Alechi 2nd Gear September 24, 2010 Share September 24, 2010 it's not time dependant, but usage dependent. beyond certain threshold mark, mechanic will tell you change. but try not to take their words for it. ask to see. many workshops simply look at age of car and hump thump and tell drivers to change so that they earn money ! the material of brakepads can easily last beyond the 5 yrs of driving, so better dun kena chopped by workshops. ask workshops to show you that the markings have been breached. Hi all, Just curious since I am still inexperience in all these. On Singapore roads given that my ride is front and back brake disc, just how often are the brake pads changed. Cause I realized that driving on local road uses the brakes a lot due to constant traffic light stoppages, though I understand that how often it is changed depends on individual driving style, so hope everyone can share your experience with me so i have a rough idea. Thanks ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darthrevan Supercharged September 24, 2010 Share September 24, 2010 60k still haven't change..i think alot depends on driving patterns and usage..i rarely brake during driving so perhaps it last longer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopus 3rd Gear September 25, 2010 Share September 25, 2010 I changed mine at 70k km. When my mechanic advised me its time to change, I have doubt cos the thickness still looks ok to me. But when he removed the old pad and show it to me that the metal piece/clip almost touching the rotor, then I believe him. Almost all four pad ( front brakes) wearing was rather even but one of the pad wear until almost touching the grooves. Old brake pad was Sumitomo with friction rating of FF, new one no friction rating stated but braking feel same as old ones. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jchuacl Clutched September 25, 2010 Share September 25, 2010 Honda brake pads can last quite long, so don't worry too much about it. Even my Mugen front brake pads can last 100k. My rear brake pads are still ok after 120k though I was asking the mechanic to change it as there are squeaking sounds. Hi all, Just curious since I am still inexperience in all these. On Singapore roads given that my ride is front and back brake disc, just how often are the brake pads changed. Cause I realized that driving on local road uses the brakes a lot due to constant traffic light stoppages, though I understand that how often it is changed depends on individual driving style, so hope everyone can share your experience with me so i have a rough idea. Thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopus 3rd Gear September 25, 2010 Share September 25, 2010 Sorry guys, OT a bit. Which brand of brake pad is good? Or do I go for stock? I understand the price for front brake pads (for my car model) can varies from very basic pad at $30 (not sure brand) to stock brake pad at $130. That time servicing I do not have enough cash with me so choose Bendix General CT @ $48. There are different material such as metallic or ceramic, and also friction rating and temperature rating to consider. IMHO, no need to go for high temperature rating pads for normal street use as they may not bite well when cold. Also, too high friction rating may eat either the pad or rotor faster. I have a infrared thermometer, and few times I checked the temperature of my front rotors after reaching my destination it seldom exceed 125 deg.C Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mini-itx Clutched September 25, 2010 Share September 25, 2010 I see, so its not like only per item pricing but rather as a whole it comes together. thanks. If just changing brake pads, you can either diy or get ws to change. should not be more than $50. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
E-Jazz Neutral Newbie September 25, 2010 Author Share September 25, 2010 (edited) Honda brake pads lasted only 30kkm. >.< hi i just bought a set of brake pads [for left and right front wheels] from Chop Aik Huat at Waterloo Street for just $20-00 incld gst for my Nissan Sunny. And went to JB workshop at Skudai and paid labout charge of RM$20-00 to have it changed. Total cost to change the brake pads = about S$30-00 !!! After changing the brake pads, went to Giant at Skudai for shopping. There are so many workshops around Skudai area - just drive around and you are bound to spot them. The brake pads work just fine and I'm happy! I also bought Tokiko shock absorbers for just S$126-00 for front left and right wheels and so far the performance is fine. I see, thanks for sharing the info. =) Mine when 30000+KM, left 40% very 'screechy', sounds like old bus stopping like that.... Then changed straight away, becomes quiet liao... Will take note of that. Thanks =P it's not time dependant, but usage dependent. beyond certain threshold mark, mechanic will tell you change. but try not to take their words for it. ask to see. many workshops simply look at age of car and hump thump and tell drivers to change so that they earn money ! the material of brakepads can easily last beyond the 5 yrs of driving, so better dun kena chopped by workshops. ask workshops to show you that the markings have been breached. Yea, agree on this, need to work on using more engine brake as suggested by bros/sis in this forum. Thanks I intend to send back to Kah motors for all servicing, guess its important to have a good track record just in case i intend to sell it in future. 60k still haven't change..i think alot depends on driving patterns and usage..i rarely brake during driving so perhaps it last longer I see, will take extra note on this. Thanks =) I changed mine at 70k km. When my mechanic advised me its time to change, I have doubt cos the thickness still looks ok to me. But when he removed the old pad and show it to me that the metal piece/clip almost touching the rotor, then I believe him. Almost all four pad ( front brakes) wearing was rather even but one of the pad wear until almost touching the grooves. Old brake pad was Sumitomo with friction rating of FF, new one no friction rating stated but braking feel same as old ones. Okay, thats quite a good gauge based on your experience. Thanks =) Honda brake pads can last quite long, so don't worry too much about it. Even my Mugen front brake pads can last 100k. My rear brake pads are still ok after 120k though I was asking the mechanic to change it as there are squeaking sounds. I see, think most likely I'll also change it if I hear sound along that line of mileage. Thanks =) I understand the price for front brake pads (for my car model) can varies from very basic pad at $30 (not sure brand) to stock brake pad at $130. That time servicing I do not have enough cash with me so choose Bendix General CT @ $48. There are different material such as metallic or ceramic, and also friction rating and temperature rating to consider. IMHO, no need to go for high temperature rating pads for normal street use as they may not bite well when cold. Also, too high friction rating may eat either the pad or rotor faster. I have a infrared thermometer, and few times I checked the temperature of my front rotors after reaching my destination it seldom exceed 125 deg.C Aright, thanks for sharing the info and details appreciate it. =) If just changing brake pads, you can either diy or get ws to change. should not be more than $50. Noted. Not sure how much Kah motors would be charging haha =D Edited September 25, 2010 by E-Jazz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cjlosophy Neutral Newbie September 30, 2010 Share September 30, 2010 I think is always better to change brake pad for front wheels, cause front always wear first. It is better to get from original brand service centre for the pad??? any suggestion Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ALTK Turbocharged October 1, 2010 Share October 1, 2010 It is really depends on your driving habit. Some driver boh dai boh chi also dah brake. Infront alrdy red light liao still want to chiong very fast and jam brake. Brake pad sure very fast boh tak lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ALTK Turbocharged October 1, 2010 Share October 1, 2010 (edited) I understand the price for front brake pads (for my car model) can varies from very basic pad at $30 (not sure brand) to stock brake pad at $130. That time servicing I do not have enough cash with me so choose Bendix General CT @ $48. There are different material such as metallic or ceramic, and also friction rating and temperature rating to consider. IMHO, no need to go for high temperature rating pads for normal street use as they may not bite well when cold. Also, too high friction rating may eat either the pad or rotor faster. I have a infrared thermometer, and few times I checked the temperature of my front rotors after reaching my destination it seldom exceed 125 deg.C Don't mind if i ask, my front wheels always got alot of carbon, need to wash almost every few days. Is it possible to replace by other brake pad that can make it cleaner so that no need to wash so often?? Edited October 1, 2010 by ALTK Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SporeHongkong Neutral Newbie October 1, 2010 Share October 1, 2010 last wk my AD quoted me 200+ for changing of front pads as they said its abt half gone liao...i was like...ah..hmmmm...ok let me consider..i think go jb chg will be cheaper right? actually wanted to ask yest when i went jb (forgotten which giant hypermart i went to,its after perlangi on the left side one theres open space parking and a workshop in front of the building) but saw so many cars there servicing so didnt ask..anyone know roughly how much will it costs? thks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Forexter 2nd Gear October 1, 2010 Share October 1, 2010 Change it when it is worn. You will hear the wear indicator "GRRRRRRRRR!" when you step on your brakes, coming almost to a complete stop. During servicing, the workshop should check and advice you, change it if it is left with less than a quarter. Half worn is a waste, if you ask me. My car is about 120K, and I have changed 3 sets for my front, and once for the rear. I am using Mov'it Street Pads for Brembo 4 pots, if i remember correctly it costs $300+ for the front pair. For the rear, I am using Ferrodo DS2500, cost about $100 per pair. Hope this helps. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5936 1st Gear October 1, 2010 Share October 1, 2010 Agreed, it depends on driving habit. previous car 5 year : Changed front once at 80K/4 years, rear not change within 5 years. current car- 2.5 years: Still original. Looks quite thick, balance more than half. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear October 1, 2010 Share October 1, 2010 I understand the price for front brake pads (for my car model) can varies from very basic pad at $30 (not sure brand) to stock brake pad at $130. That time servicing I do not have enough cash with me so choose Bendix General CT @ $48. There are different material such as metallic or ceramic, and also friction rating and temperature rating to consider. IMHO, no need to go for high temperature rating pads for normal street use as they may not bite well when cold. Also, too high friction rating may eat either the pad or rotor faster. I have a infrared thermometer, and few times I checked the temperature of my front rotors after reaching my destination it seldom exceed 125 deg.C Not all high temp ratings brake pads will not bite when cold braking. Varies from brand to brand. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear October 1, 2010 Share October 1, 2010 Change it when it is worn. You will hear the wear indicator "GRRRRRRRRR!" when you step on your brakes, coming almost to a complete stop. During servicing, the workshop should check and advice you, change it if it is left with less than a quarter. Half worn is a waste, if you ask me. My car is about 120K, and I have changed 3 sets for my front, and once for the rear. I am using Mov'it Street Pads for Brembo 4 pots, if i remember correctly it costs $300+ for the front pair. For the rear, I am using Ferrodo DS2500, cost about $100 per pair. Hope this helps. My car is close to 100k mileage and I have changed 4 sets of front brake pads, 3 sets of front rotors and 1 set of rear brake shoes. Depends on your driving style. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genes 6th Gear October 1, 2010 Share October 1, 2010 My car is close to 100k mileage and I have changed 4 sets of front brake pads, 3 sets of front rotors and 1 set of rear brake shoes. Depends on your driving style. hiong sia yuan.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Forexter 2nd Gear October 1, 2010 Share October 1, 2010 My car is close to 100k mileage and I have changed 4 sets of front brake pads, 3 sets of front rotors and 1 set of rear brake shoes. Depends on your driving style. I have also warped a set of front rotors and wore out a set of rear rotor. 3 sets of fronts is abit too hiong liao, have you found the reason why you warped them so often? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear October 1, 2010 Share October 1, 2010 I have also warped a set of front rotors and wore out a set of rear rotor. 3 sets of fronts is abit too hiong liao, have you found the reason why you warped them so often? There is a high possibility that it is due to my brake pads. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...