Below average singaporean pay???

Jay1980

  On 9/25/2010 at 12:53 PM, Jay1980 said:

hmmm, upgrade??

i already gotten a BEng and now doing MSc.

You means still not enough ah, must go for Permanent Head Damage. Haha

By the way, i'm in the worst of all industry, Engineering

haha

Hmm..I thot I recalled reading recently about most of our high-flying ministers being former engineering students..so its not the discipline but perhaps you're in the wrong company! Haven't you thought about making yourself prominent to the ruling party since you have their desired education background. Hey, if you make minister, that's a $2m plus package each year plus all the perks mere mortals would only hope for [laugh] . But if you love engineering, invent something new, copyright it, sell it and go shop for that new Lambo !

On 9/26/2010 at 4:37 AM, Coldshot said:

I read that the avg sporean pay is about $35-$40k p.a.

I know pple who are making 3-4 times that amount yearly but are always in debt or living on credit.

It all boils down to managing your finances i guess

Agree. [thumbsup]

On 9/28/2010 at 10:38 AM, Chrispie said:

money is not everything.

I make 5 times more now compared to 3 years ago... but im less happy.

For you...only bcos you have not got your SLK lah [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

once you get it, i give you 2 yrs then you unhappy again....

like me...now yearning for the Maser GT...so unhappy [bigcry] [bigcry]

On 9/28/2010 at 10:39 AM, RadX said:

For you...only bcos you have not got your SLK lah [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

once you get it, i give you 2 yrs then you unhappy again....

like me...now yearning for the Maser GT...so unhappy [bigcry] [bigcry]

wife just knocked some sense into my head today.....

she asked...then after this what? MAser? then Ferrari? Then LAmbo...never end...

then i thought for a while...and realised it is actually being greedy.....thus...LLST for now lah [:p]

On 9/25/2010 at 6:18 PM, Zniper said:

seriously i really doubt the payscale done by those earning millions per annum up there... hav u ever tot they purposely make the payscale like tis to make us feel better and not making every sillyporean here complain much... maybe they make them low so as to make sillyporean stay and lesser ppl tot of moving out of sg, cos they noe simply if sillyporean leaves sg dan no FTs will be willing to take the s--t of 2yrs for them...

I think by making the scale up is making some of us feel worse not better i guess.. Ya sometimes life depends abit on luck i would said.. There is a saying '我看你好,你看我好' (I see u good, u see me good) There is also those who don't studied much but earning alot a month and some who studied alot but don't earn alot also..

  On 9/28/2010 at 10:40 AM, RadX said:

wife just knocked some sense into my head today.....

she asked...then after this what? MAser? then Ferrari? Then LAmbo...never end...

then i thought for a while...and realised it is actually being greedy.....thus...LLST for now lah [:p]

Thankfully, human motivation never ends when one gets what he wants! If one aims for a Picanto, gets it and stops looking at this next possible ride, what's gonna happen to the Honda, Toyota and Suzuki factories and all their workers? So when one gets his Toyota, Honda or Suzuki and stops, then who's gonna buy the Bimmers, Merc and Audis...so don't stop believing and desiring..there's no end to it. Its called motivation. It keeps the human being alive [cool]

On 9/25/2010 at 2:35 PM, Jay1980 said:

Haha, dun even know can graduated anot, just started my term 1 of MSc only, maybe will give up if fail first sem, cause just got a newborn baby, dunno can manage anot.

Anyway, although my pay not high la, but still can borderline survive la.

And the best part in my company is that, no one ever work OT, haha, all 6pm disappear liao, once i work until 6.15pm and no one is in office liao. And i got to call my boss back to lock office, haha, cause nv draw office key frm HR

haha

Since you have spare time at home, may I suggest you try creating some websites and place google adsense ads on your article pages to earn income from google. I have done this in late 2007 and was earning like US$.50 a day from readers who clicked on the google ads. I was excited even though I was earning so little. But was proud of the fact that the site was my creation and that I have visitors to my site on a daily basis. Very soon, earnings began to increase because I added more content to the site. At its peak in Jan this year, I earned US$2600.

However, it takes a lot of hard work and patience to continue to update your site to ensure continued high earnings. But it is a source of passive income and maintenance for the site is really low. Domain name costs US$10/year. Hosting fees US$80 depending on type of plan. Btw, I am not selling anything. Just would like to share what you could do with your spare time. As a note of caution, many many people who started internet marketing fail because, they build on a niche that is not well searched or that their niche is too competitive and cannot be ranked easily on the first page of google search for the relevant keywords. So, traffic, ranking, competition and niche is vital.

Even if you do not make any money, at least you learn something new right?

On 9/25/2010 at 12:49 PM, Jay1980 said:

After reading so many threads in MCF, i found that, there seems like a lot of big earner here.

Seems like i belongs to the super low income group here

haha

By the way i'm 30 and my annual income only hit slightly above 40k.

But i see so many forumer saying they earning big bucks and only in their 20s.. think i must buy more 4D and Toto from now onwards liao

Haha

First....saying is cheap typing is even cheaper.... I'm a big earner with a ferrari and I always go out shopping with meagan fox or paris hilton....you believe? I'm serious! PM me for the pic! Believe? Take everything in the net with a pinch of salf, people can type anything they want and get away if with and in the end you low-morale for no reason.

Secondly, if you think you're a low earner, should you be doing something? Start looking...ask yourself do you deserve higher pay considering the amount of work you are working? From the timing of the posts you made throughout the day, you seemed to be quite eng despite you are working.....if that's the case, something is really not right here... to put it bluntly...you should "wake up your ideas" and think about your aims and targets in life.

Thirdly, in Eng industry 40K at 30 sound ok to me, it's definately not the lowest at your age but you can definately do better...as with my age I can doing better too in my industry.

On 9/28/2010 at 11:38 AM, Pocus said:

First....saying is cheap typing is even cheaper.... I'm a big earner with a ferrari and I always go out shopping with meagan fox or paris hilton....you believe? I'm serious! PM me for the pic! Believe? Take everything in the net with a pinch of salf, people can type anything they want and get away if with and in the end you low-morale for no reason.

Secondly, if you think you're a low earner, should you be doing something? Start looking...ask yourself do you deserve higher pay considering the amount of work you are working? From the timing of the posts you made throughout the day, you seemed to be quite eng despite you are working.....if that's the case, something is really not right here... to put it bluntly...you should "wake up your ideas" and think about your aims and targets in life.

Thirdly, in Eng industry 40K at 30 sound ok to me, it's definately not the lowest at your age but you can definately do better...as with my age I can doing better too in my industry.

Adding to that. it real depends on want you want in life?

In my industry, me and my peers are doing this role such is considered to be the best in terms of prospect, knowledge diversity, potential for promotion, domain knowledge and networking. Halfway through I got sick of it cos it's just isn't what I wanted to do. I prefer something more technical.

In the end I jumped and took up a different role though still in the same industry. This role is more niche and the prospect is lower. promotion is minimal and soon enough, my peers start to benefit and got promoted and certified in their roles faster than me.

But I don't care cos I'm very happy with wat I'm doing. That's wat I wanted despite the lower prospect and lower but still reasonable pay. Now I guess most of my peers are at least a grade higher but I still cannot imagine if I sticked to same roles as the rest, I'll be richer but will also be damn miserable.

When u mention abt pay issue, i have a friend in her 30s earn 10k plus per mth, when im sleeping, she still in office... Stress like siao everyday. 7 am reach office, 9 to 10 pm den can go home everyday, sometime even work till morning 1 to 2 am. Saturday/sunday may also need to go back work till night. If base on the no. of hrs she work, her pay maybe the same as ur mthly pay... lol.

It's a question of supply and demand. If you just follow the group and you are not within the top ten percent chance you will just get only market or less than market value. Every employer will at the back of his or her mind have these question when interviewing high potential candidates - when will he or she be able to contribute to the bottom line and how many time of his gross pay. Is he or she a self-stater and good problem solver.

On 9/25/2010 at 4:37 PM, Nautilus said:

You'll be surprised that most of the ones that make the most noise for these reasons are the really rich ones out there. Ever heard of the phrase "the richer you are, the stingier you are"?

Wah lau, this is damn true lor!!!!!

Ever had a client worth more than USD10M asking me about S$16 of interest.....WTF....

maybe it's fated..

no matter how good you think you are, if not recognized or appreciate.

your effort will go waste..

sigh... after reading this thread, dunnoe to be happy or not.

I

On 9/28/2010 at 10:23 AM, PDK said:

Hmm..I thot I recalled reading recently about most of our high-flying ministers being former engineering students..so its not the discipline but perhaps you're in the wrong company! Haven't you thought about making yourself prominent to the ruling party since you have their desired education background. Hey, if you make minister, that's a $2m plus package each year plus all the perks mere mortals would only hope for [laugh] . But if you love engineering, invent something new, copyright it, sell it and go shop for that new Lambo !

HaHa, there are different la, most of them are scholars, i'm only a normal engineer. Its not my company problem, actually is the industry problem. I can only say that there are too many FT in engineering industry. An indian/PRC FT with Master ask just for 2.6 to 2.8k a month. How to fight.

haha