Pisces69 6th Gear April 11, 2011 Share April 11, 2011 Just normal driving, albeit a little "spirited" ... not super slow, not super hiong... Your discs made of cardboard or what? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear April 11, 2011 Share April 11, 2011 My 2nd hand sonata driven for 3 years liao. Car is 5.5years old liao. Every single time when doing servicing, i'll ask the mechanic whether need to change brake pad or not. 3 years and 80+k km and still asking. Every time say no need. But But But.........i did get the brake disc change 1 year ago tho. Is the brake disc suppose to wear off faster than the brake pad ????? Your discs made of plastic or what? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Forexter 2nd Gear April 11, 2011 Share April 11, 2011 My 2nd hand sonata driven for 3 years liao. Car is 5.5years old liao. Every single time when doing servicing, i'll ask the mechanic whether need to change brake pad or not. 3 years and 80+k km and still asking. Every time say no need. But But But.........i did get the brake disc change 1 year ago tho. Is the brake disc suppose to wear off faster than the brake pad ????? Pads should wear more than disk. I usually use 2 or 3 sets of pads before I need to change disk. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Forexter 2nd Gear April 11, 2011 Share April 11, 2011 Er your discs made of paper or what? I dun think is paper, sometimes rusty lei. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear April 12, 2011 Share April 12, 2011 I dun think is paper, sometimes rusty lei. All steel discs wil b rusty after u drive in rain n park overnight. U just drive a while n it wil b clean n shiny again. Paper wil burn when it gets hot. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mikelcy1963 1st Gear April 12, 2011 Share April 12, 2011 My discs lasted only 2 years exactly plus brake pads. 40k km only. Heartache Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged April 12, 2011 Share April 12, 2011 All steel discs wil b rusty after u drive in rain n park overnight. U just drive a while n it wil b clean n shiny again. Paper wil burn when it gets hot. possible reason that he need his disc to be change because he hard driver?? always do drifting?? so brake disc warped?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear April 12, 2011 Share April 12, 2011 My discs lasted only 2 years exactly plus brake pads. 40k km only. Heartache Wah cars nowadays damm lousy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear April 12, 2011 Share April 12, 2011 possible reason that he need his disc to be change because he hard driver?? always do drifting?? so brake disc warped?? Or now due to cost cutting, many cars have crappy parts. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jchuacl Clutched April 13, 2011 Share April 13, 2011 I changed my mugen front pads after 100k, and the rear stock pads are still ok at 130 (though I swapped it out for mugen pads) Discs are still ok after 3.5 years and 140k of mileage. My 2nd hand sonata driven for 3 years liao. Car is 5.5years old liao. Every single time when doing servicing, i'll ask the mechanic whether need to change brake pad or not. 3 years and 80+k km and still asking. Every time say no need. But But But.........i did get the brake disc change 1 year ago tho. Is the brake disc suppose to wear off faster than the brake pad ????? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear April 13, 2011 Share April 13, 2011 Pads should wear more than disk. I usually use 2 or 3 sets of pads before I need to change disk. Yah. I agree. Brake pads are changed more frequent than discs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear April 13, 2011 Share April 13, 2011 My 2nd hand sonata driven for 3 years liao. Car is 5.5years old liao. Every single time when doing servicing, i'll ask the mechanic whether need to change brake pad or not. 3 years and 80+k km and still asking. Every time say no need. But But But.........i did get the brake disc change 1 year ago tho. Is the brake disc suppose to wear off faster than the brake pad ????? Usually change brake pads first and more often than discs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear April 13, 2011 Share April 13, 2011 So far all my Jap n Korean cars I never had to change the discs. And my Corona CD I used till it was 19 years old n 400K km. Conti cars even more solid. Maybe after scrap car can take out the discs n play frisbee even. It varies from car to car but most people drive normally and change their disc or rotors after a few years. Wear and tear issue. Be it conti or Jap or Korean. You never change yours in that Corona and I know why. Ever watch Flintstones and the way they drive their cars?..... You use foot brakes...... No need to use brake discs or pads. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear April 13, 2011 Share April 13, 2011 possible reason that he need his disc to be change because he hard driver?? always do drifting?? so brake disc warped?? Some discs are warped and had to be replaced because the drivers use aftermarket brake pads which grip the discs or rotors better. Better brake performance. But the more they grip the rotors/discs, the more they use up the rotors/discs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mikelcy1963 1st Gear April 13, 2011 Share April 13, 2011 I drive sedately and brake gently. My old altis lasted me 4 yrs before I need to change only the brake pad. I can only deduce that the stock disc and brake combo is not correct or inferior durabilty. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear April 14, 2011 Share April 14, 2011 It varies from car to car but most people drive normally and change their disc or rotors after a few years. Wear and tear issue. Be it conti or Jap or Korean. You never change yours in that Corona and I know why. Ever watch Flintstones and the way they drive their cars?..... You use foot brakes...... No need to use brake discs or pads. No lah. Its cos I drive slow n steady. Never speed n jam brake all the time. Same with my present car. Smooth n calm style of driving. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear April 14, 2011 Share April 14, 2011 I drive sedately and brake gently. My old altis lasted me 4 yrs before I need to change only the brake pad. I can only deduce that the stock disc and brake combo is not correct or inferior durabilty. Ya u might b right. I hv only used original or OEM pads n never had problems with the discs. My pads also last about 4 years(70K-80K km). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Forexter 2nd Gear April 14, 2011 Share April 14, 2011 I drive sedately and brake gently. My old altis lasted me 4 yrs before I need to change only the brake pad. I can only deduce that the stock disc and brake combo is not correct or inferior durabilty. Good Brake systems are designed so that the pads will wear off faster than the rotors. So if you need to change the pads, your brakes are ok. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...