Kelloggs 1st Gear September 24, 2010 Share September 24, 2010 agree. The good initiatives, i will applaud and support them. The ones who makes mistakes (some repeatedly), its time to can, demote, fire them before they burn away more taxpayers $ Sometimes, i wish we have taiwanese parliament-style drama here I meant what I say when I said must give credit when due. Of all the folks up there, the one that I respected the most is the Health Minister & his ministry. Under him & his team, hospitals are more transparent & they publish their charges so that folks like us can make an informed decision. And the new hospital in Yishun has just been commissioned with another one planned in Jurong. This will really provide us with better accessibility & hopefully better services in the future. No more bed crunches I hope Didn't you guys notice that lately that the Health Promotion Board (HPB) under the ministry has been launching many road shows & generally promoting healthier living? Which is why when the time comes for any credit to be given & if normal citizens are given the chance to choose, I will give my vote to Mr. Khaw ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ladykillerz 4th Gear September 24, 2010 Share September 24, 2010 good good.. well done! that's how our income taxes go to. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabretan 4th Gear September 24, 2010 Share September 24, 2010 Pay peanuts...get monkey.... Now Pay goldbar...get donkey? If he is a true leader, maybe he will forgo his salary n work for the next Work Year for a nominal sum of $1 so as to show that he is taking responsiblity for the whole oversight. but I seriously doubt so. Let ur vote speak in the next election lor...unless ur area Walk Over...then LL lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Itsec 2nd Gear September 24, 2010 Share September 24, 2010 agree. The good initiatives, i will applaud and support them. The ones who makes mistakes (some repeatedly), its time to can, demote, fire them before they burn away more taxpayers $ Sometimes, i wish we have taiwanese parliament-style drama here this will not happen in SG i had gave out to SG gov long ago...i dont feel we, as a singapore citizen, are protected... we slog like mad, but our pay cant even meet their peanuts... i had seen many many FTs with many many many whatever cert.. but ask them to implement a project, explain it from head to toe briefly, and not in detail but none can!!! they are well-equipped with papers, but lack of technical analysis or knowledge.. hence, they always starts off as manager... asking the Singaporean to slog very hard for them to claim credits... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Felipe 3rd Gear September 24, 2010 Share September 24, 2010 Let's put it in perspective...agree it is shameful...but look at the current problems of the commonwealth games...jialat This is the first time i heard sporean comparing to 3rd rated country way of doing things. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear September 24, 2010 Author Share September 24, 2010 (edited) agree. The good initiatives, i will applaud and support them. The ones who makes mistakes (some repeatedly), its time to can, demote, fire them before they burn away more taxpayers $ Sometimes, i wish we have taiwanese parliament-style drama here Haha you must be joking about the last part We do, however, see a 82 vs 2 rigorous debate occasionally. Surprisingly the 2 blokes often put up a good fight even though they are outnumbered... Hope after the imminent BIG day they can have more support... Pray... Edited September 24, 2010 by Vulcann Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear September 24, 2010 Author Share September 24, 2010 This is the first time i heard sporean comparing to 3rd rated country way of doing things. My exact same thought!!!! We must never compare oranges with apples PLEASE!!! If HK is organising such an international event & all the negative reports similar to what is happening now in the Commonweath Games in India resulted, then yes it is a good comparison as we are quite similar in many aspects (they are strictly our close competitor for FDI for one) though their leaders are not as well paid as ours. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic September 24, 2010 Share September 24, 2010 Get more Opp voice into the parliament ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
themagi Neutral Newbie September 24, 2010 Share September 24, 2010 Get more Opp voice into the parliament ! Yes, but not any opposition. SDP or slipper man, no thank you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahbengdriver 6th Gear September 24, 2010 Share September 24, 2010 Yes, but not any opposition. SDP or slipper man, no thank you. thats where u r wrong. Opp we need. this sounds similar in nature to Temasek losses...no accountability. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keithchue 5th Gear September 24, 2010 Share September 24, 2010 agree. for yog most of the work is run by volunteer. run by volunteers, and we exceeded the budget by 3 times...what is the world coming to? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qr25vet Clutched September 25, 2010 Share September 25, 2010 Pay peanuts...get monkey.... Now Pay goldbar...get donkey? If he is a true leader, maybe he will forgo his salary n work for the next Work Year for a nominal sum of $1 so as to show that he is taking responsiblity for the whole oversight. but I seriously doubt so. Let ur vote speak in the next election lor...unless ur area Walk Over...then LL lor. many will still vote for PAP in fear that the vote is tracked lo...its been going on for many years despite denial from all parties... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear September 25, 2010 Share September 25, 2010 someone must be sacked Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged September 25, 2010 Share September 25, 2010 (edited) I meant what I say when I said must give credit when due. Of all the folks up there, the one that I respected the most is the Health Minister & his ministry. Under him & his team, hospitals are more transparent & they publish their charges so that folks like us can make an informed decision. And the new hospital in Yishun has just been commissioned with another one planned in Jurong. This will really provide us with better accessibility & hopefully better services in the future. No more bed crunches I hope Didn't you guys notice that lately that the Health Promotion Board (HPB) under the ministry has been launching many road shows & generally promoting healthier living? Which is why when the time comes for any credit to be given & if normal citizens are given the chance to choose, I will give my vote to Mr. Khaw If you know what is really going on in the hospital you wont say that liao. you know there are 2 set of worker in hospital? 1 is Civil servant (aka Doctor and above) another one is non civil servant (aka nurses and below) no guessing who got more privilledge. hack even nurses dont have civil servant priviledge but got all its cons. plus no pro of private only the cons. Edited September 25, 2010 by Joseph22 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged September 25, 2010 Share September 25, 2010 Ahahahaha! Was really LOL in the office when I received their e-mail yesterday evening. WTF they sent to the printer by mistake?!?! Actually, I didn't notice the error at all. I thought it was supposed to be lidat, sample signatures. I didn't expect that the president & chairman would actually have to physically sign ALL 45K copies... Here's the e-mail: Dear Workforce, A very warm greeting from the Singapore Youth Olympic Games Organising Committee (SYOGOC). Thank you very much for joining us to blaze the trail towards the historic inaugural Youth Olympic Games (YOG). We hope you had an enriching and meaningful time and you will look back at the Games with the fondest of memories. We would like to inform you that we have discovered a printing error in the certificates given to you earlier. The certificates bear the sample signatures instead of the actual signatures of the President of the International Olympic Committee and the Chairman of SYOGOC. The sample signatures were used as place holders in the design of the certificates which were sent to the printing firm by mistake due to an oversight in the checking process. We apologise for the error and the inconvenience caused. We are in the process of reprinting the certificates and will send you by post the new certificate (without the cert cover) with the correct signatures to you in the coming weeks. We target to send out all the new certificates by end December 2010. Please update your address and name to be printed on the certificate by clicking HERE. Please note that only volunteers that have completed their duty will receive the new certificate. If we do not hear from you by 10th October, we will use the existing name and mailing address in our volunteer database. If you have any other enquiries, please email us at [email protected] We appreciate your contribution towards the success of Singapore 2010 and hope to have your understanding and patience on this matter. AHahahahaha!!! Hee...the letter so many English and grammar mistakes.... later they retract n reprint Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged September 25, 2010 Share September 25, 2010 Bro, this is international level. Sad to say even our best also face stiff competition getting medals in SEA, Asian Games level let alone competing in the Commonweath Games, depleted or not, with the likes of the Ozzies, Kiwis & Brits... Our officials also play it safe & have declared that if safety & other issues are not resolved, they may not send a team at all. One of our top guy is presently conducting his rounds there as we speak. His assessment so far less been less than satisfactory... Aiyah... Please lor, Singapore will show solidarity with India, they will be one of the last to pull out, if there is any pull out at all. They will not be at the front of the pack....this one very political you know... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear September 25, 2010 Share September 25, 2010 many will still vote for PAP in fear that the vote is tracked lo...its been going on for many years despite denial from all parties... What is there to be afraid of being tracked in a vote? Get more Opps and find out the truth. You mean you will get sued or jailed for voting the opps ? Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahhuat 1st Gear September 25, 2010 Share September 25, 2010 Just when we are still congratulating ourselves for a job well done for the inaugural YOG & this has to happen. Hope the total costs, which would include the re-printing plus postage/courier services to local & ovesea folks, of rectifying the 45,000 certificates will not exceed S$1m. Else, it will really exceed the previous record of S$388m "Honest Mistake" taxpayer money... No more please.... http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin...1082993/1/.html YOG committee apologises for error in certificates By Evelyn Choo | Posted: 23 September 2010 1954 hrs SINGAPORE: The organising committee of the Youth Olympic Games (SYOGOC) has admitted to an error in the certificates issued to participants and volunteers. Approximately 45,000 certificates bore sample signatures of the committee chairman and International Olympic Committee President Jacques Rogge instead of the actual ones. The samples were used as place holders during the design process, and were sent to the printing firm by mistake. The committee says there was an oversight in the checking process and has apologised for the incident. It will be contacting the respective organisations, participants and volunteers to send them the new certificates by December. They can also contact the organising committee at [email protected]. - CNA/fa if the print cost is $1 per copy, then it's $45000 even if it's $0.10 per copy, it's $4500 can MCYS pls state who's gonna pay for this? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...