How often brake pads are changed for Singapore roads

E-Jazz

hello... singapore where got hill?? the most is mt Faber nia leh... dun bluff lah [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

You only go there? Got steeper roads around than that one.

I can believe the stock Picanto brake pads wear out faster than Kelisa's (read literature: Picanto 41 Metres braking distance, Kelisa 45 Metres braking distance). Kelisa on the other hand, better braking distance than Uno. Uno better braking distance than Suzuki 800. So the value-for-money safety is what we pay for.

Fronts are not OEM(Mugen, honda aftermarket). 1st set is 100k, 2nd set 60k.

Rear is OEM.

Changed out rotors/pads at 165k as I had to wait for the mugen rotors to be shipped in as there is no stock. So I had to endure 5k (1 month) of driving on worn rotors/pads on new tyres at 160k, and hence I can feel the immediate impact of better braking once I replaced the rotors/pads.

Are these the OEM/stock pads?

I believe I would had to overtake him each time on the road, whenever safe to do so.

Good luck doing that [laugh] Just remember when behind him, keep a safe distance. His driving style is opposite that of a hypermiller [:p] He's a really nice chap though!!!

Many thanks. I believe likely I overtake him when safe to do so.

Again good luck, he's not a slow driver. Why do you think he goes through so many more pads [:p]

I believe he built more leg muscles in the car than in the gym. Frequently caught in traffic jams also can corner us towards that.

Edited by Good-Carbuyer

So that's what his nick is about , Yuan = Far , too far ahead for others to catch up.

I believe he built more leg muscles in the car than in the gym. Frequently caught in traffic jams also can corner us towards that.

Of course got lah, esp in jams. Its a manual :D

When i brake, it has loud screeching sounds... What seems to be the problem for this?

1) The anti-shim thingy was not installed when you just changed your brakepad

2) Something is caught between your pad and rotor

3) Your pad has worn out and the indicator is causing the noise.

hmmm hypomiler? [laugh]

rotor spoilt, then loud sounds while braking.

one of the signs your rotor is warped.

Other signs no idea.

Just to add to this thread,

127kKM, still on stock brakes. Driving a swift sport.

mechanic tell me no need change brake pads. [:)]

Many variables in whether brake pads are changed, including

Driving style (slow/easy or fast/furious)

Traffic encountered (city vs highway)

Type of brake pad (oem vs sports type)

that's how some ppl can last 100k while others 30k have to change out...

I have been driving my FD1 for about 4.5 years now, clocking about 90k km. At both the 80k and 90k km servicing, i asked the workshop to specifically check on the brake pads and was told the brake pads are still good to go. They seems quite a reliable workshop.

I certainly dont want to compromise on safety but feels it odd to change it for the sake of changing.