Fuel meter died

Lendevear

Hi guys, my fuel meter just died. It constantly stays at the empty mark prompting the warning indicator lights on all the time. Anyone knows where and how much it takes to repair the meter? Appreciate your help!

Car: Nissan Sunny stock 2006.

Looks like it's yr fuel level sensor that is out of order. Yr mech needs to remove the fuel pump complete assemble and replace with a new unit.

For my car, I would take out the connector and check the resistor reading.

Fuel sender is just a mechanical float that would seemed impossible to spoil.

What can go wrong maybe the connector or wire loose.

Otherwise the next expensive item that can spoil would be the ecu itself.

On 9/25/2010 at 1:55 PM, Kb27 said:

For my car, I would take out the connector and check the resistor reading.

Fuel sender is just a mechanical float that would seemed impossible to spoil.

What can go wrong maybe the connector or wire loose.

Otherwise the next expensive item that can spoil would be the ecu itself.

Its usually wiring fault. But very unlikely ECU. Cause fuel level is not wired to the ECU (maybe only highend cars do that), its wired to the cluster. Thus it would be cluster faulty rather than ECU.

But somethings the mechanical float can spoil too. Cause its plastic. Sometimes, plastic crack and the float gets stuck or something.

why not just fix it @ 3/4 tank or almost full tank all the time and install another removable hidden gauge somewhere.. then u can go Jaybee pump petrol as and when you like.. less likely to kena caught also.. [:p]

Possible to reverse it. ?

E- means full

F - means empty

save alot of trouble with hidden switches.

Unless driver forgot to interpret it in reverse.

Edited by 5936

Before you buy or remove the fuel pump/sensor assembly from the tank, you could test the fuel meter first by bridging the 2 terminals to the meter.

Meter move to full means, problem in the fuel sensor.

You could buy from stockist. DIY or ask wskp to replace lah. fuel pump, fuel filter, and some clips to trnsfaer to new sensor.

Remember to get the intank fuel filter if it does not come along with the unit.

Edited by 5936

You need to get it fixed cos you dun want

those customs guys fining you for having

a faulty guage even if you drive in with

more than 3/4 tank. :D

I strongly don't recommend to car owners to DIY fuel gauge/pump unit. Gasoline fuel fume is very volatile, removing sender unit require special wrench and tools ( preferably non-spark tool), any spark generated can easily cause explosion. Also do not try to electrically simulate the sender unit when it is out of the tank, as there are still some fuel present in the pump. The sparks from the pump commutator will cause explosion.

Pl take care.

Thanks for the safety advice.

Keep away from ignition sources and static electricity.

Gas vapour from petrol is to be handled with respect and knowledge.

Spillage can also ruin upholsteries and paint works.

On 9/29/2010 at 8:34 AM, Jamesc said:

You need to get it fixed cos you dun want

those customs guys fining you for having

a faulty guage even if you drive in with

more than 3/4 tank. :D

I agreed.... Thats why I can't go MY now because my fuel meter is spoilt :(

Have yet to get it fixed. It always show empty even though its full.....

I know it has to be some wiring problem because I tested my sender and I am getting resistance from it (not infinite or zero). Means its either the wire going to my cluster got problem or even my cluster itself.

Need to spend time to trace wire and check cluster..... Tedious so don't really bother yet. Not going to WS to fix cause I feel its a waste of money. Rather DIY.