Zniper 2nd Gear May 14, 2012 Share May 14, 2012 absorber usually giv way 1st... but usually ppl change is change everyting one shot, example change to coilovers... not recommended to change shock alone or absorber alone; it's the same theory as u change front pair tyres and leave the rear tyres worn out or change front brake pads and leave the rear worn out... it will not do these wear and tear parts good in long term... end up, u may be forking out more dan u one shot change to coils or full set... :) ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged May 14, 2012 Share May 14, 2012 absorber usually giv way 1st... but usually ppl change is change everyting one shot, example change to coilovers... not recommended to change shock alone or absorber alone; it's the same theory as u change front pair tyres and leave the rear tyres worn out or change front brake pads and leave the rear worn out... it will not do these wear and tear parts good in long term... end up, u may be forking out more dan u one shot change to coils or full set... :) i see, i don't know people do that. i read people just change either or mostly, absorber. most prob for my case, i will just add a spacer and see how it goes. if cannot, then just change absorber.. since i feel that my spring still as gd save cost Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear May 14, 2012 Share May 14, 2012 actually i think we need to be clearer about what role does the absorber or spring plays. like yourself, i also experiencing some issues with my absorber or spring. i'm running the max tyre size for my ride, everytime when i ferry people or go over bumpy road. the right rear will rub against my tyre. from my vision, i see that the absorber sock is torn due to this friction. as i google the net for more info, i learnt something about absorber and spring. start with the spring, spring are pretty lasting despite losing its firmness over time. that's why people fix spring buffer to strengthen the firmness, at our local context, i don't think we ever need to change spring. people do that only if they wish to lower their ride or high speed corner. now to absorber, it works as a mechanism to bring back the ride back to the initial state. lifespan is relatively short, 5 years.. 2 tyres of absorber, gas and oil. oil will have bubble, dirt over time causing it to lose the reliability. while gas, seem to be a better choice. stiffer and firm. i be changing my rear absorber in my case. of course, i can choose to live with it after all i seldom ferry people and dread doing that too. or i can take away the sock, wait until the fine day that the absorber really give up on me.. i don Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear May 14, 2012 Share May 14, 2012 absorber usually giv way 1st... but usually ppl change is change everyting one shot, example change to coilovers... not recommended to change shock alone or absorber alone; it's the same theory as u change front pair tyres and leave the rear tyres worn out or change front brake pads and leave the rear worn out... it will not do these wear and tear parts good in long term... end up, u may be forking out more dan u one shot change to coils or full set... :) For my old ride, I changed out the shocks only to gas type. The OEM springs remain and were continued to be used together with the new shocks. The ride becomes more firm and stable thereafter. Lasted me another 2 years before I sold the ride. I had used coils before and am using adjustable dampers for my current ride. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dark_flan 2nd Gear May 14, 2012 Share May 14, 2012 So is it natural to have the gas versus hydraulic shocks to be the gas ones are definitely stiffer to hydraulics? Harder ride.. Hydraulic refer to oil based suspension.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic May 14, 2012 Share May 14, 2012 absorber usually giv way 1st... but usually ppl change is change everyting one shot, example change to coilovers... not recommended to change shock alone or absorber alone; it's the same theory as u change front pair tyres and leave the rear tyres worn out or change front brake pads and leave the rear worn out... it will not do these wear and tear parts good in long term... end up, u may be forking out more dan u one shot change to coils or full set... :) It is possible no need to change the absorber and shock throughout the 10 years, if the car is drive for 10 years?! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged May 14, 2012 Share May 14, 2012 It is possible no need to change the absorber and shock throughout the 10 years, if the car is drive for 10 years?! can, end of the day. it's your ride, your comfort level. who cares about passengers, we not taxi uncles right Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dark_flan 2nd Gear May 15, 2012 Share May 15, 2012 It is possible no need to change the absorber and shock throughout the 10 years, if the car is drive for 10 years?! Can. Now COE expensive so ppl like myself tend to drive longer. I intend to renew too as the car is still new like condition.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sohchowjing Neutral Newbie May 15, 2012 Share May 15, 2012 Same here. Intend to keep my car running for as long as possible... In any case, any one here has suggestions on where i can get replacement shock absorbers for a steal? Heard from my workshop that Monroe shocks are pretty good and lasting, thinking of replacing it on my 6 year old swift. Suspension has gotten really soft and bumpy, and there is a leak too. Also, care to share on a workshop that can change the suspension? Thanks! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic May 15, 2012 Share May 15, 2012 Can. Now COE expensive so ppl like myself tend to drive longer. I intend to renew too as the car is still new like condition.. You sure you want to renew your car using the current ridiculous COE price?! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear May 15, 2012 Share May 15, 2012 try autosaver or riverview Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dark_flan 2nd Gear May 16, 2012 Share May 16, 2012 You sure you want to renew your car using the current ridiculous COE price?! Not now.. Wait abt 2 yrs plus as I got balance 3 yrs 3 mths more to go. There is chance COE be going 10k to maybe 20+k due to increased quota to normal region. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic May 16, 2012 Share May 16, 2012 (edited) Not now.. Wait abt 2 yrs plus as I got balance 3 yrs 3 mths more to go. There is chance COE be going 10k to maybe 20+k due to increased quota to normal region. 3 more years to go?! I think if COE got chance to drop to 20K plus range very good liao, 10K range maybe a bit difficult. Edited May 16, 2012 by 13177 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic May 16, 2012 Share May 16, 2012 try autosaver or riverview Heard autosaver not cheap?! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dark_flan 2nd Gear May 16, 2012 Share May 16, 2012 3 more years to go?! I think if COE got chance to drop to 20K plus range very good liao, 10K range maybe a bit difficult. See the market first lor even if 20k+ still good at least the paper value is there but 60k+ is too much already in terms of paper price. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zniper 2nd Gear May 16, 2012 Share May 16, 2012 oh well, it's still up to individual... my ride, 5yrs liao and stock spring/absorber gave way and engine mounting gave way too... changed mine to GAB in JB for RM1800, only high-low adjustable... dun noe cheap or ex... haha engine mounting changed in sg... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear May 16, 2012 Share May 16, 2012 Heard autosaver not cheap?! much better than RV perhaps Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
M323 Neutral Newbie May 16, 2012 Share May 16, 2012 what will happen if the shock already have cracking sound and still driving it? my car has a year to scrap ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...