mah got weakness must say. Anyway, its a norm for win user to have 2 hard drive one for OS another for storage. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged October 2, 2010 Share October 2, 2010 Finally, the Linux and BSD guys have chipped in. Thought I was all alone. I've used many distros and versions of Linux - Ubuntu was the most usable, but I enjoyed the look and feel of Mandrake Linux (with KDE) - before it became Mandriva. But to be brutally honest, to get most of my real work done, it's still Windoze most of the way (Desktop and Netbook) with a bit of OS X (iBook) thrown in. Linux is fun for tinkering but it won't be too long before one encounters an issue that affects productivity. Now the Linux community will tell you the issue can be solved, and that's almost always true, but the simple fact is that it would take too much effort and time to resolve it, which just ends up killing productivity. Great as a tinkerer/hobbyist OS, not great for work. IMHO. correct. that is why i hope Chrome will succeed. but i dont like the ideal of cloud computing. what if network is down?? what am i going to do? or what if i want to use it off line? what am i suppose to do? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Krado Clutched October 2, 2010 Share October 2, 2010 Anyway, its a norm for win user to have 2 hard drive one for OS another for storage. Sorry I not normal hor... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged October 2, 2010 Share October 2, 2010 (edited) that's because of HDD lar.. I never keep my folders beyond 4 levels and never mroe than 200 files per folder. And of, drive indexing on Windows is much faster than a mac. Its both HDD and processor... actually. That is why alot of ppl don't know that more RAM does not make your computer perform faster... My Compaq 14.1" i3-330 bot recently @$1099 also F*type.. Edited October 2, 2010 by Tigerwoods Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear October 2, 2010 Share October 2, 2010 Totally agree. I suffer everyday working on my office notebook seeing 1.8GB RAM available but can't even open an file fast enough need like 10 ~secs. Sometimes when I open "My Computer folder", you see the f***ing torchlight going lef and right, at least 10 secs... To be honest, there are more factors affecting read and write speeds/responses. E.g. 1.)HDD specs 2.) The amount of free space left in your HDD 3.) Whether you have alot of background processes running in the background. Sure, a zippy processor and RAM will bring you files quickly but a computer is an integrated system which is to be considered as a system of processes. In such a system, the limiting factor will affect the data throughput. I dont think your CPU is really the bottleneck, honestly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jchuacl Clutched October 2, 2010 Share October 2, 2010 To be honest, it is so easy to install most of the distributions today vs 16 years ago when the kernel is 0.x version. Try using the Slackware distribution and I guarantee that most pple will give up before they complete the installation. I rem when I was attending the USENIX conference in New Orleans in 98, both Linux and BSD were almost equally popular among the conference participants. I still rem the seminar room was packed with pple when Linus Torvalds turn up for a Linux seminar during the conference. Finally, the Linux and BSD guys have chipped in. Thought I was all alone. I've used many distros and versions of Linux - Ubuntu was the most usable, but I enjoyed the look and feel of Mandrake Linux (with KDE) - before it became Mandriva. But to be brutally honest, to get most of my real work done, it's still Windoze most of the way (Desktop and Netbook) with a bit of OS X (iBook) thrown in. Linux is fun for tinkering but it won't be too long before one encounters an issue that affects productivity. Now the Linux community will tell you the issue can be solved, and that's almost always true, but the simple fact is that it would take too much effort and time to resolve it, which just ends up killing productivity. Great as a tinkerer/hobbyist OS, not great for work. IMHO. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vroomtattat 2nd Gear October 2, 2010 Share October 2, 2010 siew!!! Bro, typo? Swee si boh? I lurve Windows 7. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hwt Neutral Newbie October 2, 2010 Share October 2, 2010 (edited) Linux is fun for tinkering but it won't be too long before one encounters an issue that affects productivity. Now the Linux community will tell you the issue can be solved, and that's almost always true, but the simple fact is that it would take too much effort and time to resolve it, which just ends up killing productivity. Great as a tinkerer/hobbyist OS, not great for work. IMHO. Linux users are now the majority in my office. Mine is a software development company. Windows actually lowers productivity. It makes "power-hungry" administrative staff feel they have complete control of the computing environment, but do not realize this prevents many problems to be solved easily in a distributed manner (by individuals who encounter them), and for people to learn why a problem occurs and how it can be fixed. We cannot afford to have people working for years but do not have the opportunity to learn how things (well, some of the things) that they depend on actually work. If they ever progress to management, they may not have an idea what they are dealing with, or what the people whom they manage are required to know. But then, we are not entry-level programmers, so we may perceive things slightly differently......... Edited October 2, 2010 by Hwt Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic October 2, 2010 Share October 2, 2010 (edited) To be honest, it is so easy to install most of the distributions today vs 16 years ago when the kernel is 0.x version. Try using the Slackware distribution and I guarantee that most pple will give up before they complete the installation. I rem when I was attending the USENIX conference in New Orleans in 98, both Linux and BSD were almost equally popular among the conference participants. I still rem the seminar room was packed with pple when Linus Torvalds turn up for a Linux seminar during the conference. Actually, I've installed and used Slackware. I am quite OK with command line and source installs (in fact, I found rpm and apt-get brain-deadening). It's just that, over the 7 years or so of Linux distros I've been gradually rotating through (always as a second OS on dual boot), I've yet to find one that works flawlessly with my system without needing extensive tweaking. IMO, that's just not productive. E.g. getting accelerated 3D graphics to work with NVIDIA cards can be a nightmare, because NVIDIA only provides binary drivers. Noone can muck with the source except NVIDIA. So, for some reason, if it doesn't quite work with your system, you're SOL. I got those binary drivers to work with Mandrake Linux before, but couldn't manage to get them to work with whatever iteration of Ubuntu I had been trying. Then I could never get my ancient parallel-port interfaced flatbed scanner to work with any distro of Linux. SANE, it seems, just wasn't written with my device in mind. So Linux seemed to be stuck in a sort of limbo - on the one hand, Linux promised to breath new life into an old system that was too slow for Windows. But on the other, Linux simply didn't play nice with a lot of legacy hardware that only had binary drivers for Windows and no open specifications. So there was no clear niche for it. With Windows, one is assured that most hardware is going to work either out of the box, or with a quick and painless driver download. With a Mac, you don't even need to source for a driver, since everything is integrated from the factory (of course, you sacrifice customisability). Edited October 2, 2010 by Turboflat4 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...